Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jaffa Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jaffa Muffins

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on March 27, 2010

      Yum, I love these muffins! Great moist dense muffin. I plan to adjust it to make different flavored muffins. I'm hoping to use this basic recipe and turn it into lemon poppy muffins. Maybe I'll post the variation if it works. Thanks so much for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2009

      Splendid.One of the best muffins I have ever made. Reminded me of Terry's chocolate orange(England). They are very very easy to make and look beautiful when they come out of the oven. I used dark choc chips. I will make again soon!!!! The children yummed there way through eating them!!!! I also used all purpose flour and added 3 tsp of baking powder and 1 tsp of salt to substitute. You must try these!!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2012

      Self-raising flour is not available where I live so I used regular flour plus 1 tsp of baking powder (a recipe from this site too) but my jaffa muffins haven't risen as much as those pretty ones in the photo. I also should have read one of the reviews where cordamonstairs says that she used 3 tsp of baking powder. I also think that the chocolate chips might be too heavy for the batter to rise. Tastewise quite nice, not too sweet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2011

      Just made these muffins and have to say they taste BEAUTIFUL. Sweet but not too sweet, delicate orange flavor and the chocolate chips are great. The flavors here are spot on, so thanks for this! However, there's something definitely proportionally off with the muffin recipe. A previous reviewer mentioned these were dense -- holy cow, these are pound-cake dense (minus the buttery-ness of pound-cakes). The managed to stay moist, but whoa that's not a muffin so much as a little cake. The other challenge was that the outsides of the muffin burned at 425 for 15 minutes but the inside was fine. This is a sign that the muffins cooked at too high a temperature. I would lower to 400 or maybe lower a little more and cook longer, 25-30 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2009

      Really yummy! It is the first time I have made muffins with the rub in butter method, usually I mix wet and dry ingredients, so I was pleased to see such good results. I made 6 normal and 24 mini-muffins and I took some to a staff meeting. They were still hot from the oven and went down very well. I highly recommend these.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2008

      I hate to write a bad review. The muffins still burned. I took the advice of other reviewers and lowered the temp to 400F for 15 minutes. Maybe it is the sugar in the orange juice? The batter smelled delicious. I'd like to try it again. Made and reviewed for I Recommend Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2008

      Simply perfect !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2008

      These baked beautifully and were very pretty. They looked exactly like the ones in the photoes. Next time I'll reduce the temp or the baking time because they were a little bit burned.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2007

      So easy to make and so tasty too! Thanks my 2yr old loved them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2006

      I made these last weekend for morning tea for the family. They were very yummy and so easy to throw togeather. The orange-chocolate flavour was a real hit. This will be made often. Thanks Fairynuff

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2006

      These were very good, amazingly easy to put together, nicely flavored w/orange & full of choc chips. I halved the recipe for just 2 of us. They looked like they were browning well, so I tented them for the last 5 min of baking. Like elmotoo, I got a doughy muffin, not near as light as I expected. Not sure what I did wrong unless the tenting or my convection oven failed me somehow, prob the latter. These are worth getting right & I'm determined. Thx. ADDENDUM: Boy am I a dunce! Read a note in another recipe, ck'd & had my answer. I didn't use self-rising flour or add baking powder. Duh! My DH said "Make me happy & get it right!" He'll be happy now. Thx.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2006

      This are excellent little muffins with a wonderful flavor and texture. I had no idea what was meant by "rub in butter", so I just let it soften and added to the sifted flour and it work out great. A keeper for sure. Thanks FN

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2006

      Loved them! Made modification for 16 muffins, baked in a tin, cut to squares. No matter what the shape, these are so good and easy. Thanks Jodie :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2005

      THese were nice and will go in my recipe book everyone liked them I may use more orange zest next time to give it more orange flavour and there were heaps of chocolate chips yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2005

      For those who are curious, Jaffas are a favourite Australian treat consisting of balls of rich chocolate covered in orange flavoured candy. A packet of Jaffas is essential fare for Aussie movie goers. In the days when the floors of movie theatres were plain timber instead of carpeted, a favourite Aussie kids' prank was to roll a packet of Jaffas down the aisle during the movie - making a hell of a clatter! That was until someone discovered that an empty glass Coke bottle made even more noise!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2005

      Am so not an experienced baker, but these came out quite tasty, really perfect. Loved the orange peel and chocolate combo. Me thinks Jaffa is meant to refer to type of oranges, but I'm not sure. Made these for my coworkers for tomorrow, but tested them tonight and they were great! Used orange zest (no pith) of almost 1 whole orange and used fresh squeezed and added extra orange juice to make 1/2 cup. My BF nibbled on the semi-sweet chocolate chips in the cabinet so I was only left with just over 1/2 cup. Also, there was only 1 egg in fridge (BF probably too!) so I added some Greek yogurt plus an additional 2 tablespoons or so of orange juice to make up for missing egg. Made it a bit healthier, anyway. They cooked just perfectly in exactly 17 1/2 minutes! Probably won't rerate again when my coworkers taste them, as we both loved these muffins! BF asked me to reserve 2 of them for him tomorrow am. Thanks so much! P.S. Got many compiments from coworkers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2005

      These were good and I will make them again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2005

      These were good. Silly kids didn't like the flavor so I ate them. i think I made some mistakes somewhere because they weren't as light as everyone elses & they didn't keep well. :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2005

      These are delicious! Love the subtle orange with chocolate. Not sure what jaffa means, but these are great! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2005

      Chocolate and oranges are always a winning combination, so after reading the recent reviews and seeing the photographs, I just had to make these tonight. YES, very light and totally delicious, and have me pondering decadent thoughts for the next time I make these. Do I dare to sneak in just a little orange and chocolate liqueur and make these an adults only muffin? Perhaps just half a teaspoon? Or are these rambling and crazy thoughts just Friday night exhaustion getting the better of me? I’ll report back here – post Zaar World Tour – if I indeed venture down that path. Thanks for sharing this recipe, Fairy Nuff. Scrumptious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jaffa Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (77 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 232.3
     
    Calories from Fat 86
    37%
    Total Fat 9.6 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 5.5 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 43.1 mg
    14%
    Sodium 318.6 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.4 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 16.8 g
    67%
    Protein 4.1 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites