14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This turned out great! I used veal cutlets, no pounding required. I doubled the sauce (my husband loved it) as suggested by others but we really didn't need the extra the veal was so tender. If using pork, the sauce would be even more appreciated I think. On the upside, I now have the remainder in a jar in the fridge waiting to be used :) I did everything exactly as stated in the recipe, (used red wine) will make again for sure!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JSchultz89 September 12, 2013

Very, very nice, easy ingredients, used white wine but red would defiinately work. The sauce can easily be adjusted spicier, thin or thicker, wonderfull, Thanks JanetB

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alp100358 March 08, 2011

Fantastic! I will be keeping this recipe in mind for next time I have company. The veal can be prepared ahead of time and reheated, and same with the sauce.. I'm sure it would be even better if made a day in advance! Next time I will use my non-stick skillet as I could only get one sides breading to stay on. Thanks for posting this wonderful recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommymakeit4u November 21, 2010

Thanks Janet. It was easy and very tasty. Rather than make the schnitzel first I made up the sauce first and just reheated once the veal was cooked. Ran out of bacon (why won't he put things on the list???) so made do with 2 slices of bacon. DH said to tell you that you are a goddess :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K9 Owned March 04, 2009

Oh WOW! We loved this :-) because of the comments of some of the other reviewers I only used 2 slices of bacon, and I wasn't sure what type of wine to use but someone else commented on using a red so I used the only red I had.. Merlot. Mmm!! Definitely a do-over. I served this with mashed potatoes/parsnips (I mix them), and broccoli with a lemon/butter/white wine sauce. I forgot the sour cream :-( and plated up one plate.. but I poured the sauce back into the pan and added it then re-plated LOL. YAY!! Thank you!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teddy's Mommy January 09, 2009

A winner! My family votes after a new recipe and this was unanimous. I made this with veal and I omitted the bacon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CorkeeCook January 06, 2009

My is this good! Both the breading and the sauce worked perfectly. Looked awesome on the plate and did not disappoint on the palate! Fans of Bavarian food will want this in the regular rotation. Made for Cookbook Tag Nov. 2008.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lavender Lynn November 09, 2008

Deliciously tender pork once pounded. I loved this but I would cut back dramatically on the bacon because it was a bit greasy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Demandy August 30, 2008

My husband went nuts over this one! The mushroom gravy is so rich and full of flavor. I used a Chianti red wine and don't think it could have turned out any better. It's not a complicated recipe at all - just looks long. This is definately a keeper!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PClifton30739 July 21, 2008

I made this Jagershnitzel last night. This recipe is awesome. Everything came out perfect. I also made extra sauce and used the german mash potatoes minus the apples. Perfect combination.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
templer_2001 April 18, 2008
Jägerschnitzel (Pork or Veal Cutlets in Mushroom Gravy)