115 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My DH favorite! I use Panko bread crumbs (important). After breading I press them with a spatula to make them coin shaped (if the taste is good what difference the shape?) When prepared I place them in freezer on a sheet until slightly frozen then bag for use when needed.
Out of freezer bake at 350 for 10 minutes then flip and bake 10 minutes. My guests request the recipe time and again.

14 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fwgal July 20, 2010

Very good! I used about 4 oz parm & 4 oz sharp cheddar. I doubled up on the jalapenos (jarred) and added some cayenne, garlic powder, pepper & onion powder and a couple teaspoons of the liquid from the jarred jalapenos. These had a bite to 'em, but that's how we like 'em!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kynd March 05, 2010

i used one whole egg instead of the two yolks, doubled the amount of jalapeno using seeded fresh ones, added some dried minced onion, garlic, dill, and a bit of chili powder for extra flavor. had to chill the paste for 20 min in the fridge to make it workable and chilled the finished balls in the freezer for 10 min before baking to encourage them to keep their shape. baked for an extra 12 min to get them to brown. they held together fine and were quite flavorful. next time i think i'll use shredded cheddar instead of the parmesan just as a flavor preference. glad i served with tomato sauce to dip and glad i used the crispy panko crumbs. these were tasty! might have been nice with a little minced sauteed mushrooms added

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spiritussancto September 09, 2011

These were awesome!! I left mine in the over for 20 minutes and they still weren't browned. So I turned the broiler on for a couple minutes watching them closely and they browned up beautifully! I also added 4 strips of cooked and crumbled bacon!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SamanthaLynn July 26, 2012

These were really good but I changed the recipe after reading others reviews. I doubled the jalapenos (fresh), added some onion powder and garlic powder, used half parm and half sharp cheddar and used panko bread crumbs. They were very good but very labor intensive as well. Will probably make again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bmander February 07, 2012

Fantastic! I used finely crushed nachos to roll them in.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare August 16, 2011

I followed the recipe as is. It was ok. I should have followed the advice of other reviewers and added in more spice for a richer flavour. Also... be warned: these do spread out a bit as they cook so don't put them too close together on the pan.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jsteinkey September 04, 2013

Delicious! The hit of the party. I think I used 5 T of jarred jalapenos and the heat factor was much appreciated, would definitely recommend increasing on what this recipe calls for. I made these for a party a few days ahead of schedule and froze them, I think this helped them keep their shape in the oven. I served these with a simple marinara sauce.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mgnbos November 09, 2010

These didn't crisp up as much as I would have liked, so I think next time I will use panko crumbs. I may also try and spritz them with cooking spray before popping them in the oven or flipping them over so they will bake on both sides. The flavor was good and everyone enjoyed them. They went well with the burgers we grilled up.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whtbxrmom February 08, 2015

Been reading all the reviews on these bites hoping to maybe find a post that would be able to answer a question i have, but no luck. My son likes the poppers with just the cheese filling better (cheddar etc) not the combo with the cream cheese. How do these hold together with just cheddar cheese filling and would there be any difference in the amount of cheese as called for in your recipe? Also, after reading the comments about the breadcrumbs, was thinking about crushing up some nacho doritos for the coating to add more flavor. What do you think?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dona3k_9076011 October 05, 2014
Jalapeño Bites