10 Reviews

Won't make this again. After an hour in the oven, the rice was still swimming. The chops were dried out and the rice was still not cooked. Threw it out and went to McDonald's. What a waste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
susan2556 December 09, 2012

I will not make this again. It was very bland. I knew it was not good when my husband asked for the ketsup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Candyhal September 28, 2011

Simple and tasty! I've been using a similar one for years. You can toss in some sliced onions if you like too, and if you like extra flavor like I do, use the whole packet of onion soup mix. Ignore 709785's one-star review. The truth is, when you substitute TWO of the MAJOR ingredients in a recipe, you don't get to complain that the original is no good. An "accomplished" cook should know that.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Insanitycase February 13, 2010

Had this tonight with minor modifications based on what we already had in the kitchen... so we had a double layer of thin chops over basmati rice, and I did lightly season the chops for browning (plus the suggested mushrooms). My roommate stuffed herself silly, but I'd personally like to tweak it a little further to suit my tastes. But this is certainly a very good base to work from. I also look forward to trying it again with a better cut of chop. What did surprise me was how much longer I had to cook it for to get the rice cooked and most of the water absorbed. So, basmati tastes quite nice for this, but takes a lot longer to cook (our oven normally needs less time than called for).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thothep December 10, 2009

On 5/4/09 this was made for mine and SO's dinner.Except for just using two chops the recipe was made as written. I think however there was a mistake with the rice, I made " WAY " too much :) ( but the leftover rice will be put to good use ). The next time and there will be a next time, I'm going to cut the amount of rice in half and use the full amount of soup mix in this recipe.While the pork chops were browning, I sprinkled them with a bit of seasoning salt and some pepper.The amount of water and baking time was " Right On The Money " This will be made again. Thank you for posting and, " Keep Smiling :) "

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � May 05, 2009

Made for Pick A Chef - Fall 2008. I'm not sure why some of the other chefs didn't like this recipe, but in my book it was excellent. You can't change a recipe that much and expect it turn out the way the original chef intended it to. Before I was diagnosed with food allergies I used to make the baked rice casserole with cream of mushroon soup quite often, but since canned soups are now out, this is something that I've missed. This was true comfort food and I like that the main dish is all in one dish. Add a side salad and you've got a complete meal. Thanks for posting this Mareesme!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LARavenscroft October 13, 2008

I don't understand the problems Chef #709785 had with this recipe. I followed the instructions, and mine turned out great. I am also an accomplished cook, and the only change I made was seasoning my pork chops before browning, which seems like a no-brainer. I let my casserole rest for about 15 minutes covered before serving. The pork was cooked perfectly and the rice was tender and light with all the liquid absorbed. I recommend everyone try this recipe. The real truth is that yes, it is easy, and good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Louie's Mom June 22, 2008

There is something seriously wrong with this recipe. This turned out to be a tasteless mess. I am an accomplished cook and even added sautéed onions and garlic, and substituted a can of Cream of Mushroom soup and white wine for the same amounts of water. The pork was under-cooked and the rice was not done despite baking for 15 minutes longer than called for. Don’t bother with this one. The truth her is that is in fact too easy, to be any good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JFOURNIER January 01, 2008

I give this a 5+ for ease in preparation and great flavor. I made 6 chope because kids had friends over, and all wanted seconds. As suggested, I added a can of mushrooms and added a little more water halfway through to avoid rice overbrowning around edges. The 2-star review must have been a typo.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
melazycook November 01, 2007

My family really enjoyed this recipe! I subsituted two packages of seasoned carolina long grain and wild rice, in a measuring cup, and filled with white rice to make one cup. Instead of onion soup mix. Two cups of water. Also for a side I made home made applesauce: another recipe I found here on Recipe Zaar. What a great Fall dinner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
m00nlight21 October 23, 2007
" It's Too Easy" Pork Chops & Rice Casserole