Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / "it's a Keeper!" Fish Stick Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    "it's a Keeper!" Fish Stick Casserole

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on March 06, 2011

      2AM, Soho, London. The party is over, and just the right few remain, and all pretension is out the window. I Googled what I had in the fridge, and this recipe topped the list. Now I plan evenings around this gap just so I can make it. It reminds me of recipes I made before moving from the South (Alabama, Georgia) only I would have used Velveeta instead of non-processed cheese. Wildflower, are you originally a Southerner? Got me ready to revisit Geneva and Savannah! Thank you so much for this recipe, and flashback.
      Have made several times, and is a weekend regular in my home.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2011

      This is a winner around my house. We'll all eat it and it's very inexpensive to make! I never use the cream of cheese soup because it has so many calories. I use 98% fat free chicken soup and lite mayo and we like it fine in a monthly rotation. DH doesn't LOVE it but he'll eat it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2011

      Several reason I only rated this with 3 stars..... it was much too rich for my taste. Too much mayonaise taste in it. If I make again I will cut down to 1/2 cup it is moist enough to be able to do that. I also need to cook it on 400 in my oven, was not that hot after 40 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2010

      Wasn't great but wasn't horrible. I would have rather just fried the fish sticks and made french fries personally. I recommend adding more fishsticks or less potato.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2009

      I understand that Wildflour does not think that the casserole is as good without full fat mayo. However, I made it reduced calorie and it was quite delicious. I used 1/2 c. Kraft Olive Oil Mayonnaise w/ 1/2 c. plain fat free yogurt, 98% fat free cream of chicken soup, and used only the 4 oz. (1 cup) shredded cheese on top. (The potatoes and quite cheesy from the cheddar cheese soup.) This reduced the calories per serving to 350, and the fat to 15.5 grams. The sodium was also reduced by 415 mg. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe with us Wildflour!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2009

      This was great!! Kinda tasted like potato salad mixed together with fish sticks. My husband said twice how much he liked it, which is a rarity. Just a few substitutions: frozen french fries in place of hashbrowns, 3-cheese ranch dressing in place of cheddar soup, diced dill pickle instead of relish, and onion powder instead of real onion. My only other recommendation would be to mix the wet ingredients, pickles, and cheese together before adding the potatoes. Will definitely make again--thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2009

      My kids love this recipe... My 14 year old son (who doesn't like casseroles) keeps asking me to make this. He rates it 5 stars. It is very easy to make. The only thing I do differently is that I sprinkle the cheese on in the last 5-10 minutes, otherwise it is too brown. Personally, I give it a 3... it tastes like fish sticks and mustard potatoe salad. I think it is more of a kids recipe. Which is very nice when you want raves from your kids.:) Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2008

      It's a keeper, for sure!! While my kids love fish sticks, I am always looking for a new way to use & serve food, this recipe fits the bill. They loved it!! I'm sure it will become a regular request at our house. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2008

      I'm not going to put any stars because I don't want to mess up the rating, and I changed an ingredient so it could be all my fault that it didn't turn out well. We didn't have any cheddar cheese soup, so I melted 8 ounces of velveeta cheese with 2 ounces of half and half and subbed it for the soup. This is the first thing I've made in a long time that we didn't keep the leftovers. I had such high hopes, but I don't think I could even get the kids to taste it if I made it again. I don't want to discourage anyone from trying it though, so please, try it as written instead of making the mistake I did!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2008

    • on February 28, 2008

      This was very good. I subbed some of the mayo for sour cream (personal taste thing). I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2008

      I have to rate this for myself. I'm sure this would be a higher rating if my family & I were big fish stick fans. I had some frozen fish sticks & I was looking for a way to disguise them. This did not work, the fish sticks actually made the whole casserole taste fishy. It might have been the brand of fish sticks I had because they were a cheap brand (*Gooday brand). I'm sorry but this just didn't work for me or my family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2008

      Holy crap. When I was throwing this together, I thought, "With all this cheese, there's no way this is going to taste like tartar sauce." WOW, was I wrong! This stuff rocks! Not quite all of my potatoes were done, a couple were even still cold, so next time (and there WILL BE a next time!), I will probably bake this for 50 minutes to make sure it's done all the way through. Thanks Wildflower for an AWESOME recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2007

      Goodness Gracious! This was so wonderful...the ESSENCE of comfort food. This not only is a KEEPER, but it gets printed off and put into my very own Tried & True recipe binder. So here's what we did differently: subbed in Fiesta Nacho Cheese Soup for the cheddar cheese soup---POW!!! And had some leftover home-made tartar sauce that went into the one-cup of mayo, too. Subbed Dijon for the brown spicy mustard. AND used mostly Cheddar cheese instead of the Mexican blend. We used waaaay more than 18 fish sticks, probably more like about 30 (but we had the cheap store brand ones). I think I would cover lightly with foil the next time, as the cheese sort of dries out in the baking, & take foil off for the last 10 or 5 minutes. Anyway...a definite KEEPER!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2006

      I substituted a can of condensed cream of potato soup instead of the chicken soup and used dill pickle relish instead of sweet, forgot to add the mustard and onion, and it STILL turned out awesome! I did add about 1/4 c. half and half, too. Makes lots and, if you get fish sticks and the potatoes on sale at your store, it's inexpensive to boot. Very reminiscent of a fillet-o-fish sandwich taste-wise. I'll make this again to be sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2006

      My family was not impressed with this at all. Thank goodness I had fixed other things just in case. The entire casserole tasted like a potato with tarter sauce soup. We ended up throwing it out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2005

      Gotta tell you, I've had fish sticks in my freezer for 3 weeks and the kids turned up their noses at them...UNTIL I made this recipe tonight! All 3 of my kids absolutely devoured it, and fought for the seconds! Amazing! I even tried to steal a helping to take to work as leftovers tomorrow, but got "voted out!" Excellent, Kelly! Thank you so much for posting! This IS a keeper in my family! Stacy :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2004

      This site gets all five stars. You are the "one stop shopping" in the recipe world. I have located each and everyone of my ingredients in many different recipes. I will never go elseswhere!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2004

      When I made this recipe for my family, I had to come up with something else quickly. No on e in my family would eat it. The entire dish tasted like tarter sauce. For some reason eating potatoes that taste like tarter sauce just seems wrong.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2004

      You wouldn't imagine a fish stick casserole getting five stars, but it earned it. I actually made this as a joke - I couldn't imagine serving a fish stick casserole and the rest of the story isn't even worth telling. However, once made, I was completely shocked at how good it was. I used dill relish instead of sweet relish and it tasted very much like a fish filet sandwich. I'll definitely be making this again - a new recipe for my comfort food rotation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for "it's a Keeper!" Fish Stick Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (320 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 559.2
     
    Calories from Fat 295
    52%
    Total Fat 32.8 g
    50%
    Saturated Fat 11.4 g
    57%
    Cholesterol 67.0 mg
    22%
    Sodium 1405.5 mg
    58%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.4 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 6.5 g
    26%
    Protein 18.3 g
    36%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites