Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jägerschnitzel (Pork or Veal Cutlets in Mushroom Gravy) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jägerschnitzel (Pork or Veal Cutlets in Mushroom Gravy)

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on September 12, 2013

      This turned out great! I used veal cutlets, no pounding required. I doubled the sauce (my husband loved it) as suggested by others but we really didn't need the extra the veal was so tender. If using pork, the sauce would be even more appreciated I think. On the upside, I now have the remainder in a jar in the fridge waiting to be used :) I did everything exactly as stated in the recipe, (used red wine) will make again for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2011

      Very, very nice, easy ingredients, used white wine but red would defiinately work. The sauce can easily be adjusted spicier, thin or thicker, wonderfull, Thanks JanetB

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2010

      Fantastic! I will be keeping this recipe in mind for next time I have company. The veal can be prepared ahead of time and reheated, and same with the sauce.. I'm sure it would be even better if made a day in advance! Next time I will use my non-stick skillet as I could only get one sides breading to stay on. Thanks for posting this wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2009

      Thanks Janet. It was easy and very tasty. Rather than make the schnitzel first I made up the sauce first and just reheated once the veal was cooked. Ran out of bacon (why won't he put things on the list???) so made do with 2 slices of bacon. DH said to tell you that you are a goddess :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2009

      Oh WOW! We loved this :-) because of the comments of some of the other reviewers I only used 2 slices of bacon, and I wasn't sure what type of wine to use but someone else commented on using a red so I used the only red I had.. Merlot. Mmm!! Definitely a do-over. I served this with mashed potatoes/parsnips (I mix them), and broccoli with a lemon/butter/white wine sauce. I forgot the sour cream :-( and plated up one plate.. but I poured the sauce back into the pan and added it then re-plated LOL. YAY!! Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2009

      A winner! My family votes after a new recipe and this was unanimous. I made this with veal and I omitted the bacon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2008

      My is this good! Both the breading and the sauce worked perfectly. Looked awesome on the plate and did not disappoint on the palate! Fans of Bavarian food will want this in the regular rotation. Made for Cookbook Tag Nov. 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2008

      Deliciously tender pork once pounded. I loved this but I would cut back dramatically on the bacon because it was a bit greasy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2008

      My husband went nuts over this one! The mushroom gravy is so rich and full of flavor. I used a Chianti red wine and don't think it could have turned out any better. It's not a complicated recipe at all - just looks long. This is definately a keeper!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2008

      I made this Jagershnitzel last night. This recipe is awesome. Everything came out perfect. I also made extra sauce and used the german mash potatoes minus the apples. Perfect combination.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2008

      After searching for sometime for a recipe for Jagerschnitzel I luckily found this one. My husband is of German/Austrian descent and asked for this dish for quite some time. It was wonderful. I too doubled the sauce. I serv ed it with a family recipe for buttered & fried noodles. The only change will make next time is to use about a 1/2 cup of cream or half & half to give the sauce a creamier consistency. Otherwise it is a winner!.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2006

      We made this with veal. The only thing I'd have done differently is that I would have doubled the sauce! My guys loved this! We had it for Christmas dinner per their choice this year and it was a huge hit! We served it over German Mashed Potatoes (recipe found at recipezaar!) It is a spectacular combination!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2006

      Excellent recipe. I used venison backstrape steaks instead. After last hunting season, that's the only kind of meat I cook with (great tasting and we have tons on hand). I also doubled the sauce but didn't change anything else. I will be making this again! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2006

      I think this recipe has a lot going for it. I will definetly make again with a few minor changes. I really liked the flavor of the sauce, I think I would almost double it. I would have liked more. I used boneless pork chops pounded but next time I will use a pork tenderloin. I served over orzo pasta which I liked a lot, didn't have schnitzel on hand. I will double the paprika next time. Overall a solid recipe that my DH and I enjoyed. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jägerschnitzel (Pork or Veal Cutlets in Mushroom Gravy)

    Serving Size: 1 (301 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 408.4
     
    Calories from Fat 209
    51%
    Total Fat 23.2 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 6.7 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 118.3 mg
    39%
    Sodium 547.6 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.3 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 3.0 g
    12%
    Protein 19.5 g
    39%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites