21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

2AM, Soho, London. The party is over, and just the right few remain, and all pretension is out the window. I Googled what I had in the fridge, and this recipe topped the list. Now I plan evenings around this gap just so I can make it. It reminds me of recipes I made before moving from the South (Alabama, Georgia) only I would have used Velveeta instead of non-processed cheese. Wildflower, are you originally a Southerner? Got me ready to revisit Geneva and Savannah! Thank you so much for this recipe, and flashback.
Have made several times, and is a weekend regular in my home.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RealDanielLee March 06, 2011

Had out-of-town family with young children staying with us over the weekend. Thought this would be something the youngsters would like. They did and the adults didn't mind it either. I used a coarse-grind spicy mustard and added ~1 tsp salt and 1/2 tsp pepper to the potato mixture. Very creamy and paired well with the crispy, crusty fish on top. Could play around with seasonings for a more adult palate. As is, definitely a kid pleaser. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' January 27, 2015

This is a winner around my house. We'll all eat it and it's very inexpensive to make! I never use the cream of cheese soup because it has so many calories. I use 98% fat free chicken soup and lite mayo and we like it fine in a monthly rotation. DH doesn't LOVE it but he'll eat it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
D2thaK October 30, 2011

Several reason I only rated this with 3 stars..... it was much too rich for my taste. Too much mayonaise taste in it. If I make again I will cut down to 1/2 cup it is moist enough to be able to do that. I also need to cook it on 400 in my oven, was not that hot after 40 minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
True Texas March 29, 2011

Wasn't great but wasn't horrible. I would have rather just fried the fish sticks and made french fries personally. I recommend adding more fishsticks or less potato.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef LiLNascar June 06, 2010

I understand that Wildflour does not think that the casserole is as good without full fat mayo. However, I made it reduced calorie and it was quite delicious. I used 1/2 c. Kraft Olive Oil Mayonnaise w/ 1/2 c. plain fat free yogurt, 98% fat free cream of chicken soup, and used only the 4 oz. (1 cup) shredded cheese on top. (The potatoes and quite cheesy from the cheddar cheese soup.) This reduced the calories per serving to 350, and the fat to 15.5 grams. The sodium was also reduced by 415 mg. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe with us Wildflour!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kssonrisa October 15, 2009

This was great!! Kinda tasted like potato salad mixed together with fish sticks. My husband said twice how much he liked it, which is a rarity. Just a few substitutions: frozen french fries in place of hashbrowns, 3-cheese ranch dressing in place of cheddar soup, diced dill pickle instead of relish, and onion powder instead of real onion. My only other recommendation would be to mix the wet ingredients, pickles, and cheese together before adding the potatoes. Will definitely make again--thank you!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crystal W May 12, 2009

My kids love this recipe... My 14 year old son (who doesn't like casseroles) keeps asking me to make this. He rates it 5 stars. It is very easy to make. The only thing I do differently is that I sprinkle the cheese on in the last 5-10 minutes, otherwise it is too brown. Personally, I give it a 3... it tastes like fish sticks and mustard potatoe salad. I think it is more of a kids recipe. Which is very nice when you want raves from your kids.:) Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stanzacp January 27, 2009

It's a keeper, for sure!! While my kids love fish sticks, I am always looking for a new way to use & serve food, this recipe fits the bill. They loved it!! I'm sure it will become a regular request at our house. Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookin'forusinTN November 06, 2008

I'm not going to put any stars because I don't want to mess up the rating, and I changed an ingredient so it could be all my fault that it didn't turn out well. We didn't have any cheddar cheese soup, so I melted 8 ounces of velveeta cheese with 2 ounces of half and half and subbed it for the soup. This is the first thing I've made in a long time that we didn't keep the leftovers. I had such high hopes, but I don't think I could even get the kids to taste it if I made it again. I don't want to discourage anyone from trying it though, so please, try it as written instead of making the mistake I did!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ColCadsMom April 02, 2008
"it's a Keeper!" Fish Stick Casserole