Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Italian Wedding Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Italian Wedding Soup

    Average Rating:

    261 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 261

    Sort by:

    • on February 12, 2012

      My family loved this! It's a keeper for sure--thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2012

      I made this last week and loved it and had to make another batch but this time I doubled the recipe with the exception of the orzo. I like a brothy soup and I felt that the orzo kind of took over the soup so when I made the second batch I doubled everything except I used 1/2 cup of orzo. I also tweaked the meatball recipe by adding fresh chopped garlic and instead of onion powder fresh chopped onion.
      I didn't cook my meatballs prior (as some reviewers said they had). I felt that by allowing the meatballs to cook in the soup (as the recipe suggests) it would also add a good amount of flavor. I also opted for spinach instead of escarole. The soup is delicious and super easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2011

      This recipe is the best! I make this on the average once a month or every other month. It is the best! The flavor from the meatballs is fantastic! this is definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2011

    • on December 06, 2011

      Hmm, this was not bad. I read a few reviews and added garlic to both meatballs and the broth. I also browned the meatballs beforehand and made them of both beef and mild italian sausage. So, next time, I would also add pepper to the meatballs or do spicy Italian sausage. I used frozen spinach which was fine. I think too that I would like to do tiny meatballs and brown them well. I will definitely make again aand play a little to see what I like. Thanks for sharing, I'd never had this soup before!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2011

      Love the recipe, but of course, I had to add garlic and a little white wine to the mix. the "prep time" of 5 minutes is nuts... unless a little fairy has chopped your veggies, beaten your eggs and rolled your meatballs for you... but I'm sure that was just to get it to the top of the sort when folks are looking for a short "time to make". Made a batch for 15 for our partners... they loved it. One mistake though... if making ahead, DO NOT add the pasta in ahead... do it just before serving. I should have known better but I was very tired when I made it. I also took Christina1's advice and added fresh sage. All in all a good call.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2011

      This was a great soup. The only thing I did different was to place spinach in the bottom of our bowls and place the hot soup on top to wilt it. It turned out perfect! Will be making again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2011

      ii doubled the recipe, using boullion instead of stock, used frozen spinach, added a little spicy italian turkey sausage, and put it in my crockpot for a few hours while i ran my son to karate and did other things, (i also cooked the pasta seperately since i wanted to freeze the extra). I served this with a salad and multiseed rolls http://www.food.com/recipe/multiseeded-multigrain-bread-or-rolls-328008 a very excellent meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2011

      Delish! Made this for dinner tonight and my husband and I loved it! Great flavor and the meatballs were so tender1 I will definitly make this again in the near future...espically on the cold fall and winter nights!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2011

      This was very good but oily. Since the meat doesn't get cooked before adding to the soup, it is very important to get lean meat. We doubled the pasta and used two carrots. Great soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2011

      I'm having trouble with this review as I feel it's mainly personal taste that goes with it. I've never had Italian Wedding soup so really have nothing to compare it to, but wanted to try it as I've heard so much about it. It was simple and easy and DH said he liked it but it just didn't have that much flavor for me, kind of bland - but like I said I feel it's probably personal taste and maybe what this type of soup is supposed to be. I used homemade chicken stock and then made 2 changes that I don't think would make a lot of differance but then again maybe it did. After doing the meatballs put everything in the crockpot for 4 hours on low and second - couldn't find orzo pasta in my little town so used pearl pasta. Other than that followed the directions. Served with a fresh garden salad and a glass of white wine and it did make for a nice light dinner. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2011

      A new favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2011

      This was delicious! I doubled the recipe, omitted the carrots and used grated onion (about 1/2 small onion) in the meatballs instead of onion powder. I also added fresh parsley to the meatball mixture. I will DEFINITELY make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2011

    • on February 17, 2011

    • on December 20, 2010

      Didn't think it was great. Used 1/2 ground Sirloin and half turkey.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      This was ok. The meatballs were ok, but we thought they needed more seasoning...or maybe be made out of part Italian sausage. I also thought the broth could have used some type of seasoning too. We enjoyed it...it just wasn't 5 star.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2010

      This was good but a bit bland for our tastes... it is a great starting point, but I need to adjust it a bit for my family... The meatballs were outstanding though! I will use this meatball recipe in other dished...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2010

      This soup makes me wish I had grown up with an Italian grandmother so I could have enjoyed this all my life. I actually didn't know what Italian wedding soup was until I moved to the midwest several years ago but once I tried it, I was hooked. This is a beautiful recipe. I doubled it as I knew we would be licking the bowl if I didn't. Only change I made was to add some minced garlic and I used half ground pork and half ground beef for the meatballs and took the advice of other reviewers and browned them before adding to the soup. This will be a regular in our household. Thanks for sharing this lovely recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2010

      Excellent and simple to make! Next time, I will double the recipe and have some ready for the freezer! Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Italian Wedding Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (486 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 294.9
     
    Calories from Fat 89
    30%
    Total Fat 9.9 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 84.4 mg
    28%
    Sodium 1213.9 mg
    50%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.4 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 2.6 g
    10%
    Protein 24.6 g
    49%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites