9 Reviews

This is a wonderful beef tenderloin recipe! I followed this recipe exactly and the result was a wonderfully most, tender, flavorful roast. We loved the flavor the marinade gave the roast and the crowning glory is the Royal Butter. Thanks for sharing this keeper, Guava Girl ! :-)

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Merlot April 15, 2003

So good!! I made this for Valentine's Day. I marinated the meet for about 6 hours and it was full of flavor. If you like horseradish, the royal butter is amazing! I'm not ashamed to admit to eating some with a spoon...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BadgerLuv February 18, 2010

I made this roast for my hubby the day after Valnetine's Dinner. It was a special dinner. The roast, even though I didn't have time to marinate it as long as it said to, was simply one of the best I've ever made. I was able to cut it with a fork it was so tender and very flavorful. I added a little bit of red wine to the marinade as well - and it was to die for! I used another recipe from this site for the horseradish dip and it was all just so perfect - especially with a bottle of red zin from Napa. Ahhhh.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jj9beach February 24, 2009

This review is for the royal butter only. My guests really enjoyed this with a filet of beef. I served two other sauces along side and this was my husbands favorite. He wants to use it as a spread for roast beef sandwiches. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tamaretta December 06, 2008

Five stars mean outstanding, its a shame I couldn't give it six stars !! I made this for Sunday dinner. I used vension and my family loved it! I'm planning on making it again for the holidays using beef. Thank so much for sharing.Had to tell you I made this Christmas eve dinner using pork loin. It was just as good. Thanks again!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bonnelllinda December 29, 2007

Fabulous! I had a 5 lb. tenderloin. I followed the recipe, but changed the cooking time and temp. I brushed butter over the top and baked at 500* for 25 minutes. I basted with the marinade during the last 10 minutes. The outside browned beautifully! And the inside was medium rare. Just how we like it. Melt in your mouth delicious, and the royal butter is to die for! Thank you for this wonderful recipe. An impressive meal to serve guests!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hannahamil March 28, 2016

I did not make the royal butter, and I only let it marinate for a short while. But, it was AMAZING. What a delicious flavor. I will make this again for sure (Actually I have more marinating right now for tomorrow's dinner). I can't say enough good things about this marinade.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Portae April 03, 2012

The tenderloin was excellent! I used the marinate but made a different sauce. The Royal Butter sounded very good, but a bit too fattening. Instead I mixed up 1 cup lowfat sour cream, 2 T horseradish sauce, 1 T chopped chives. I will try the Royal Butter another day, maybe with Christmas dinner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boni in Minnesota April 27, 2011

Superb oven roasted tenderloin! I had a 2,5 lb tenderloin and accordingly halved the recipe. I roasted it in 225 C oven for 35 minutes, meat thermometer at 65 C, spread the thickened marinade on top and back to the oven for few more minutes. The thermometer at 70 C, the result was absolutely perfectly roasted tenderloin, medium rare at thicker parts and medium at thinner parts, something for every body's liking.
For the horseradish butter I substituted creme fraiche for 1/4 cup of butter.
Wonderful recipe, the marinade is the star.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare March 18, 2011
Jackie Kennedy's Royal Beef Tenderloin