Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Italian Tri-Color Cookies (Rainbow Cookies) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Italian Tri-Color Cookies (Rainbow Cookies)

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on November 08, 2010

      {As you can guess, I wrote the previous review of these cookies (username FairyCakes) and I had to change my name because food.com would not allow me to change my password. I had to make an entirely new account }
      UPDATE on this recipe. I made these cookies again and I have some suggestions. I used a different type of almond paste (Odense brand) and these cookies came out inferior to the ones I made with Solo brand. The flavor was lacking in all areas especially in the almond flavor. The product was not old. In fact it expires two years from now. Also, Odense was too hard and even when I pulsed it in a blender, the cooked cookies revealed large chunks of paste. This was very disappointing. Please consider using Solo brand almond paste and using the entire 8 oz. even though this recipe calls for 7 oz. Also, I substituted cake flour and the cookies were almost doubled in height and much moister. A few people have commented that their cookies were sort of thin and they wish they were a little taller. Try this tip. It might work for you. Okay...that's all! Happy baking everyone. Have fun.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2011

      The cookies came out great my grandma would be so proud.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2010

      absolutely perfect! 100%..... mmmmmm

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2010

      These cookies are simply DIVINE! Nobody believed that I had actually made them. They thought I bought them at a bakery. Actually, they told me that mine tasted better than authentic Italian bakery cookies. My husband keeps on talking about the cookies and is begging me to make them again. They are super easy to make.
      I altered the recipe a little bit. I actually made a chocolate layer by adding cocoa powder and it made the layer significantly thicker without sacrificing flavor or texture. I also changed the color to suit a Halloween theme by making one layer orange, another yellow and the other natural chocolate color (from the cocoa powder). I also used Smart Balance butter instead of real butter because I wanted a low fat version. Honestly, I don't believe anyone knew the difference. The cookies came out amazing! The only part I had difficulty with is the chocolate topping. My chocolate did not melt well with the Smart Balance because there wasn't enough fat content I suppose. The chocolate didn't spread well and next time I make these I will actually use real butter for the top or I will use Crisco.
      Cutting these cookies are also easy. I was afraid I would mess up so bad but I used a long, serrated knife and it was a breeze.
      If you have someone to impress, MAKE THESE COOKIES!! Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2011

      Thank you so much for posting this! I unfortunately don't have my Grandmother's recipe for these cookies, but thanks to you I was able to make them last Christmas for my family. They came out perfect! Just like Grandma's. I made my father so proud by making these and can't wait to make them again this Christmas!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2011

      I too found this recipe in Good housekeeping mag.in 2001 I've been makeing these ever since then, everyone LOVES them, however I have tweeked this to be my own, here are a couple things I have done a little differnet...the apricot perserves I put in a food processer, I only put enough on each layer to use it as a glue to hole it all together..and I only put enough chocolate on top to cover (Not too thick) when I'm ready to cut them, I take it out of the fridge & leave it on the counter for about 45 minutes, this way when you cut them the chocolate doesn't crack

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2010

      I can't thank you enough for this recipe!! All of my Italian friends and family went crazy for them...and they look so pretty! Reading the recipe is daunting, however they are quite easy to make. I also used yellow food coloring for the untinted layer. Thank you!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2009

      This recipe is totally easy! When I do it again, I will use 3 cookie sheets as opposed to 3-8x8 pans so that I can make even more! Also, the batter didn't make the layers as thick as I wanted so I will add a little extra to each batter to make an overall thicker cookie. I think I will try using Nutella for the top to give it a little something extra! It is amazing how the wax paper and flour just lets the cake pop off - I was afraid of it sticking. Amazing recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2009

      I've been using this recipe for a couple of years now and I get loads of compliments every time!! Everyone that's had one of these cookies can't believe that it's homemade. thanks italianmomof2!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      This was the best recipe i have found. They were delicious and just like the bakery ones i buy at the italian pastery store.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2008

      Thank you so much for this recipe. My daughter loves this cookie and it is not sold where we live now in Hendersonville. They are not difficult to make and we enjoy them.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2008

      Great Cookie! These taste just like an Italian Bakery's. I also used yellow food coloring to the third batter. Everybody LOVES LOVES these cookies!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2008

      Awesome. One of the best I've made and sooo easy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2013

      ok! Everyone was saying how great these were and i am USUALLY a great baker but mine were FLAT? i dont know...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2013

      I have made these many many times since finding your recipe and everyone just LOVES them!! I switch out the flour with a gluten free flour with no problems at all.I also just spray my pans with pam instead of using wax paper or parchment paper and again no problems there.That's just a step that can be eliminated.Thank you for sharing your recipe with us.My aunt use to make these when I was a child and I am sure she is proud that I now make them too :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2012

      I used this recipe for a family party and everyone LOVED them! I made a few changes to it though. I had to use Solo paste because it was all my store had at the time, so I added an extra half teaspoon of almond extract. I also Polaner's seedless Raspberry Fruit Spread, and I find that to be a much better flavor than apricot. Just a tip--use 3 of the same size disposable trays, and a kitchen scale to measure out the different layers, it will save you a ton of time. My sister wants me to make an uncut batch for her birthday cake next year!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2012

      These cookies are absolutely delicious! Rainbow cookies are my mom's favorite cookie. When I made these for her she could not stop eating them and was so impressed on how good they came out! Instead of using apricot preserves i used raspberry jelly and they come out perfectly. We will never buy them from a store ever again! Thank you so much for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2012

      I made these for the 4th of July so I did them in red, white and blue....they were a HUGE hit and everybody LOVED them! Delicious!!! I uploaded pic so you can see them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2006

      I love these cookies from the Bakery. I gave this recipe a try to see if they were the same. I served them at Christmas and Everyone Loved them. They are Great! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Italian Tri-Color Cookies (Rainbow Cookies)

    Serving Size: 1 (1143 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 123.0
     
    Calories from Fat 65
    52%
    Total Fat 7.2 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 15.5 mg
    5%
    Sodium 69.9 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.2 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    3%
    Sugars 8.9 g
    35%
    Protein 1.8 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites