10 Reviews

I made this for our Halloween dinner ( playing catch up on reviews) and my family got a big kick out of it. It looked great and very festive. We also enjoyed the taste of this and I plan on making it agian soon, just not made into a jack o lantern. thank you for posting this fun and yummy recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour March 24, 2009

perfect and delicious!! i didnt use the egg wash or food coloring and it still turned out wonderfully. definitely a crowd-pleaser!! thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chungry1 October 31, 2008

WE ALL LOVED THIS. Thanks for a simple and tasty recipe. I might make individual ones this year.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wild Thyme Flour September 27, 2008

So easy to make, cute and great comfort food. I took some of the egg wash and put green food coloring in for the stem. =) Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mari November 01, 2007

We really enjoyed this fun and delicious dinner before taking the kids out trick-or-treating. It was great fun, and really yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
southernmomma November 01, 2007

This was awesome! Had a Halloween mini get-together and this was a big hit - tasted great, was easy to do and looked great too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JenniferK2 October 27, 2007

Hi, I made this for lunch for a couple of friends and their children today.. The kids loved it. I subsituted ground turkey....only because both my husband and I are not permitted to eat red meat often so we save it for steak. Actually no one has ever noticed it was ground turkey. Thanks for the recipe. I bet it would work on other holiday's too (a red heart for vallentines day for example). Leanne

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef at Heart February 21, 2007

I made and posted the pic of this...Everyone LOVED IT! It was very good. Very good and easy recipe for before going trick or treating!!!!My 4-year-old told all his friends about it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
grits7579 February 04, 2007

Oh my goodness, this is just wonderful and I'm an Aussie meat pie lover! I basically cooked as written using premium grade mince (less fat, ground beef). I did make one small addition and that was to include 2 tablespoons of Australian gravox and about 1/2 cup water to the meat mixture. Gravox is a gravy mix which thickens as simmered. I did cut back slightly on the cheese and only added about a cup to the meat mixture. I used a short crust pie base and topped with puff pastry. I used cookie cutters to cut out the face shapes. Shooting stars for eyes and a star for a nose and a large heart for a mouth. I do recommend lifting the cuttings off before placing the pastry on the pie, otherwise they melt into the mince. This would be excellent with the addition of some veggies whether frozen or fresh, that is if you wanted to add veggies for your kids. What a wonderful novelty for kids. Mine watched this cooking through the glass door of the oven and couldn't wait until it was cooked, cut up and sitting on their plates. My hubby Dave would eat a meat pie at least twice a week and announced that this is the nicest pie he has ever eaten. The biggest bonus to this fabulous recipe was that my girls thoroughly enjoyed helping me cook this. Painting the pastry was so much fun. Will be making these to freeze. Heading over to the Aussie/Kiwi forum now to promote this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jewelies January 19, 2007

MMMMMMM!!! this sounds so good. going to try this in the next to days, Ginny

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ginnyr01 October 26, 2006
Jack-O'-Lantern Cheeseburger Pie