Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jalapeño Bites Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jalapeño Bites

    Average Rating:

    114 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-114 of 114

    Sort by:

    • on May 12, 2006

      this recipe was great you could make them hotter by using a much hotter pepper.only for the darey i gave it a 4 only because of the heat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2006

      This was very good, I used bottled sliced jalapenos as that is all I had. The only trouble I had was forming into balls but that maybe my fault as I left the cream cheese out to get to room temp. then threw everything in the food processor. I also added some cumin, chili powder, paprika and two cloves of garlic to the mixture. As I said I could not roll it as it was too soft so I just put it in an ovenproof bowl and baked it. I took it to a New Years Eve party with some crackers and it was a big hit. Thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2005

      Really, REALLY, really.. good and easy.... We did add more Jalapenos. Made a triple batch and passed then to neighbors. We had a lot of request for the recipe. This is deffinately a KEEPER... however the Jalapenos bites go fast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2005

      These were yummy and very simple to make! I am glad there were so many helpful reviews, because I too thought they would run all over the cookie sheet, but they didn't. Next time I will be more brave and add more jalapeno than called for because they were very mild. Even though I don't like really hot food, they could have been quite a bit spicier even for me. What a great way to impress guests with a minimum of fuss! Hey Jude, you've got a winner here!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2005

      yummmmy, i to have an abundance of peppers so i was trying to find some recipes i could freeze. Well these cooked up great, no running. I had to taste test before i froze and they were perfect. I followed directions to a T. My 10 year old son thought they were good also. This is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2005

      I made these as one of mine snacks for Bunko the other night and the girls loved them! I kind of threw them in as an after thought and they ended up stealing the spotlight!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2005

      These were great. I was pleased that the mixture did not run out of the bread coating as my coating did not go on heavy. I will try a shake and bake coating next time. We buy the supermarket stuffed peppers all the time and these were better and half the price to make. I made them pepper shaped and they looked pleasing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2005

      Took these to a Super Bowl party and there were 2 left at the end of the night. I used fat free cream cheese and more jalapenos than the recipe called for. Mine weren't as pretty as those i the picture, but I'll definitely work on that the next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2005

      I really liked the inside of these, but didn't like the bread crumby taste. Next time I might try to make a batter & fry them. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2005

      So easy, and so much healthier than fried poppers! Our friends absolutely loved these. Next time I may add more jalepenos, and work on the presentation a little more. I had a hard time getting these into uniform shapes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2004

      Well I thought that these sounded good and the reviews looked good so away I went. I used 5 large hot jalapenos, finely miced, ran out of bread crumbs so substitited corn flake crumbs. There I sat with this bowl of doubtful texture and I thought NO WAY but I perservered. I put the mixture in the freezer for 15 minues to firm it up a bit,. Tried to shape some of them like Jalapenos and some just cookie shape. Oh ye of little faith - they bake perfectly, they do not run at all and mine, because they were a bit larger, took 20 minutes - served hot with salsa on the side. Wonderful. I am now testing if they will freeze well. Thank-you Hey Jude for a unique delicious, easy to make appetizer I love it! — posted Sep 5, 2004, Added notes: l took these out of the freezer, had them at room temperature for apprx 1 hour, put them in a pre heated toaster oven at 350F 10 minutes and they came out as perfect as the day they were baked. first -so Double thanks - Oh yes I served them with home canned mixed sliced peppers - some serrano, some Jalapeno, some anaheim etc. nice balance

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2004

      As written the recipe is not hot at all, so don't be afraid to try these! I too doubled the jalpenos to kick it up. I was using seeded fresh jalapenos, if you are using canned peppers the called for amount might be fine. I followed one of the other reviewers suggestion & refrigerated the cheese mixture first to make it easier to work with. I used way less than the called for 2 cups of bread crumbs, next time I will start with 1 cup. The end result was a tasty treat that I will make again!! Thank you for posting such a wonderful, easy appetizer. This is one that could be thrown together for unexpected guests.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2004

      Hey Jude, thanks for this easy, delicious recipe that helped me use up the massive number of jalapenos from my garden!!! These disappeared way too quickly -- I made them yesterday afternoon, and they were so unbelieveably good that I had to make them again today! The second time around, I added about 2 Tbsp. milk and about 2 tsps. butter so that the dough would be easier to work. The second-round "bites" were lighter & less dry than my first batch. And like Lizzie-Babette, I added loads more jalapeno... (like about three times more than the recipe calls for). I do like Lizzie-B's idea of adding the green jalapeno sauce, too! Wish I had thought of that... You can bet I will next time. And for sure there WILL be a next time -- probably really soon. Great recipe, Jude!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2004

      This is one of the easiest apps ever! I started to make this exactly as directed, but tasted the cream cheese mix (before I put the egg yolks in, of course), and decided that, for our tastes, I wanted a bit more spice and "jump". So, I added about a 1/2 teaspoon of the green jalapeno Tabasco sauce and about 1/3 teaspoon of cumin. I doled out bread crumbs straight from the container, so I'm not sure how much I used, but it was much less than 2 cups. I think I may have made the rounds slightly larger than called for, as I ended up with 25. I refrigerated them for about 30 minutes or so before baking - 15 minutes was just about perfect. They do spread a tiny bit, but not a lot, so you can space them fairly closely on the baking sheet. We served them warm, with salsa on the side - just terrific! Also next time, I may put a small slice or half-slice of jalapeno on top of each round, too. This is an excellent recipe that could easily be made in advance and then popped in the oven just before or as guests arrive. Great recipe - thanks, Hey Jude!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 4 5 6 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jalapeño Bites

    Serving Size: 1 (90 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 453.9
     
    Calories from Fat 244
    53%
    Total Fat 27.2 g
    41%
    Saturated Fat 14.8 g
    74%
    Cholesterol 136.4 mg
    45%
    Sodium 966.8 mg
    40%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.3 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 3.9 g
    15%
    Protein 22.5 g
    45%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites