Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Italian Wedding Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Italian Wedding Soup

    Average Rating:

    264 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 264

    Sort by:

    • on November 08, 2013

      Amazing. It turned out perfectly. I used chopped onions in the meatballs instead of onion powder. And fresh basil too. Sooooo good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2013

      This soup, when prepared as instructed, is amazing. For those of you unsatisfied with the flavor, but who decided to pre-cook your meatballs, that's the reason. The meat adds a crisp, succulent flavor when cooked in the broth. It adds all the flavor of the soup via the seasonings in the meat along with the fat. Sure, it's not as healthy with all that yummy fat floating on top, but it sure is wonderful. <br/><br/>This soup was a big hit for the family I cook for 5 days a week, and they have requested it monthly. I served it with cheddar garlic biscuits, and a light salad. Well done, LikeItLoveIt.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2011

      I love this soup! Now I have a lot of people making it. I use Ground Turkey instead since it's lower in fat and a bit more healthier.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2011

      I would like to give it 4 1/2 stars if I could. It was really good. For the meatballs I used a mixture of ground beef and ground Italian sausage and added garlic (doesn't everything Italian need- wait.. make that, doesn't everything need garlic!) and fresh finely chopped onion. I also added a bit of garlic and onion to the stock. Other then that and the frozen spinach I used, I followed the recipe. It was really good and I will make this again. If I use sausage again, I will bake them a bit to render off some of the fat!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2011

      This soup was part of an Italian gourmet pre-Valentine's day dinner. It was truly amazing. I will add onions and celery next time as stock was a bit bland. Really had hubby convinced I slaved away at the stove all day.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2011

      Easy and quick soup. I made half a recipe and turned out great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2010

      This was a great use of my homemade broth! Very quick to put together. I would have liked have used the escarole but my grocery store only had spinach. I used star pasta for my toddler :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2010

      Really good! I can't speak for the seasoning or lack thereof, since I used premade meatballs from the store that had some spice in them. They were very mildly seasoned, but it was definitely enough for the soup. Will make again, thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2010

      We had this tonight for supper as it was a cold rainy day. So good. I used some smoked turkey broth from my freezer in place of the chicken broth and subbed in some collard greens in place of the spinach but otherwise followed the recipe. We loved it. Very easy to prepare and the flavor was wonderful. Thank you so much for sharing this with us.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2010

      Delicious and easy to make. A hit with the family!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2010

      Great soup!! I added some extra spices to the broth of it, but great start and awesome meatballs! will def make again!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2010

      I made this for my family on a cold night & it went over well. Everyone loved it. Especially my youngest . Pretty easy to make too. I started to cook my meat balls in a pan before adding to the soup, but ended up just putting the others in the soup. It was too messy for me to do that. I should have baked them & will try that next time. Thanks for a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2010

      FANTASTIC! The hubs who claims that "soup is not a meal" and begrudgingly allows Thursdays to be "soup night" declared that this was his "favorite soup, a special treat, very filling, and fancy looking"! I had absolutely no pasta of any kind on hand so I used rice, which I'm sure makes it not actual "Italian Wedding Soup" anymore but it was still amazing. Thank you for inspiring our wonderful family dinner!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2008

      First time making Italian wedding soup. It turned out great. I baked my meatballs at 350 for about 13 min. I doubled the recipe and there was none left!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2007

      This was okay. I used spinach, and subbed elk for the beef, so I wouldn't have to run to the store. I also added garlic and Italian seasoning to the broth, and the soup still turned out surprisingly bland. I think if I made this again, I would brown the meatballs first to seal in some flavor and juices as they seemed to have lost any they might have had. Overall, it wasn't bad, but not great either. We were disappointed after all the rave reviews. Sorry.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2004

      This soup was absolutely awesome. I browned the meatballs first then added to soup. Also added minced garlic to meatballs. Used frozen spinach instead, but will try fresh next time. Simmered for 15 min. before adding the orzo.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2003

      I made this recipe for my weekly soup lunch and the ladies went crazy for it. I used the small end of a melon baller to make the meatballs. I did roll them a bit. I did brown them before adding to the soup. I did use escarole (never used it, and wanted to say that I've used it). I was asked MANY times over to share the recipe. I made up everything the night before, execept adding the orzo. At work the next day, I let the soup get nice and hot, and then about an hour before serving time, I added the orzo pasta. (I used my Nesco roaster to heat in order to be able to control the temperature better. Thank you so much for posting this delicious soup.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2003

      I was not sure if you should brown the meatballs first or what so I just dropped them into some really good, homemade stock that was boiling. I also added garlic to the meatballs. This soup is fantastic. We really enjoyed it. I used more spinach than the recipe called for because I had it and did not waste to waste it. Good stuff.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2003

      I used 1 lb of lean ground beef, made the meatballs 1/2 inch, and browned on broiler pan. Two cans of chicken broth plus 2 cans of water, is close to the 5 3/4 cups called for in the recipe. Added 1/2 tsp. dried parsley. Double the recipe if your family loves soup!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2014

      Easy to make and absolutely delicious. My 85-yr-old mother loved it - "this is a real delicacy," she said, and my somewhat finicky 11-yr-old daughter gave it a "hashtag delicious" so you know that's awesome. Perfect for a cold, windy evening.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Italian Wedding Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (486 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 294.9
     
    Calories from Fat 89
    30%
    Total Fat 9.9 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 84.4 mg
    28%
    Sodium 1213.9 mg
    50%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.4 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 2.6 g
    10%
    Protein 24.6 g
    49%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes