Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Italian Wedding Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Italian Wedding Soup

    Average Rating:

    263 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 263

    Sort by:

    • on November 14, 2001

      I made this recipe yesterday for a client and it turned out yummy! So good that I am making it for my husband and myself tonight! I did make a few changes - I kind of combined two recipes where I made my own stock at the beginning by simmering chicken stock with carrots, herbs, celery and onions. And, I added fresh chopped sage and lemon juice to the meatballs and sauteed them in a dry frying pan just until they were browned to give them a more pleasing color. Then I added them to the broth with the spinach (used frozen chopped) and orzo (I just love orzo). I also added crushed tomatoes, fresh minced garlic, lemon juice and parmesan cheese at the very end and simmered for another 5 minutes or so. Made garlic parmesan toast to go along with it. I love the recipe - and am so glad I found it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2002

      Very good. I have also made this with italian sausage and the longer you let it simmer the better the flavor. Wonderful taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2001

      I must give this recipe 5 stars! It is delicious! I did brown the meat balls before adding to the soup and added extra onion powder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2002

      I used the tips from Christina1 when I made this wonderful soup! Except I didnt use orzo (because I couldnt find it at the market), I used capelli d' angelo instead, a few cloves minced fresh garlic and some chives... it turned out fantastic! I also browned the meatballs, but used a full pound of ground beef instead. This is a nice example of a recipe you can play with!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2002

      This soup is incredibly easy and delicious! My husband asked me to make some of this soup, and he had three bowls! I couldn't get him to stop! In fact, I have 1/2 lb. of hamburg left over, and he's asked me to make it again tonight! I'll most definitely be making this regularly for my family! By the way, I used frozen chopped spinach, and added a couple cloves minced garlic, and some black pepper. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2003

      My honey asked me to make this. He ate two bowls! I added garlic and parmesan cheese to the meat balls and browned them first. Served with a crusty frech bread for a great dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2003

      I made this for dinner last night, while my husband was at a special dinner with friends. He sampled some later that evening, then had me make a new batch today! He and my daughter really love this soup. I used spinach. Love the colors of spinach and carrots in this! Very tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2003

      I made this soup for my DH and DD per their request for Italian Wedding soup just like they used to get at a deli near work. I used escarole and also browned the meatballs before putting them in the broth. Both enjoyed the soup and said it was better than the deli version.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2002

      I made this for my wife and I last night. We both found this soup wounderful. Was a big change from the style of cooking I normaly do. I am normaly cooking up the spicy stuff, but this was nice for a change.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2003

      I love Italian Wedding Soup and this is the first time I have tried making it myself, but it won't be the last! This was great! I used spinach in mine and it turned out just delicious, even better than East Side Mario's!! Thanks so much for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2003

      This was pretty good. I too pre cooked the meat balls before adding in the to other ingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2003

      I had the idea to make this soup when Campbell's came out with their version. It tastes wonderful! I used ground turkey instead of ground beef to decrease the amount of fat! Yummy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2010

      We really liked this soup! So easy to throw together, I used thawed frozen spinach and it turned out great! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2010

      Great hearty simple soup....BBF thought the broth needed more flavor so I added some pepper and lemon juice to up the taste. Thanks for a new quick healthy dinner for the cold nights coming soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2010

      Great tasting meatballs! To save prep. time I diced baby carrots, no peeling required.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2011

      YUM! After reading many reviews, I decided to cook my meatballs in the oven before adding them to the soup. I used one frozen 10oz pkg spinach and it was maybe slightly too much, but that was my fault. Overall it turned out great. I will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2010

      simple and delish, followed it exact except I used ground chicken and a bit more bread crumbs. thanks for this one everyone loved it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      My husband gave it a 5+ star(something he does very little with new dishes), I would of also given it a 5 star if I had not altered it as much because the broth lacked a little bit of flavor. I made the meat mixture with 1/2 lb ground beef and 1/2 lb ground pork. I used a lemon baller to measure out the meat balls. Also added 2 tbspns half/half, dash of paprika, cumin, pepper, and salt. I think that these extra seasonings gave the broth a nice subtle flavor which in the end we enjoyed very much. I will be making again, with the new changes. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2003

      This was okay, but I think the meatballs definitely need to be browned first and put in the soup just long enough to heat them through. The boiled meat didn't look appetising in the soup and it also released a lot of fat into the soup, which I had to spend ages skimming off. The overall flavour was good though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2013

      Hearty and warming. Simple flavors combined to make a wonderful soup. Made my meatballs a little too big...about 1/2", next time will try to make them 1/4". Thanks for the wonderful recipe! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 14

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Italian Wedding Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (486 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 294.9
     
    Calories from Fat 89
    30%
    Total Fat 9.9 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 84.4 mg
    28%
    Sodium 1213.9 mg
    50%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.4 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 2.6 g
    10%
    Protein 24.6 g
    49%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites