11 Reviews

Thanks for a great recipe! Very hearty, very easy. Instead of using hamburger meat I followed a meatball recipe. I worried that the crushed tomatoes would make it taste ketchup-y, but like another reviewer mentioned, no flavor particularly overpowers another, and yes, this makes a TON of soup, so plan accordingly.

Stay safe out there, Ladderman!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
melilia March 11, 2011

This soup is really outstanding. My family thoroughly enjoyed it and wants me to make it again. I made exactly as stated except I substituted spinach for the escarole. This should satisfy any hungry appetite! Thanks for sharing. Made for Fall PAC 2009.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 September 27, 2009

There was no debate in my mind not to give this recipe 5 stars. I love the no fuss instructions and the simple, but good ingredients. I used a large stock pot and this recipe filled it up. I will have some fantastic leftovers for my freezer. Thanks Ladderman for a delicious quality recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amber of AZ June 22, 2009

Even the "I'm not a soup person" gobbled this delicious soup down! If anyone is wondering what makes it "Firehouse Style", I'll tell ya. It's not a wimpy soup; it's a hearty, meaty, fresh tasting meal. I used chicken, cheese & prosciutto stuffed tortellini & made just as instructed. I was a little nervous about not browning the meatballs first, but in the end it was just fine. I served this to 12 hungry guys playing 9 hours of x-box 360 & it was a big hit. The broth was very tasty; no one flavor overpowered any other & the minimal seasoning (which to me seemed like it was going to be a problem) turned out to be just right. I got comments on how fresh tasting the vegetables were & how great it was that all the different kinds of meat were happily swimming in there together. I highly recommend this soup! Thanks for sharing a great recipe, Ladderman! Made, enjoyed & reviewed for Pick-A-Chef Spring 2008.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Tinkerbell** April 05, 2008

My husband is a firefighter so I had to give this recipe a try :-) It was great. It makes a lot so be sure to invite some friends over. I followed the recipe exactly as stated and had great results.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookingMore@Home December 15, 2014

This was very good. I followed the recipe using homemade broth and adjusting the ingredients for the amount of broth I had. I did add thyme, herbamare seasoning, and several dashes of hot sauce (but that could be because I used homemade broth). I used spinach instead of escarole and diced tomatoes, since that's what I had. Served it with Parmesan. Very Yummy. Thanks so much for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gcharron1 February 22, 2012

I can't believe I forgot to rate this recipe....wanted to make again and had a devil of a time finding it...wonderful soup. Makes a ton but well worth it...much better than other wedding soup recipes I have tried...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CIndytc November 11, 2011

Excellent!!! This was a wonderful hearty soup. It makes a lot so be sure to invite a few friends over. My firefighter husband loved it. Great recipe. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookingMoreAtHome October 31, 2011

Unexpected company? Want to visit? This is a wonderful way to go!!!
I had company arrive and after a quick check of the pantry, put every body to work and in no time we were all set to visit. !!
Thank you for your help !!!
Food was great and company was even better! everybody enjoyed the soup and there was lots to go around!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jill Sherstobitoff March 12, 2011
Italian Wedding Soup Firehouse Style