Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / " It's Too Easy" Pork Chops & Rice Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    " It's Too Easy" Pork Chops & Rice Casserole

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on December 09, 2012

      Won't make this again. After an hour in the oven, the rice was still swimming. The chops were dried out and the rice was still not cooked. Threw it out and went to McDonald's. What a waste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2011

      I will not make this again. It was very bland. I knew it was not good when my husband asked for the ketsup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2010

      Simple and tasty! I've been using a similar one for years. You can toss in some sliced onions if you like too, and if you like extra flavor like I do, use the whole packet of onion soup mix. Ignore 709785's one-star review. The truth is, when you substitute TWO of the MAJOR ingredients in a recipe, you don't get to complain that the original is no good. An "accomplished" cook should know that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2009

      Had this tonight with minor modifications based on what we already had in the kitchen... so we had a double layer of thin chops over basmati rice, and I did lightly season the chops for browning (plus the suggested mushrooms). My roommate stuffed herself silly, but I'd personally like to tweak it a little further to suit my tastes. But this is certainly a very good base to work from. I also look forward to trying it again with a better cut of chop. What did surprise me was how much longer I had to cook it for to get the rice cooked and most of the water absorbed. So, basmati tastes quite nice for this, but takes a lot longer to cook (our oven normally needs less time than called for).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2009

      On 5/4/09 this was made for mine and SO's dinner.Except for just using two chops the recipe was made as written. I think however there was a mistake with the rice, I made " WAY " too much :) ( but the leftover rice will be put to good use ). The next time and there will be a next time, I'm going to cut the amount of rice in half and use the full amount of soup mix in this recipe.While the pork chops were browning, I sprinkled them with a bit of seasoning salt and some pepper.The amount of water and baking time was " Right On The Money " This will be made again. Thank you for posting and, " Keep Smiling :) "

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2008

      Made for Pick A Chef - Fall 2008. I'm not sure why some of the other chefs didn't like this recipe, but in my book it was excellent. You can't change a recipe that much and expect it turn out the way the original chef intended it to. Before I was diagnosed with food allergies I used to make the baked rice casserole with cream of mushroon soup quite often, but since canned soups are now out, this is something that I've missed. This was true comfort food and I like that the main dish is all in one dish. Add a side salad and you've got a complete meal. Thanks for posting this Mareesme!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      I don't understand the problems Chef #709785 had with this recipe. I followed the instructions, and mine turned out great. I am also an accomplished cook, and the only change I made was seasoning my pork chops before browning, which seems like a no-brainer. I let my casserole rest for about 15 minutes covered before serving. The pork was cooked perfectly and the rice was tender and light with all the liquid absorbed. I recommend everyone try this recipe. The real truth is that yes, it is easy, and good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      There is something seriously wrong with this recipe. This turned out to be a tasteless mess. I am an accomplished cook and even added sautéed onions and garlic, and substituted a can of Cream of Mushroom soup and white wine for the same amounts of water. The pork was under-cooked and the rice was not done despite baking for 15 minutes longer than called for. Don’t bother with this one. The truth her is that is in fact too easy, to be any good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2007

      I give this a 5+ for ease in preparation and great flavor. I made 6 chope because kids had friends over, and all wanted seconds. As suggested, I added a can of mushrooms and added a little more water halfway through to avoid rice overbrowning around edges. The 2-star review must have been a typo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2007

      My family really enjoyed this recipe! I subsituted two packages of seasoned carolina long grain and wild rice, in a measuring cup, and filled with white rice to make one cup. Instead of onion soup mix. Two cups of water. Also for a side I made home made applesauce: another recipe I found here on Recipe Zaar. What a great Fall dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for " It's Too Easy" Pork Chops & Rice Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (480 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 631.2
     
    Calories from Fat 181
    28%
    Total Fat 20.1 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 5.5 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 123.9 mg
    41%
    Sodium 952.2 mg
    39%
    Total Carbohydrate 62.3 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 45.6 g
    91%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites