265 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have never tasted Italian wedding soup before but I did not like it......sorry. I found that the whole soup needed more flavour.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cfletcher September 14, 2013

Awesome! I too browned the meatballs (I actually doubled the meatballs and saved half for spaghetti & MB), added more spinach and some garlic powder. This came together quickly and was very satisfying. I also used Acini De Pepe pasta, which I believe is the traditional pasta for this soup. Thanks for sharing, this one is a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Larawithoutau August 29, 2013

My DH loved this soup. He wanted me to add chicken to it when I told him about the recipe, so I bought a couple of bone in breasts, deboned it and boiled the bones and skin in the broth for added flavor. I also used acini de pepe instead of orzo since we're more used to pastina in our soup. Overall it's a winner. Will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
burghdutchess March 10, 2013

Have always loved Italian Wedding soup, but haven't made it until today. It was absolutely wonderful and so easy to prepare. I made the meatballs as directed and baked them at 350 for 13 minutes. I then blotted the grease. I doubled the recipe and used acini di pepe and added some barley for more fiber about 3/4 cup of both. Also threw in some fresh basil and parsley. It is soooo good. Next time I'll make the meatballs with turkey.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chicagogal March 07, 2013

I liked the meatballs in this soup, but I found the rest of the soup to be bland. I even used homemade chicken broth. There just seemed like there was something missing. Maybe garlic?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scrivener1 February 06, 2013

This was so very tasty. I made it as a part of Family Dinner for my soon to be in-laws & everyone loved it! I thought it was a bit on the salty side & probably didn't add enough spinach (I got tired of ripping out all the stems).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Coraniaid January 24, 2013

I LOVE this soup! Where we differ is I use a 50/50 mix of hot Italian sausage and burger (I double the recipe and make x-tra meatballs for another batch which I freeze) and I use Kale. I really can't anything else other than "YUM"!!!!! Fast and easy to make-thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dib's January 20, 2013

My husband really like it, and so did my daughter (which is a miracle.) I thought it was pretty good... not spectacular though. I'm still giving it 5 stars though due to the reaction it got from my family.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bangkok Betty January 09, 2013

I made this the second time today. I omitted the cilantro because the flavor took over the soup the first time. I used half turkey/half italian sausage for the meat balls the second time and found this a great combo of flavors. As some readers mentioned to cook them slightly first, I cooked them 2 minutes on a Foreman Grill before simmering in the soup. Love that this is so tasty it doesn't need to sit a day and comes together quickly!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dawn2701 December 11, 2012
Italian Wedding Soup