7 Reviews

This is the second time I made this cake. The first was good but I think I over whipped the batter and then cooked it too long. both times it did not take 1 to 1 1/2 hrs. to bake the first was a little over done in 1 hr. at 375 the second I didn't mix as long and you tell the batter was a little more runny and I baked at 350 again it was done in 1 hr. and was not over done (I pulled the small loaf out at 45 mins.)I had a tipsy cake from Jack daniels at our local liquor store about 2 years ago and it was great and it made me start looking for a recipe. I don't remember if this is what it tasted like but this cake is OUTSTANDING !!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kdrake8825 December 23, 2007

We went to a NYE party where someone brought a Whisky Cake from Neiman Marcus. My husband went NUTS for this cake. I have been searching and searching since for THE recipe. This is almost identical....and A LOT cheaper than what Neiman's charges! It is so moist, chocolaty and DELICIOUS! The flavor of the alcohol is pronounced, but not off putting. It really enhances everything. We sprinkled a little extra on when sliced and that was GREAT! My husband thanks you for posting this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LizP April 30, 2006

Jack, Chocolate and Coffee no girl could ask for more. This smells so delicious when baking. Cake is moist and rich without being too sweet. LOVE IT thanks so much for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kiwi Girl in New Zealand October 21, 2009

Really tasty cake! Has a very good texture and super yummy after-taste. You can smell the JD as you bite into it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lincolnrose April 15, 2008

I just made this cake, and I am very disappointed. It is very strong-tasting (coffee, especially)and not sweet at all like the other JD Tipsy Cakes I have had. I know my opinion is in the minority on this site, but just thought I would advise that if you are wanting a sweet mild tipsy cake, this isn't for you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pelster3 December 08, 2007

This deserves more than 5 stars! It's a chocolatey, moist and the jack daniels just made it smell and taste so good. I baked this in a bundt pan and baked for a bit longer. Which is a good thing, cause there is no way I was sharing this ;-) Thanks so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Liara March 16, 2006

this made 1 large choclatey moist loaf cake. i brought this in to the office and everyone enjoyed it. very easy to make, a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chia January 31, 2006
Jack Daniel's Tipsy Cake