Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Italian White Lasagna Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Italian White Lasagna

    Average Rating:

    36 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 36

    Sort by:

    • on January 25, 2003

      This is an awesome meal! I'm picky about my pasta, but this is just absolutely great. The unique cheese sauce just absolutely made this great! I used heavy cream instead of light cream, because it was all I had on hand. The gouda cheese I had was in slices, so I cut the slices into smaller sections before I tossed them into the sauce. I wasn't able to find "cream-style" cottage cheese, so I just used small curd. Also, not quite sure which size "carton" would be recommended, so I used 1/2 of the one I had. Also, the mozzarella slices I put on top of the dish made it more difficult to cut through come dinner time. I think next time I"ll use shredded mozzarella. I needed to cover mine with foil towards the end, also, for fear it'd burn. Really and truly, this is an awesome meal! Thanks for sharing it! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2008

      I changed out sauteed shrimp for the ground beef, and added mushrooms in with the onions. I also added lemon to the cream and cream cheese I pureed the cottage cheese and egg, to make it pourable, and added parsley. I used Cheddar and Gruyere cheeses. We loved it! Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2003

      I made a variation on this recipe to use ingredients I had on hand and was very, very pleased with the results. Instead of celery and onion, I used fresh spinach that I chopped finely in the food processor. I used havarti instead of gouda and grated swiss instead of mozzarella. I had ricotta so I used that instead of the cottage cheese. I was also lazy and used oven ready lasagna noodles. A bit more oregano, lots of garlic, a touch of pepper... Even with all these changes, it turned out just great! What a wonderful change from the regular lasagna!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2011

      Made this with no meat for my first Sunday Dinner, fed 30 people and everyone raved about this recipe....I followed the recipe but used fat free half and half....great taste!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2009

      OOOOMMMMMGGGGGG This was amazing! We love lasagna, and this was a great change! I used small curd cottage cheese, and heavy cream, and sausage rather than beef and it was amazing! Next time I'm thinking about trying it with chicken and penne noodles. YUMMY!!! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      We loved this. Good creamy sauce and very versatile. I used shredded chicken instead of the beef, and made the sauce over penne pasta. I also added fresh broccoli to the onion/celery. I used gouda and cheddar, but only 1/2 cup of each and omitted the mozzarella since I didn't bake it. yummy sauce. Next time I might make it into lasagna!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2008

      I really enjoyed this recipe.. very rich delicious sauce. Next time I won't be making this in lasagne form. I will use penne. My main reasoning for that is just personal taste. I thought it would have been better with out the mozzerella and cottage cheese, just the sauce cooked on the stove. My main veggie was Mushrooms. I think mushrooms and white wine go great together so that was my reasoning for that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2010

      Awesome! I ladled some red sauce on each serving. My guests said it was the best they've ever had! Thanks much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      This was AMAZING!! It's so different from any other lasagna and definitely restaurant quality. I'm a new wife and a not so experienced chef and it truly wasn't hard to make either!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      Very good!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2009

      We really liked the sauce in this recipe! I used Italian mild sausage, but I wish I would have used chicken, I just think that chicken would have worked better for this kind of sauce. You also may want to cover with foil and then uncover the last 10 minutes so the mozzarella dosen't burn, mine had a few burnt spots.( I only left it in the oven for 30min on the 2nd shelf.) Thanks for this unique recipe, we really enjoyed it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2008

      This is a delicious recipe for Lasagna. I made it as stated. It has a great flavor and the gouda is what adds the most. Didn't take long to make and have leftovers for later this week. Do try this delicious lasagna.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2008

      We made this using penne pasta, ground beef/sausage combination, and omitted the cottage cheese/egg mixture. We also added some diced carrots. If you have lots of leftover cheeses in the fridge, it's a great way to use them up. This recipe is packed with flavor!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      Definately a keeper - this was a wonderful recipe. I used shredded chicken instead of the beef, and added in some chopped portabella mushrooms in place of the celery. I didn't have gouda, but used 1/2 C. parmesan/romano blend instead. I used the cheddar and shredded mozz instead of slices. It turned out wonderful, with a great flavor. This recipe went directly into my 'favorites' book. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2008

      I made this with ground beef and a little ground pork. I used pre-shredded cheeses,the gouda and followed recipe otherwise. Very creamy and rich, Mmmmm it was good. Next time I'll try it without meat and instead some shredded veggies and sliced black olives. Great recipe, with many options. Glad I tried it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2007

      I made this recipe for my daughters going away to college dinner, and it was a big hit! I loved the flavors of all the cheeses and the addition of wine in the recipe. This is one recipe I will be adding to my favorites Sharon. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2007

      I made this for my daughter's baptism and forgot to review it. I offered it as an alternative to traditional lasagna. There were no leftovers (I barely got a taste). I substituted Ricotta for the cottage cheese and used shredded Mozzarella in place of the slices. This is a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2007

      Wow. My husband doesn't care for red sauce too much so I tried this and he proclaimed that it's the best lasagna he's ever tasted. I followed the recipe almost to a T. Except when I browned the beef I seasoned it with salt and pepper and added some finely chopped fresh spinach to the brown beef mixture (after the mixture is cooked, since it will cook more in the oven). The only other thing I did differently was adding a thin layer (about a cup) of my own red sauce from earlier this week to try to boost the veggie factor in this recipe, since my red sauce has carrots, bell peppers, celery, mushrooms.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2006

      Oh gosh this is is SO delicious, it's very rich and filling, I used half ground pork and half ground beef, used 1 medium onion, and 2 tablespoons fresh minced garlic in the beef/pork mixture beef and adjusted the herb amounts also... I made this as a take-home meal for my DS who is a lasagna and pasta-lover, he really loved this dish Sharon, thanks for posting another winner hon!...Kitz:)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2006

      Oh man was this a hit. I used fresh herbs, heavy cream, and Fontina instead of Gouda but that was the only changes. I wasn't sure of what size pan and ended up using a deep dish 9X9 casserole pan. I used no bake lasagna noodles and cut them to fit with my kitchen shears. You know what? It worked pretty well! Better than just breaking them to fit! Really nice change from the usual. My kids took what little was left home with them. Will make again. Thanks Sharon123!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Italian White Lasagna

    Serving Size: 1 (405 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1059.4
     
    Calories from Fat 576
    54%
    Total Fat 64.0 g
    98%
    Saturated Fat 37.1 g
    185%
    Cholesterol 256.7 mg
    85%
    Sodium 1882.9 mg
    78%
    Total Carbohydrate 56.5 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    11%
    Sugars 8.6 g
    34%
    Protein 58.4 g
    116%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    gouda cheese

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites