Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ivar's Clam Chowder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ivar's Clam Chowder

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on February 24, 2014

      I used 4 cans of clams and more salt. It tastes too buttery. I don't think it needs half & half with 3/4 cup of butter. It went down the disposal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2013

      As written we thought this was bland and didn't even taste like clam chowder. I followed the recipe exactly as written. I love thick chowder but this tasted almost pasty to me. I did add four more cans of clams and a lot more pepper and salt. We liked it much better with the changes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2012

      To start, this makes a lot, at least 8 servings. Made recipe as instructed (except I only had 2c half & half so I used 2 c milk & 2 c Fat Free Half & Half. I also felt it needed more clams, so I doubled the clams as another reviewer suggested and doubled the sugar as well. I may have put too much water (to cover the vegs) and felt that more seasoning was required. I added a bit of chicken base (would've used clam juice if I had it) and a lot more pepper. Very nice recipe with the suggestions mentioned. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2011

      I loved the thick, creamy texture. I made this as written, but doubled the clams and the sugar. This is a great, no-nonsense clam chowder. I admit that I am used to using thyme and some other seasonings in my clam chowder, but I still thought this was delicious and I would not call it bland. I sprinkled with paprika to make it look pretty to serve. Thanx for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2011

      Lisa, I saw this recipe and was intrigued, because when I used to go to Washington State, one of the first places I would stop at was Ivar's for the chowder. I tried to make this recipe, and initially it was rather bland and did not really have any clam flavor. To combat this in the future, I will double the amount of clams and tinker around with the pepper and salt some, also decrease the flour by 1/3 to 1/2 c. What I did do with the first batch to pop it a liottle was add the following: 3 slices bacon, cooked and chopped, 1 Alaskan Pollock filet, diced into 1/4 in pieces while still frozen, 2 T Chicken Coup Base, about 1 T black pepper, and 4 dashes of Louisiana Hot Sauce, the Fiery Habanero version (you can find that at some stores around Indy, but I order it from them online). I may try to add some 1/2in cut asparagus later, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2011

      This is a great chowder for kids who don't like all the extra "stuff" in it! Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2011

      Made this for our lunch yesterday and it was sooo creamy and delicious. I cut it in half (still had plenty for DH and I for the next day) and added more clams, salt and pepper as others suggested. With those additions (and maybe some bacon next time) it reminded me of Ivar's quite a bit. Made for Catch of the Day Seafood Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2011

      I agree with another reviewer that it's almost there. But it's a bit bland, so I think I'll try her suggestion of adding some bacon and a few more spices next time. Definitely a keeper recipe though if you love Ivar's!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2010

      Almost there! It needs a little chopped bacon for that smokey flavor, some lemon juice for brightness, and a few spices to be Ivar's.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2009

      yuum! I actually think it's better than Ivar's! I've never made homemade chowder before, but we can't stand the canned stuff and even though we're in Seattle and there's an abundance of restaurants with awesome chowder, it's a little too pricey to have often! I thought I would try this recipe and just hoped that it would fit the bill, and was so pleased when my 9 year old seafood hater asked for seconds! The only changes I made was using 3 cans of clams and adding about 3 tsp salt and 2 TBSP pepper. thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2009

      This was a good basic recipe. We both spent 30+ years living in Seattle & eating at Ivars. Unfortunately, I think there is a little something missing from this recipe. It definitely needs more clams & more salt. The chowder is quick & easy & makes about 6-8 servings. In the future, for just the 4 of us, I'll cut the recipe in half. Thanks for sharing, Lisa!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2009

      This is the best!!! I made it exactly as written ...me and the fam. loved it. I read many, many recipes before settling on this one. Boy am I glad I did! I've made it many times since my first time. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2009

      I've made this 4 times and am making it again tonight...just haven't found the time to review it. Living in the PNW, we love clam chowder, and this recipe is so simple and decadent at the same time. Only change we usually make is add MORE CLAMS, since my family can't get enough. Will keep forever.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2008

      This was great! Growing up in the Seattle area...great to have a taste of home. I'd probably increase the amount of clams and a touch more salt for my taste....otherwise, it was awesome

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      This is excellent! Totally fit the bill after playing outside in the snow. Will definitely make this again and again. (Also, this freezes rather well. Just know that the butter does separate from it somewhat, but still tastes great after heating up individual servings.) Thanks for posting, LisaA!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2008

      Yes! We LOVED this recipe, now we don't have to travel 140 miles to enjoy Ivar's! I added an extra can of clams, substituted 3 tbsp dehydrated minced onion rehydrated with 6 tbsp hot water for the fresh onion, and substituted 4 cups fat free condensed milk for the half & half and the recipe was still AWESOME (and a quite a bit lower in fat!). Prep time took me more than 10 minutes, but it was well worth it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2007

      This is a really good recipe, but you seem to have forgotten to let them know when to put in the flour. I am assuming that it is after the butter melts to make a rue so that the half and half will get thick. Other than that, this recipe is really great and is pretty close to the real deal. My family loved it with those little oyster crackers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2007

      Thankyou LisaA for the wonderful recipe! I made it for my parents and we loved it. It as nice and easy and I used baby clams in mine. I served it along with fish nuggets and fries for a nice dinner.Thanks for the Ivar memories!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2007

      This was great. I made it exactly as posted. Yummm

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ivar's Clam Chowder

    Serving Size: 1 (2169 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 3662.9
     
    Calories from Fat 2311
    63%
    Total Fat 256.7 g
    395%
    Saturated Fat 158.2 g
    791%
    Cholesterol 908.3 mg
    302%
    Sodium 4457.5 mg
    185%
    Total Carbohydrate 207.5 g
    69%
    Dietary Fiber 13.4 g
    53%
    Sugars 14.9 g
    59%
    Protein 137.6 g
    275%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites