Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jalapeño Bites Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jalapeño Bites

    Average Rating:

    114 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 114

    Sort by:

    • on July 20, 2010

      My DH favorite! I use Panko bread crumbs (important). After breading I press them with a spatula to make them coin shaped (if the taste is good what difference the shape?) When prepared I place them in freezer on a sheet until slightly frozen then bag for use when needed.
      Out of freezer bake at 350 for 10 minutes then flip and bake 10 minutes. My guests request the recipe time and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2010

      Very good! I used about 4 oz parm & 4 oz sharp cheddar. I doubled up on the jalapenos (jarred) and added some cayenne, garlic powder, pepper & onion powder and a couple teaspoons of the liquid from the jarred jalapenos. These had a bite to 'em, but that's how we like 'em!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2011

      i used one whole egg instead of the two yolks, doubled the amount of jalapeno using seeded fresh ones, added some dried minced onion, garlic, dill, and a bit of chili powder for extra flavor. had to chill the paste for 20 min in the fridge to make it workable and chilled the finished balls in the freezer for 10 min before baking to encourage them to keep their shape. baked for an extra 12 min to get them to brown. they held together fine and were quite flavorful. next time i think i'll use shredded cheddar instead of the parmesan just as a flavor preference. glad i served with tomato sauce to dip and glad i used the crispy panko crumbs. these were tasty! might have been nice with a little minced sauteed mushrooms added

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2012

      These were awesome!! I left mine in the over for 20 minutes and they still weren't browned. So I turned the broiler on for a couple minutes watching them closely and they browned up beautifully! I also added 4 strips of cooked and crumbled bacon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2012

      These were really good but I changed the recipe after reading others reviews. I doubled the jalapenos (fresh), added some onion powder and garlic powder, used half parm and half sharp cheddar and used panko bread crumbs. They were very good but very labor intensive as well. Will probably make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2011

      Fantastic! I used finely crushed nachos to roll them in.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2013

      I followed the recipe as is. It was ok. I should have followed the advice of other reviewers and added in more spice for a richer flavour. Also... be warned: these do spread out a bit as they cook so don't put them too close together on the pan.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2010

      Delicious! The hit of the party. I think I used 5 T of jarred jalapenos and the heat factor was much appreciated, would definitely recommend increasing on what this recipe calls for. I made these for a party a few days ahead of schedule and froze them, I think this helped them keep their shape in the oven. I served these with a simple marinara sauce.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2014

      Been reading all the reviews on these bites hoping to maybe find a post that would be able to answer a question i have, but no luck. My son likes the poppers with just the cheese filling better (cheddar etc) not the combo with the cream cheese. How do these hold together with just cheddar cheese filling and would there be any difference in the amount of cheese as called for in your recipe? Also, after reading the comments about the breadcrumbs, was thinking about crushing up some nacho doritos for the coating to add more flavor. What do you think?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2013

      What more can I say, these were great and I will make them again. I think I'll vacuum seal several batches and store them in the freezer. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2013

      These were a hit at our family's Thanksgiving. They had the perfect amount of "heat." My only complaint would be the texture.. I don't like baked parmesan cheese. I think next time I might substitute all the parm cheese with something else.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2013

      My son made these for Easter and they were awesome!!! We used panko crumbs too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2013

      Loved this idea. Got great comments all around. I had a bit of trouble with the shape holding too. I used panko breadcrumbs and half cheddar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2013

      We needed something quick to take to a get together this afternoon and had everything to make this (including panko) and was surprised how easy this went together and how good they tasted - full of flavor and really not so spicy they would burn. Mine took about 20 minutes to brown nicely, they didn't stay round for me, kind of flattened on the bottom, but hey; who cares about that. Wish I'd followed fwgal's idea and doubled these to freeze half to have on hand when unexpected company come around. Thanks for posting and sharing this winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2012

      Big hit at the poker party! Used the recipe as stated except I had Italian breadcrumbs. Used 2 fresh jalapenos, one with seeds, one deseeded. The spice level was good for the guests at the party, not too spicy. For my own preference though, I may add more jalapeno or cayenne to spice it up a little next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2012

      very yummy!! made for the super bowl and the recipe was requested multiple times!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2011

      These were great! I used low fat cream cheese, approx. 4 Tbsp of diced jalapenos and Panko breadcrumbs-otherwise I followed recipe as written. Contrary to the problem several reviewers had with shape retention, I had absolutely no problems with that. I also ended up baking them for a bit longer than was stated to achieve that golden brown look. Will DEFINITELY be making these again! Thank you, Hey Jude (take a sad song and make it better...) :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2011

      Not quite hot enough, and I would probaby substitute some shredded mexican blend cheese for part of the parmesan next time. Overall, very good. Made for the 6th annual Fukaitis Halloween Party in order to use left over jalapenos. Very good; even held well in a warming dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2011

      Easy and very tasty! Made these last night to bring to a party and they were a hit! Followed some suggestions: added 4 oz. parm, 4 oz. mexican cheese blend, doubled the jalepenos, onion powder and panko bread crumbs (used Italian because it's what I had on hand). Baked them longer and didn't have any problem with them holding there shape. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2011

      Great recipe!! Used fresh jalapenos, more than the recipe calls for (including the seeds for heat. Also recommend using panko breadcrumbs, pressing flat with fork before cooking and cooking 5 mins longer to brown them. Thanks to everyones tips, HUGE success!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jalapeño Bites

    Serving Size: 1 (90 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 453.9
     
    Calories from Fat 244
    53%
    Total Fat 27.2 g
    41%
    Saturated Fat 14.8 g
    74%
    Cholesterol 136.4 mg
    45%
    Sodium 966.8 mg
    40%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.3 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 3.9 g
    15%
    Protein 22.5 g
    45%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes