22 Reviews

I've made this 4 times and am making it again tonight...just haven't found the time to review it. Living in the PNW, we love clam chowder, and this recipe is so simple and decadent at the same time. Only change we usually make is add MORE CLAMS, since my family can't get enough. Will keep forever.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mole January 17, 2009

This is the best!!! I made it exactly as written ...me and the fam. loved it. I read many, many recipes before settling on this one. Boy am I glad I did! I've made it many times since my first time. Thanks for a great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RockyS. March 23, 2009

I made this chowder today, and we loved it! I made a few changes after reading some of the reviews. First I replaced 1/4 cup of butter with bacon drippings. I used 1% milk instead of the half and half. I also used 5 cans of chopped clams and a 8 ounce bottle of clam juice and didn't use any water. I also added 6 pieces of chopped bacon. I forgot the sugar, and am glad I did, didn't need it. After tasting I added 1 tsp of old bay. I served this chowder with oyster crackers, and hot sauce. I think next time I will cook the celery in the butter/grease it didn't quite soften up to our liking. Also I might not use the bottled clam juice next time, as it was a little thin, but still delicious! My eight year old said "This has got to be the best clam dish ever in the history of the world!" Now that is high praise! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A.S.K. December 07, 2015

This is a good recipe. Being from the Pacific N.W. Clams are rather easy to come by. I added about 2x the amount, some fresh salmon, and 6 slices of thick cut bacon (diced) to it. Amazing recipe to add and make changes to easily.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jas?n R. May 05, 2015

I used 4 cans of clams and more salt. It tastes too buttery. I don't think it needs half & half with 3/4 cup of butter. It went down the disposal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
emily.mcbride February 24, 2014

As written we thought this was bland and didn't even taste like clam chowder. I followed the recipe exactly as written. I love thick chowder but this tasted almost pasty to me. I did add four more cans of clams and a lot more pepper and salt. We liked it much better with the changes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol June 17, 2013

To start, this makes a lot, at least 8 servings. Made recipe as instructed (except I only had 2c half & half so I used 2 c milk & 2 c Fat Free Half & Half. I also felt it needed more clams, so I doubled the clams as another reviewer suggested and doubled the sugar as well. I may have put too much water (to cover the vegs) and felt that more seasoning was required. I added a bit of chicken base (would've used clam juice if I had it) and a lot more pepper. Very nice recipe with the suggestions mentioned. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Larawithoutau January 02, 2012

I loved the thick, creamy texture. I made this as written, but doubled the clams and the sugar. This is a great, no-nonsense clam chowder. I admit that I am used to using thyme and some other seasonings in my clam chowder, but I still thought this was delicious and I would not call it bland. I sprinkled with paprika to make it look pretty to serve. Thanx for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* December 11, 2011

Lisa, I saw this recipe and was intrigued, because when I used to go to Washington State, one of the first places I would stop at was Ivar's for the chowder. I tried to make this recipe, and initially it was rather bland and did not really have any clam flavor. To combat this in the future, I will double the amount of clams and tinker around with the pepper and salt some, also decrease the flour by 1/3 to 1/2 c. What I did do with the first batch to pop it a liottle was add the following: 3 slices bacon, cooked and chopped, 1 Alaskan Pollock filet, diced into 1/4 in pieces while still frozen, 2 T Chicken Coup Base, about 1 T black pepper, and 4 dashes of Louisiana Hot Sauce, the Fiery Habanero version (you can find that at some stores around Indy, but I order it from them online). I may try to add some 1/2in cut asparagus later, too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fizixdood November 03, 2011
Ivar's Clam Chowder