8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are dagwood-sized when you build them and surprisingly tasty. I wasn't sure how I'd like the tuna/egg combo but it worked out very well. used kaiser rolls for one sandwich and then had it 'deconstructed' with no bread as a salad. I liked the sandwich version a little better. DH like dit too and it was more than substantial enough for a summer's dinner. I used water-packed tuna by preference, curly Italian parsely by necessity and upped the garlic 'casue I can't help myself! lol

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ma Field June 26, 2008

For being quick, this sure was full of flavor! I served this on a warm onion and poppyseed bagel and used calamata olives. I didn't really measure anything else, just tossed it all together. I have never tried olives with my tuna salad sandwiches before but it certainly went well here. I would make this again, just as I did today! I do think I would make ahead and let the tuna mingle with the dressing. I didn't eat the egg on mine but DH enjoyed them. Made for ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke the Cook in WI June 23, 2008

Oh.... so, so good. I LOVE the addition of the parsley, lemon and thyme to the rest of the dressing! (So fresh!) I unfortunately did not have any anchovy or snow peas (dread!) but I am sure they would have been wonderful additions to this already perfect sandwich!!! A great recipe, NcMysteryShopper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hollyfrolly January 20, 2008

Went looking for a different way to serve tuna sandwiches and tried this one. My DH kept saying "what a great flavor for tuna" He's right. This was fabulous. Thank you soooo much for sharing. Even though I didn't have black olives or anchovy fillets, it came out perfect and made a wonderful summer meal served with fruit salad. This was awesome, can't say enough good things about it. Deserves more than 5 stars. It is now copied to my cookbook and I will, for certain, make it again. Thanks. Rewards to you from Angelcook, Manvel, Texas

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angelcook June 04, 2007

This is a spec sandwich! At 1st glance, I thot the ingredient combo a little strange, but all the parts work to make the whole a true winner! I searched in vain for anchovies, did not succeed & had to leave them out. The snow peas I used seemed very thin, so I opted not to blanch them & loved the crunch they added. I made the sandwich w/over-sized sesame hamb buns & served it w/fresh fruit for a great meal! I do not often find a recipe I would not dare tweak, but this is 1 of those. Thx for sharing this keeper recipe w/us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twissis January 22, 2007

What a sandwich! The crunch of the snow peas is delicious and when combined with the olive dressing it is super. I let off the anchovy fillets and added a little additional garlic. The rolls were freshly purchased Kaiser Rolls. This made a delicious easy Friday night dinner served with oven potato wedges.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG January 12, 2007

This is a terrific sandwich. I used the anchovies and they added a lovely note of salty goodness. The crunch of the snow peas (I used them without blanching so they wouldn't soften) was a much enjoyed addition and not one you normally find is a sannie. Down side is that the only tuna available to me is the water packed sort so I drizzled a bit of olive oil over the tuna. I'm sure it's not the same but I gave it the best shot I could. The hard cooked eggs were interesting and they went very well with the rest of the ingredients. All in all it's a winner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia January 03, 2007

My DH and I loved this! I used sub rolls and toasted them. I opted to leave out the anchovies. I loved the flavor of the lemon and olive oil. I put a little mayo and mustard on the buns. Thank you Cheryl!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 August 13, 2006
Italian Tuna Salad Sandwiches W/ Black Olive Dressing