Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / It's Thyme for Rice Pilaf Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    It's Thyme for Rice Pilaf

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on June 08, 2002

      Sue, this is so good, how do I thank you? This tasted like its come from the best hotel in the world. It was very flavourful and an extremely good comfort food. I did substitute the butter/margarine with cooking oil and the Tobasco sauce with Soy sauce as I didnt have that on hand. Otherwise, I stuck to the recipe. One thing that I wanted to point out was that after the veggies are cooked and kept aside, when the rice is added in, its not necessary to stir fry it for 7-8 minutes to obtain the light brown colour. The colour comes to the light brown shade within 2-3 minutes maximum. Keeping the rice without any liquid(stock/water) for 7-8 minutes would DEFINITELY result in burning the rice. This is otherwise a perfect recipe for a lunch party! Thanks, will make it the next time we have a party!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2013

      Excellent rice recipe! Love all the flavors and color. I added more veggies and had to skip the parsley because I was out. DH and I both loved it. I'm looking forward to making this as a side for kebabs. Thanks for sharing this keeper recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2013

      I enjoyed this very much, thanks for a great dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2010

    • on January 23, 2010

      Made this last night for dinner and served with Ginger Marinated Tuna With Wasabi Butter#123869 and Cucumber Salad#125146. DH said I could make this anytime. I cut the recipe in half and used jasmine rice and followed the directions completely. Next time I might add the peas at the last minute but this was DELICIOUS! Thank you. Made for Herb of the Month: Thyme French Forum 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2008

      Very good rice pilaf, have made it several times now.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2008

      This was great - a real keeper. I added mushrooms instead of green peppers (my hubby hates them) and omitted the Tabasco because my kids are really sensitive to anything spicy. I also used 2 cups of chicken broth and a quarter cup of water - this was plenty, the rice was perfect. The flavors are great, nothing too over powering... blends very nicely. Perfect compliment to a lemon pepper turkey breast and steamed green beans. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2008

      This is a keeper. I added everything except the Tabasco sauce and it came out fine. Also, next time I make it I will omit the parsley as I couldn't even taste it in the rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2006

      This was very tasty and flavorful rice. I served this with grilled shrimp and my family loved it. Thank you for sharing this wonderful, easy recipe...it is definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2006

      Terrific! Used red peppers instead of green(personal taste thing) and some finely chopped zucchini. Added golden raisins and pistachios toward the end of simmer time. Beautiful dish when plated and very tasty served with roasted game hen halves

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2005

      This was great! Very tasty. My MOTHER wanted the recipe--HUGE compliment! I now make it quite often when using rice as a side dish. Thanx!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2005

      This was tasty! Next time I would cut down on the parsley (a little overwhelming) and up the thyme and omit the peppers altogether. I might also toss in some pine nuts. Thanks for the recipe. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2005

      I have to say this was really good and so full of flavor! I was even shocked to see my 3 year old eating it. This is a keeper! Thanks Sue L....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2004

      This was enjoyed by both of us. I halved the recipe and didn't use the tabasco sauce. Used dried parsley and dried tyme, never seem to have fresh in the house. I foze up what we didn't eat and just today found it in the freezer and realized I didn't post a review. Very good, thanks for the recipe Sue.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2004

      I decided to venture out of my rice-a-roni rut and this was a great option! I used boullion cubes, which are pretty salty. Next time I'll try it with a better quality broth (maybe even homemade if I'm feeling ambitious).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2004

      So good. I have made this many times...thought I already reviewed it! I made it the first time using butter, but since have both cut down on the amount and substituted margarine and it has turned out fine (butter lends a richer flavor, though!) I always use brown rice, cooking about 35 minutes, and adding the peas the last 5 minutes. Love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2004

      Very colorful, very flavorful rice. I used brown rice, next time I'll use white and I'll add the peas at the end of the cooking time in order to preserve that beautiful green.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for It's Thyme for Rice Pilaf

    Serving Size: 1 (187 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 212.0
     
    Calories from Fat 58
    27%
    Total Fat 6.4 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.8 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 15.2 mg
    5%
    Sodium 242.7 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.9 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 2.5 g
    10%
    Protein 4.6 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites