9 Reviews

I made as written except minus the red pepper flakes. Went nicely with my pasta dish and Italian bread menu! Loved the flavors and will make again sometime! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherri T Is Me August 25, 2008

I should've read the other reviews before making this. I read through the ingredients knowing it had all the things I love in it without paying close attention to the amounts listed. I was trying to quickly put this salad together so it would have the time to marinate before dinner and didn't realize until I was dumping the 2nd Tbsp of garlic salt in that it was going to be way too much salt! I'm hoping the recipe meant to say 2-3 tsp instead of 2-3 tablespoons. Unfortunately none of my family could stomach this salty salad and ended up having to dump it. That being said, I'm sure this recipe would turn out really nice without so much garlic salt listed. UPDATE: I saw the salt amount was changed and tried this again. It was really nice and tasted great spread over some bread!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Enjolinfam July 24, 2008

delicioso! i used fresh oregano and lime basil from my garden with roma tomatoes. i didnt use as much olive oil as written and only a tiny bit of ground red pepper. served with ciabatta bread, this is great summer food! made for zwt 4

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
superblondieno2 July 07, 2008

Made for ZWT4..This was really good with the last of our homegrown tomatoes. I did use a little regular salt and regular garlic instead of the garlic salt.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queenofcamping July 07, 2008

Made this for DH as he likes onions and tomatoes. I used small tomatoes equivalent to the 4 medium ones asked for and opted out on the pepper flakes and garlic salt. I did get to taste this salad a bit and it was good and healthy with the dressing more to our liking. Thanks for sharing. Made for WZT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pneuma July 06, 2008

I made this using plum 8 tomatoes that I rough chopped. Used 1 teaspoon of seasoned salt and 1/8 teaspoon of my habanero pepper flakes. Served on grilled Cumin Braai Bread rushed with olive oil.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ July 05, 2008

This is wonderful but did need a couple of changes to get it there. I didn't use garlic salt at all, if it needed more garlic I would have used more fresh. I used a good pinch of Kosher Salt in place of the garlic salt. (I only made 1/4 recipe but I wouldn't use more than 1 tsp for a full recipe). I replaced the oregano with fresh rosemary from my garden, yummy. The change I did not intend to make was I forgot to add the olive oil in the last step. Honestly, I didn't miss it until I was doing the review. Next time I make it I will had a splash to see if there is a difference but it was so good as is. I will make this over and over. Thanks so much for sharing your recipe. It worked beautifully for us with just a couple of changes. This was made for ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GaylaV July 04, 2008

This was loved by all. I did cut back on the garlic salt to 2tsp. to suit our tastes. ( I knew just by looking at the amount that the 2-3 would be too salty for us. ) And it was just perfect for us. I will be making this again. Thank you

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MARIA MAC * July 04, 2008

I was really hoping I'd like this recipe, but it just didn't work for me. It was far too salty and garlicky for this amount of tomato and onion. Also, I wasn't sure if the oregano called for was for dried or fresh. If it's for fresh, then it's probably OK, it was far too much for dried, which is what I always use. I think this recipes needs a bit of readjustment.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens July 03, 2008
Italian Tomato Onion Salad