265 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Amazing. It turned out perfectly. I used chopped onions in the meatballs instead of onion powder. And fresh basil too. Sooooo good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sn00zer November 08, 2013

This soup, when prepared as instructed, is amazing. For those of you unsatisfied with the flavor, but who decided to pre-cook your meatballs, that's the reason. The meat adds a crisp, succulent flavor when cooked in the broth. It adds all the flavor of the soup via the seasonings in the meat along with the fat. Sure, it's not as healthy with all that yummy fat floating on top, but it sure is wonderful. <br/><br/>This soup was a big hit for the family I cook for 5 days a week, and they have requested it monthly. I served it with cheddar garlic biscuits, and a light salad. Well done, LikeItLoveIt.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tomsfoolery74 August 11, 2013

I love this soup! Now I have a lot of people making it. I use Ground Turkey instead since it's lower in fat and a bit more healthier.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MichelleLA July 13, 2011

I would like to give it 4 1/2 stars if I could. It was really good. For the meatballs I used a mixture of ground beef and ground Italian sausage and added garlic (doesn't everything Italian need- wait.. make that, doesn't everything need garlic!) and fresh finely chopped onion. I also added a bit of garlic and onion to the stock. Other then that and the frozen spinach I used, I followed the recipe. It was really good and I will make this again. If I use sausage again, I will bake them a bit to render off some of the fat!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kda949 February 21, 2011

This soup was part of an Italian gourmet pre-Valentine's day dinner. It was truly amazing. I will add onions and celery next time as stock was a bit bland. Really had hubby convinced I slaved away at the stove all day.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crazee4cookin February 13, 2011

Easy and quick soup. I made half a recipe and turned out great.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound February 12, 2011

This was a great use of my homemade broth! Very quick to put together. I would have liked have used the escarole but my grocery store only had spinach. I used star pasta for my toddler :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommymakeit4u November 26, 2010

Really good! I can't speak for the seasoning or lack thereof, since I used premade meatballs from the store that had some spice in them. They were very mildly seasoned, but it was definitely enough for the soup. Will make again, thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cautious_cook October 08, 2010

We had this tonight for supper as it was a cold rainy day. So good. I used some smoked turkey broth from my freezer in place of the chicken broth and subbed in some collard greens in place of the spinach but otherwise followed the recipe. We loved it. Very easy to prepare and the flavor was wonderful. Thank you so much for sharing this with us.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour September 25, 2010

Delicious and easy to make. A hit with the family!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
grinwaldn September 05, 2010
Italian Wedding Soup