19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is the best!!! I made it exactly as written ...me and the fam. loved it. I read many, many recipes before settling on this one. Boy am I glad I did! I've made it many times since my first time. Thanks for a great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RockyS. March 23, 2009

I've made this 4 times and am making it again tonight...just haven't found the time to review it. Living in the PNW, we love clam chowder, and this recipe is so simple and decadent at the same time. Only change we usually make is add MORE CLAMS, since my family can't get enough. Will keep forever.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mole January 17, 2009

I used 4 cans of clams and more salt. It tastes too buttery. I don't think it needs half & half with 3/4 cup of butter. It went down the disposal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
emily.mcbride February 24, 2014

As written we thought this was bland and didn't even taste like clam chowder. I followed the recipe exactly as written. I love thick chowder but this tasted almost pasty to me. I did add four more cans of clams and a lot more pepper and salt. We liked it much better with the changes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol June 17, 2013

To start, this makes a lot, at least 8 servings. Made recipe as instructed (except I only had 2c half & half so I used 2 c milk & 2 c Fat Free Half & Half. I also felt it needed more clams, so I doubled the clams as another reviewer suggested and doubled the sugar as well. I may have put too much water (to cover the vegs) and felt that more seasoning was required. I added a bit of chicken base (would've used clam juice if I had it) and a lot more pepper. Very nice recipe with the suggestions mentioned. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Larawithoutau January 02, 2012

I loved the thick, creamy texture. I made this as written, but doubled the clams and the sugar. This is a great, no-nonsense clam chowder. I admit that I am used to using thyme and some other seasonings in my clam chowder, but I still thought this was delicious and I would not call it bland. I sprinkled with paprika to make it look pretty to serve. Thanx for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* December 11, 2011

Lisa, I saw this recipe and was intrigued, because when I used to go to Washington State, one of the first places I would stop at was Ivar's for the chowder. I tried to make this recipe, and initially it was rather bland and did not really have any clam flavor. To combat this in the future, I will double the amount of clams and tinker around with the pepper and salt some, also decrease the flour by 1/3 to 1/2 c. What I did do with the first batch to pop it a liottle was add the following: 3 slices bacon, cooked and chopped, 1 Alaskan Pollock filet, diced into 1/4 in pieces while still frozen, 2 T Chicken Coup Base, about 1 T black pepper, and 4 dashes of Louisiana Hot Sauce, the Fiery Habanero version (you can find that at some stores around Indy, but I order it from them online). I may try to add some 1/2in cut asparagus later, too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fizixdood November 03, 2011

This is a great chowder for kids who don't like all the extra "stuff" in it! Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jillsawicki June 29, 2011

Made this for our lunch yesterday and it was sooo creamy and delicious. I cut it in half (still had plenty for DH and I for the next day) and added more clams, salt and pepper as others suggested. With those additions (and maybe some bacon next time) it reminded me of Ivar's quite a bit. Made for Catch of the Day Seafood Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama smurf April 05, 2011

I agree with another reviewer that it's almost there. But it's a bit bland, so I think I'll try her suggestion of adding some bacon and a few more spices next time. Definitely a keeper recipe though if you love Ivar's!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
knowpeace January 01, 2011
Ivar's Clam Chowder