15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Followed the recipe to a "t," and I regret to say this absolutely ruined a beautiful piece of flank steak. Tasted only of the whiskey. Dogs won't even it eat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ser Cooks September 19, 2014

I didnt plan ahead very well so only had a couple hours to marinate the flank steak. DH put it on the grill after about 4 hours in the refrigerator and it was tender with a mild marinade flavor. We love garlic so I added a bit more and used olive oil instead of canola oil. Will make this again and leave in marinade overnight and I am sure it will be even better then it was tonight. Made and reviewed for Kittencal's Recipe Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 July 11, 2010

tasted like jack daniel's... which shouldnt be surprising i suppose, but that's ALL it tasted like. my boyfriend asked me, "did you dump a bunch of alcohol in this marinade? because that's what it tastes like!" uh oh

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie3763 May 17, 2009

Terrific marinade. Our steaks came out nice and tender and the flavor was perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BLUE ROSE April 07, 2009

I couldn't decide between a 4 or 5 star recipe! The marinade did make a tough piece of meat tender, but I couldn't taste the Jack Daniels or the mustard. I could catch a hint of garlic. I used a London Broil, so it was thicker than what the recipe called for. Therefore, I marinated overnight, and then another whole day. So it marinated about 30 hours. I cooked it on the grill, because I generally prefer my steaks that way. This was a very good London Broil...but I think I will marinate longer next time or increase the jack daniels and mustard, since I really didn't pick up these flavors this time. Because I used a thick piece of meat (I did double the marinade recipe) I don't feel I can really rate this fairly. But the meat came out tender and juicy. This is not the best "steak" or marinade recipe I have made, but it is the best London Broil I've eaten. Therefore a 5 star recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom February 13, 2009

I made this using top sirloin that was on sale recently!! The only change I made was to use olive oil and I put a teaspoon of minced garlic because it was minced garlic that you buy, so not fresh and as strong. We just loved the flavor and the fact that it is so easy to get together!!! I put the meat in the marinade in the morning the day before I made it for dinner. I didn't have Jack Daniels on hand, only a Scottish Whiskey, so borrowed the 1/4 cup from a friend. Now I am going to have to invest in some to make this again!!! Thanks so much for sharing. Made for Stars Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 January 26, 2009

This marinade is awesome, and my steak turned out tender and delicious. I used London Broil and grilled it (yes, I had to clean off the grill. It had 10" of snow on it!). I loved the flavors and everyone let it be known that I can make this for them any time! Thank you for sharing your recipe with us Mikekey! Made for Zaar Stars 1/09 Linda

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda's Busy Kitchen January 21, 2009

Being a huge fan of Jack Daniel's,I don't think there was ever any danger of me not liking this! A must for any Jack devotees! Delicious.....thanks Mikekey. Made for ZaarStars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noo January 21, 2009

This recipe has one of the tasiest marinades I've ever tried. I will definitely make this again. Because of one reviewer's comments, I decided to double up on the sauce, and I'm glad I did. All in all, it's a very tasty (and easy) flank steak recipe that is well worth trying.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NorthwestGal September 06, 2008

Terrific marinade; made for 16 people at my niece's going away party (moving to Charlotte, NC for her first teaching job -- go Jenna!) Everyone loved this and asked for the recipe! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook4_6 July 30, 2008
Jack Daniel's Flank Steak