23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yum, I love these muffins! Great moist dense muffin. I plan to adjust it to make different flavored muffins. I'm hoping to use this basic recipe and turn it into lemon poppy muffins. Maybe I'll post the variation if it works. Thanks so much for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vttrapperman March 27, 2010

Splendid.One of the best muffins I have ever made. Reminded me of Terry's chocolate orange(England). They are very very easy to make and look beautiful when they come out of the oven. I used dark choc chips. I will make again soon!!!! The children yummed there way through eating them!!!! I also used all purpose flour and added 3 tsp of baking powder and 1 tsp of salt to substitute. You must try these!!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cardamomstars May 05, 2009

Self-raising flour is not available where I live so I used regular flour plus 1 tsp of baking powder (a recipe from this site too) but my jaffa muffins haven't risen as much as those pretty ones in the photo. I also should have read one of the reviews where cordamonstairs says that she used 3 tsp of baking powder. I also think that the chocolate chips might be too heavy for the batter to rise. Tastewise quite nice, not too sweet.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eva_anita July 31, 2012

Just made these muffins and have to say they taste BEAUTIFUL. Sweet but not too sweet, delicate orange flavor and the chocolate chips are great. The flavors here are spot on, so thanks for this! However, there's something definitely proportionally off with the muffin recipe. A previous reviewer mentioned these were dense -- holy cow, these are pound-cake dense (minus the buttery-ness of pound-cakes). The managed to stay moist, but whoa that's not a muffin so much as a little cake. The other challenge was that the outsides of the muffin burned at 425 for 15 minutes but the inside was fine. This is a sign that the muffins cooked at too high a temperature. I would lower to 400 or maybe lower a little more and cook longer, 25-30 minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Geca August 16, 2011

Really yummy! It is the first time I have made muffins with the rub in butter method, usually I mix wet and dry ingredients, so I was pleased to see such good results. I made 6 normal and 24 mini-muffins and I took some to a staff meeting. They were still hot from the oven and went down very well. I highly recommend these.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Perfectionist cook June 17, 2009

I hate to write a bad review. The muffins still burned. I took the advice of other reviewers and lowered the temp to 400F for 15 minutes. Maybe it is the sugar in the orange juice? The batter smelled delicious. I'd like to try it again. Made and reviewed for I Recommend Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LilPinkieJ November 01, 2008

Simply perfect !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Davedownunder September 25, 2008

These baked beautifully and were very pretty. They looked exactly like the ones in the photoes. Next time I'll reduce the temp or the baking time because they were a little bit burned.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kid-Kat May 09, 2008

So easy to make and so tasty too! Thanks my 2yr old loved them!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
najwa July 16, 2007

I made these last weekend for morning tea for the family. They were very yummy and so easy to throw togeather. The orange-chocolate flavour was a real hit. This will be made often. Thanks Fairynuff

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catherine Robson June 09, 2006
Jaffa Muffins