Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Italian Turkey Sausage and Peppers With Bow Tie Pasta Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Italian Turkey Sausage and Peppers With Bow Tie Pasta

    Average Rating:

    38 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 38

    Sort by:

    • on November 12, 2002

      PanNan this is absolutely wonderful! I had to use dried basil but the flavors were still great! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2003

      Spices are everything and this recipe falls in that catagory. Very easy and quick. I will make again maybe with some chicken breast. Loved it thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2013

      Have been making this recipe for quite awhile now...my husband LOVES IT! I'm always trying to sneak more vegetables into everything, so I double all the veggies and add mushrooms (and if I'm in a rush, just buy those precut packages of onion and pepper strips for fajitas!). Due to me misreading the recipe the first time I made it, we use the "hot" full-size turkey sausages--I squeeze the sausages out of the casings and crumble and brown them. I've told my husband what the original recipe recommended...but he won't let me try it--he says my "mistake" is too good to mess with!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2012

      Wow!! Great flavors, such a nice change from marinara or alfredo. Could not stop eating this, and can't wait for the leftovers at lunch tomorrow. thanks for sharing!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2012

      Made this last night and my family loved it! I used Italian pork sausage that I had in the freezer and since I didn't have bowtie pasta I used penne. When I was getting all the ingredients together I realized that I didn't have diced tomatoes but I had sauce I had made earlier in the week so I substituted 1 1/2 cups of sauce for the diced tomatoes and it was perfect. I also added 1/2 cup grated pecorino romano cheese because as my son says "you can never have too much cheese". Thank you for a quick recipe that tastes great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2012

      DELICIOUS! I needed a quick recipe that didn't require thawing out meat for hours! This was PERFECT!

      I did make a few changes: I chose the veggie farfalli (aka bow-tie) pasta. I used 4 Italian CHICKEN Sausage links and 3 Sweet Italian chicken sausage links. I went heavier on the red pepper (about 4 teaspoons), and heavier on the garlic About (4 teaspoons). I also used diced canned tomatoes with garlic! I love garlic. I used the basil paste, because the store was out of fresh basil. This recipe was a pleasant surprise, and i will definitely make again! DO NOT leave out the Red Wine Vinegar! It MAKES this dish!

      I WILL be making again! Thanks PanNan!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2011

    • on October 26, 2011

      This is a very nice change from regular pasta and sauce. We really enjoyed it and the red wine vinegar gave it the right amount of "zip". I followed the recipe as written and will make this again. Thank you for sharing a lovely pasta dish. Carole in Orlando

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2010

      I reeeeeally liked this. I used turkey kielbasa, but look forward to trying it with Italian style turkey sausage. It was fine with dried basil, and you HAVE to use the red wine vinegar--totally made the dish. I like that it's heavier on the vegetables than most Italian pasta fare. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2010

      We really enjoyed this dish. I used penne pasta and a little less red wine vinegar. Also added parmesan cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2010

      We really enjoyed this. I made it with pork Italian sausage from our local farmer's market, cut into 1/2 inch chunks and then browned. I used a 28 ounce can of diced tomatoes instead of 14 ounce and sauteed the onions a while before adding the peppers so that the peppers were still crunchy when I started the simmering process. Will definitely make this again many times.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      Made this recipe tonight for the first time. My family loved it. I cut up the sausage and added it right to the pan with the veggies. I also used 2 roma tomatoes diced, instead of the canned. I had a bag of Trader Joe's sliced 3 bell peppers, so I used half a bag of that. Also used the feta on top. For the red wine vinegar I used half the amount it called for & I added a splash of red wine. Thanks for the great idea.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      Followed recipe excactly, except for using chopped roma tomatoes from the garden and a little water. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2009

      We loved this meal! I used fresh peppers, basil and oregano from our garden. And I used whole wheat penne pasta. Thank you for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2009

    • on March 01, 2009

      This was really good! I used whole wheat penne instead of bow ties, also used half a red pepper plus half of a yellow pepper. The vinegar was new to me and had an interesting flavor, next time I think I will add a little red wine to the sauce as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2008

      Pretty darn good! We omitted the green pepper and used tofu sausage; upped the red pepper flakes (love spicy) and used balsamic instead of red wine vinegar. Took MeccaJean's suggestion and added some feta as well. This was a very tasty dish that received high marks all around the table. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2008

      Delicious! Great flavor. Real Italian. I would use about 1/4t. of red pepper flakes, if any at all. (I substituted penne & gemelli since I didn't have bowtie on hand.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2008

      Fabulous! And so easy! I used frozen peppers/onions and that made it even easier. Will definitely be part of my regular repetoire. I was out of oregano, so I substitued Italian seasoning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2008

      I loved this! I made a few changes just to use what I had on hand. I only had lean italian pork sausage so I used that instead of turkey. I removed the sausages from the casings, crumbled them and browned them first and let them drain on papertowel. I then added the vegetables and contined with the rest of the recipe as written. I thought I had a can of tomatoes which I found out last minute I didn't so I used about 2 cups of plain canned tomato sauce instead. Turned out delicious!! I will try it next time with turkey sausage and tomatoes as directed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Italian Turkey Sausage and Peppers With Bow Tie Pasta

    Serving Size: 1 (249 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 502.9
     
    Calories from Fat 175
    34%
    Total Fat 19.5 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 107.2 mg
    35%
    Sodium 1061.0 mg
    44%
    Total Carbohydrate 55.5 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 5.7 g
    22%
    Sugars 10.1 g
    40%
    Protein 26.7 g
    53%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites