Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Italian Tomato Onion Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Italian Tomato Onion Salad

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on August 25, 2008

      I made as written except minus the red pepper flakes. Went nicely with my pasta dish and Italian bread menu! Loved the flavors and will make again sometime! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2008

      I should've read the other reviews before making this. I read through the ingredients knowing it had all the things I love in it without paying close attention to the amounts listed. I was trying to quickly put this salad together so it would have the time to marinate before dinner and didn't realize until I was dumping the 2nd Tbsp of garlic salt in that it was going to be way too much salt! I'm hoping the recipe meant to say 2-3 tsp instead of 2-3 tablespoons. Unfortunately none of my family could stomach this salty salad and ended up having to dump it. That being said, I'm sure this recipe would turn out really nice without so much garlic salt listed. UPDATE: I saw the salt amount was changed and tried this again. It was really nice and tasted great spread over some bread!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2008

      delicioso! i used fresh oregano and lime basil from my garden with roma tomatoes. i didnt use as much olive oil as written and only a tiny bit of ground red pepper. served with ciabatta bread, this is great summer food! made for zwt 4

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2008

      Made for ZWT4..This was really good with the last of our homegrown tomatoes. I did use a little regular salt and regular garlic instead of the garlic salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2008

      Made this for DH as he likes onions and tomatoes. I used small tomatoes equivalent to the 4 medium ones asked for and opted out on the pepper flakes and garlic salt. I did get to taste this salad a bit and it was good and healthy with the dressing more to our liking. Thanks for sharing. Made for WZT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2008

      I made this using plum 8 tomatoes that I rough chopped. Used 1 teaspoon of seasoned salt and 1/8 teaspoon of my habanero pepper flakes. Served on grilled Cumin Braai Bread rushed with olive oil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2008

      This is wonderful but did need a couple of changes to get it there. I didn't use garlic salt at all, if it needed more garlic I would have used more fresh. I used a good pinch of Kosher Salt in place of the garlic salt. (I only made 1/4 recipe but I wouldn't use more than 1 tsp for a full recipe). I replaced the oregano with fresh rosemary from my garden, yummy. The change I did not intend to make was I forgot to add the olive oil in the last step. Honestly, I didn't miss it until I was doing the review. Next time I make it I will had a splash to see if there is a difference but it was so good as is. I will make this over and over. Thanks so much for sharing your recipe. It worked beautifully for us with just a couple of changes. This was made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2008

      This was loved by all. I did cut back on the garlic salt to 2tsp. to suit our tastes. ( I knew just by looking at the amount that the 2-3 would be too salty for us. ) And it was just perfect for us. I will be making this again. Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2008

      I was really hoping I'd like this recipe, but it just didn't work for me. It was far too salty and garlicky for this amount of tomato and onion. Also, I wasn't sure if the oregano called for was for dried or fresh. If it's for fresh, then it's probably OK, it was far too much for dried, which is what I always use. I think this recipes needs a bit of readjustment.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Italian Tomato Onion Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (103 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 60.7
     
    Calories from Fat 38
    62%
    Total Fat 4.2 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 237.1 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.6 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 2.9 g
    11%
    Protein 0.9 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes