Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jalapeño Bites Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jalapeño Bites

    Average Rating:

    114 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 114

    Sort by:

    • on December 29, 2008

      These are fantastic! My daughter (SecretIngredients)made these for a family gathering and I was hesitant to try them, because usually I don't like jalapeno peppers. She convinced me that they were flavorful...not hot and boy was she right. I couldn't stay away from the plate! I also took some home for my DH and I to have on the following day and they were just as good reheated as they were on the night she served them. I am making them for our small group's New Year's Eve party and I can't wait to see the expression on everyone's face when they try these!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2008

      Wow! I had no idea what to expect with these, as with previous reviews I had no idea how these weren't going to make a melted cheese puddle mess all over my pan and much to my relief they didnt. They were fantastic! As a matter of fact I reheated some for lunch today and they were just as good as yesterday. I have to admit that I did use 1/2 panko and 1/2 breadcrumbs, as well as using Kraft's Mexican cheese blend instead of Parmesan, and the final admission is that I thought 3 Tbs of jalapenos was not nearly enough, so I used darn near a 1/2 cup of the jarred kind. My poor kids would turn a little red and say "Mom these are really good - really hot- but really good" then take a big swig of milk and pop another one in thier mouth. If that doesn't say "5 star" I don't know what does. I will most certainly be making these again, and I will probably use the same amount of peppers 'cauze I like 'em hot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2008

      not what i expect ... but it was ok

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2008

      Boy, is this ever easy. I usually do jalapeno poppers the hard way. Seed, devein, and then refill with the cheese filling and bake. It takes well over an hour in prep just to get them to the oven. This makes it much easier--no more seeding, I'll tell you that. I added 4 strips of crisp bacon, crumbled, and 1 T paprika, and 1 T crushed garlic. These are my new favorite "popper" recipe. 10 stars for easy prep. 10 stars for flavor. 10 stars for making my life easier. 10 stars for getting me out of the kitchen and among the guests. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2008

      I made these for my DH and some friends who came over to watch the football.Good job that I tried one in the kitchen before I took them through to the chaps,otherwise I wouldn't have got one.They disappeared in seconds..and they asked for more!!! I guess I'll be making them all season long now.....thank you for a delicious recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2008

      OH MY GOSH!! These are fantastic!!!!! They deserve 10 stars! I used light cream cheese, 5 tablespoons of jalapenos, some garlic powder and served with ranch dressing. This is my new favorite food!! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe! Sorry I didn't get a picture....we gobbled them up too fast!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2008

      Thanks, Hey Jude, this recipe is a winner. Made as directed with the overabundance of fresh garden jalapenos that I have. I used way more than 3 T of pepper, tho, as DH likes his stuff spicy. I used the food processor to chop the peppers & then just added the rest of the ingredients to mixer and pulsed until combined. Refrigerated mix until ready to roll & then I used a cookie dropper to drop the balls into the bread crumb and then made rounds with my hands. Served it with salsa on the side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2008

      I snagged this recipe and have meant to try it for the longest time, I finally broke down and made these tay-stee and addictive little nibbles over the weekend, and they deserve every little star they've earned. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2008

      Made these for a party. Used a can of chopped jalapenos instead of fresh. Served with ranch for dipping. Big hit!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2008

      These were AMAZING! I did take suggestions and add more peppers. I think I used 10 jalepeno peppers for a double batch - so it had some kick but surprisingly not crazy hot. Plus I added a little green onion and a good bit of garlic powder. I also added a bit of cheddar cheese, but suspect it was unnecessary to the end result. And, chilling the mixture did help getting them rolled in the crumbs without being a goopy mess. However, for the first batch (no time to chill) I added a little of the crumbs to the mix so I could get a little ball into the breadcrumbs to roll them. The end result was a little drier than when I just chilled the mix instead. They still weren't excessively dry though, and guests would never know the difference! And for the crumbs, I used a few flavoured croutons (and ran out) and the rest just soda crackers whirred finely in the food processor. I didn't find this too bland, as some suggested of the breadcrumbs - maybe because my mix was fairly flavorful. I also actually used my mini muffin tin for these which worked just fine. DH said he liked these WAYYYY better than regular poppers which he finds overwhelming with so much goopy cream cheese. I have to agree! Thanks for the incredible recipe - can't wait to serve for guests since this batch never got that far!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2008

      These are nice alternative to the normal jalapeno appetizers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2008

      Love these bites! I've made these a few times and while they always disappear quickly, I was a tad disappointed at how they set up. Mine always flatten. One time I added fine shredded cheddar and it was yummy. I also only used about 1 cup of bread crumbs. These are so easy and always pleasing! Thank you for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2008

      Absolutely delicious! As the other reviews suggested, I added about 3/4 cup of jalapeno's (we like it spicy) and kept everything else the same. So very easy to make and everyone loved them...I handed out recipes for this! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2008

      These were great! I wouldn't change a thing except I added 3 times the amount of jalapenos. They are not hot, so don't worry. If you want them hotter, leave some seeds. These were a hit at my BF birthday party last night. So easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2008

      Delicioso! And easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2008

      Made these last night and they are really bomb! Everyone scarfed them up fast! Should have doubled the recipe. I used 5 tablespoons of jalapenos. Perfect!! Will be making these many times again. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2008

      I bought a can of hot jalapenos by mistake and wanted a way to use them. I made these for my Super Bowl party and they were a hit. I only had 8 ounces of parmesan cheese and added 8 ounces of mild cheddar. I drained the peppers and added 4 T. since I knew some of my family loves things hot. I added a few teaspoons of milk since mine seemed dry. I kept the mixture in the fridge over night to make sure they made nice balls to roll. I used a #60 scoop, flatten them and rolled them in panko. (My bread crumbs I make from whole wheat bread and I was afraid the they would be to dry when baked. Plus I had panko to use up.) I gave them a little spray with oil, which I think I'll skip next time since it didn't brown the crumbs. I baked them closer to 20 minutes since mine were slightly bigger. I got 34 of these and put some in the freezer before baking. My husband thought these were rich and flavorful and he looks forward to eating the ones I stashed for him.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2008

      What a great appetizer! They tasted delicious and were very easy to make. I used 6 tablespoons of fresh jalapeno peppers and it was perfect, not too spicy at all but a great flavor enhancer. I refrigerated the dough for a few hours since I couldn't make them right away. I found that the crumbs only adhered a little to the balls. I don't know how other people got them covered so well. Even though I only got a thin coating, they tasted great. I put them in the oven as balls and they spread into flat round disks. They still looked nice like this though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2008

      I catered a Cocktail Party last night and these were a hit. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2008

      My family and friends love these. I make them when we have appetizer night and I always run out. Thank you for the recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jalapeño Bites

    Serving Size: 1 (90 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 453.9
     
    Calories from Fat 244
    53%
    Total Fat 27.2 g
    41%
    Saturated Fat 14.8 g
    74%
    Cholesterol 136.4 mg
    45%
    Sodium 966.8 mg
    40%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.3 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 3.9 g
    15%
    Protein 22.5 g
    45%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites