Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Izzy's Salmon Chowder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Izzy's Salmon Chowder

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on August 02, 2002

      I found this took much longer than 10 minutes to prep. My DH liked this Chowder but I didn't care for it that much. I guess I just prefer a different style. I prefer a light broth type instead of a thick stew. I did make some changes. I used fresh salmon instead of canned, which I think was nicer. And I used salmon broth that I had made, instead of chicken broth which I also liked. It gave the chowder a nice salmon taste. I did like using the fresh corn that was suggested in the recipe. That was a nice touch. And I think I'll use that idea again when I make a different version of Salmon Soup. Just not a chowder next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2002

      Absolutely delicious! Getting colder here now and theres nothing I like better than a good hearty soup with crusty bread rolls. I used a tin of whole kernel corn instead of the craem style but other than that follwed the recipe to a T.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2010

      This was such an easy and delicious chowder. I used left over salmon from the other night and used a little more garlic, chicken broth for the water, half-n-half for the milk and fresh corn off the cob...Fabulous!! Thank you for an easy and great tasting dish!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2005

      Excellent flavours but the prep time, for me, is much greater than stated.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2009

      Delicious! I made just a few small changes -- used veggie broth instead of chicken, olive oil instead of butter, frozen niblet corn instead of canned cream style corn. I used a pound of fresh atlantic salmon, cubed, instead of canned fish. I also added just a bit of cornstarch to thicken it up. I don't think any of these changes really altered the chowder as a whole. It was divine. Thanks, Izzy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2007

      Simply wonderful and considering how easy it was to prepare, I am really surprised! I made as directed, using skim milk and yellow squash for the zucchini. The added butter to the bowl is the crowning touch! Don't forget to add the extra butter. I love Izzy's recipes! Thank you so much for posting this one, Izzy Knight!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2006

      This was hearty and tasty. I used dried dill weed and Cajun seasoning in place of the salt. I also used a piece of fresh salmon instead of canned. The chowder didn't taste fishy at all. I think this recipe could benefit from a little added kick or flavor. Thanks Izzy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2005

      I too found that it took a little longer to make than I had anticipated. Must be from all of the chopping required. But...It turned out quite good. I substituted the canned salmon for fresh cubed salmon,halibut & small scallops. It made more of a seafood chowder that was quite yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2005

      Excellent job Izzy! I did make a few changes due to items on hand and personal preference. I used 2 cloves of garlic, 1 can roasted garlic chicken broth and no water, dill weed (no seed in my pantry), fresh salmon that I hot smoked over apple wood, I used the full amount of milk plus 8 oz. heavy cream, frozen corn, dried parsley and 1/2 teaspoon Cajun seasoning. I did not top with butter since I added the cream. This stuff is dangerous as I wanted to keep eating it. For those of you that do not have or use Cajun seasoning I generally substitute it for salt. It is not hot but will enrich any dish. It took about 90 minutes total time, but was well worth it. Thanks again Izzy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2005

      OK, Izzy you're the winner! This is the BEST CHOWDER I have every eaten. I didn't change a thing other than I used 1/2 cup half and half and I used a piece of fresh salmon I had, which I sauteeed in some garlic and herb butter and then added. I used frozen organic corn. I think this is better than any clam chowder I've eaten, and much better for you. Thank you for a wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2005

      Nice hearty soup. I used fresh salmon only because that is what I had on hand. I poached the salman, and used the poaching liquid as part of the water called for in the recipe. Thank you Izzi for posting the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2004

      It did take much longer to prep this but it was worth it. I almost doubled it and now have some in my freezer for later use. I really like the dill seeds. . . much more flavour than dill weed!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Izzy's Salmon Chowder

    Serving Size: 1 (415 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 425.2
     
    Calories from Fat 142
    33%
    Total Fat 15.8 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 8.3 g
    41%
    Cholesterol 62.8 mg
    20%
    Sodium 739.7 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.0 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 5.9 g
    23%
    Sugars 8.5 g
    34%
    Protein 21.9 g
    43%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites