Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / I've Died & Gone to Heaven Chicken Slow Cooker / Crock Pot Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    I've Died & Gone to Heaven Chicken Slow Cooker / Crock Pot

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on July 19, 2008

      This is prety much the same recipe I have posted on my site, Breast of Chicken on Rice , which I became aware of back in the 50/60s when my mother used to make this dish...It was designed for oven baking and I am very happy to now see a crockpot version...A couple of changes I made: I didn't use the cheese...I DID add a can of mushrooms (a must)...After adding the soup mixture like you suggested, I decided to mix the chicken with the soup mixture to be sure the chicken was well surrounded by the soup for maximum flavor instead of leaving the chicken on the bottom...I did NOT add the butter, but a little bit of olive oil instead...After 7 hours or so, this dish too, was a little soupy...I removed the cover to the crockpot for about a half an hour and some of the liquid evaporated and it turned out great...The oven version for me, has a tad more flavor due to the method of applying the soup...But thanks for a new take on an old dish...I'll be making this often...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2008

      This recipe deserves 10 stars! It was very delicious and my whole family loved it! Very easy to make and I had all the ingredients on hand, although I substituted the cream of mushroom soup for cream of chicken and cream of celery since my family doesn't like mushrooms. I will definitely make this again, thanks for sharing Foxxyladyone!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2011

      I want to give this more stars but I had issues with the recipe. I followed the directions to a "T" used the same amount of ingredients listed EXCEPT for the cheese as we didn't have any. I was concerned with the lack of liquid in this dish as it didn't seem like there would be enough. As it cooked the juices from the chicken gave it a little more in the begining. Then towards the end I guess the rice soaked up the majority of it. When I lifted the lid from my crockpot what I saw was a big mushy mess. I had crossed my fingers and hoped that the rice would be ok, but it was grainy and hard (uncooked) in some places and in others just flat out mush almost like a stuffing but in rice form. The chicken was very mosit and tender, it fell apart easily with a fork. The taste of the chicken was wonderful, after reading the reviews I was worried about the saltyness of it as I don't care for salty foods but this was fine. I will try this again and nix the rice in the crockpot perhaps make it in the rice cooker instead. Also will add maybe a can more of the mushroom soup along with extra milk and add some fresh mushrooms as that would have been a nice touch. Can always pour the soup part it over the rice after everything has cooked. Good starting point, thanks for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2008

      This was awesome! Not to mention - EASY! My husband & I LOVED it and it will become one of our regular dishes. I didn't even add the parmesan (ours was old)! Thanks so much! I do a lot of crockpot cooking because of work schedules during the week and this is quick and easy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2012

      Followed recipe to the T, because everyone was saying the rice was dry I cut up the chicken into bite size pieces and mixed everything together. Very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2011

      I liked the overall taste but the rice was not cooked. Next time, I will skip the rice and add more veggies (I did add mushrooms) and use more seasoning. Thanks for sharing :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2011

      My family loved this one. I used large chicken breasts and cooked all day. The rice ends up being really mushy and acts to thicken the sauce, which I really liked. I served over rice. It was so creamy delicious! Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2011

      We liked this. I used cream of chicken soup instead. We live in the high desert so I cooked the rice by itself. Next time I will just leave off the butter. For me all it did was make a puddle on the top so I just scooped it off. It tasted great and made great left overs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2011

      This was very good and easy to make. Reading some of the other reviews about the rice being non-existent, I added extra. I also didn't add any salt or pepper. This is comfort food at its best!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2011

      I made this as written, but we just didn't enjoy it. The rice pretty much disappeared and turned completely into mush, and this was far too salty for our tastes (and I added no additional salt and pepper).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2011

      I made this with bone-in chicken breasts with the skin removed. I didn't like it very much but my husband did. The texture was very mushy and I didn't cook it for nearly as long as the directions said. The rice was almost non-existent. It was salty, too. I added some water after it was cooked to reduce the saltiness. I started the crock-pot on high and reduced it low and cooked it for about 4 hours. I made the recipe as posted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2011

      I agree, this deserves 10 stars! Who knew? We did not have any dry onion soup, so I substituted a bunch of stuff (Red Robin seasoning, onion powder, garlic powder, and whatever else I could find). I also added the can of mushrooms as one of the reviewers suggested. I mixed it all up. Only had to cook it about 6 hours, left it on warm for another couple of hours until it was time to eat. Easy. Delicious. Loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2010

      Absolutely fabulous!!! I substituted a can of chicken broth for the milk, brown rice for white, and added Old Bay seasoning, garlic powder & onion powder. Still very creamy and very yummy! This would work well, I think, in a OAMC plan by combining the sauce ingredients and freezing in a separate bag with the chicken. I agree with other posters about reducing cooking time, we enjoyed this just about 4 hours after start, with about 2 hours on high, 2 on low in my crock pot. Will absolutely make this again & again...thanks so much for posting!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2010

      Very Good! I love chicken and rice and this didn't let me down. I added fresh mushrooms and didn't salt until after it was done. Also, as another cook posted it only took 6 hrs to cook. My crockpot's low setting is more like medium, so you know how your cooks, adjust cooking time as needed. Thanks! we will have this often

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2009

      This was VERY good! I didn't have any problem with this dish being runny. I used an off brand of onion soup mix and I think that may have made it a bit salty for my taste, but my son loved it and didn't agree that it was salty. I'm always on the look out for yummy slow cooker recipes, and this one is a keeper. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2008

      The chicken was very moist but mine turned out really runny. I followed recipe as directed and cooked for 8 hours on low. At a later date, I hope to try again and use half the amount of milk and maybe cut down on the cooking time and I will review again at that time. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2008

      Very good. Made for Spring PAC 2008. This was easy to put together in the morning with ingredients I had on hand. Everyone enjoyed this. I followd the recipe as written. Mine took only six hours to cook. If I would have let it on any longer, my chicken would have been dry. Will be making again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for I've Died & Gone to Heaven Chicken Slow Cooker / Crock Pot

    Serving Size: 1 (397 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 5

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 664.0
     
    Calories from Fat 340
    51%
    Total Fat 37.8 g
    58%
    Saturated Fat 16.2 g
    81%
    Cholesterol 142.3 mg
    47%
    Sodium 1694.5 mg
    70%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.3 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 2.1 g
    8%
    Protein 40.8 g
    81%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites