17 Reviews

Great lunch for me today! I skipped the mustard (sorry grey poupon). I used fresh mozzarella cheese and popped this under the broiler for a few minutes to toast it up. Made for the Babes of ZWT4.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim127 June 27, 2008

the dijon added a nice twist to the sub i too put it under broiler ,it just tastes better that way cakepops on parade italian leg of quest easy peazy

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dienia B. August 24, 2014

This is a delicious Italian sub sandwich. DH and I really enjoyed it for a filling lunch. I didn't have a jar of roasted red peppers, but I did have a red ripe poblano pepper from the garden that I roasted and peeled. It added a touch of heat which worked beautifully. Made for Culinary Quest 2014.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PanNan August 24, 2014

Loved it! I love the flavor of Italian dressing on sandwiches, but it always leaks out when eating. Mixing it with the mustard is brilliant! It tasted great and was easy to eat, no mess :) I made the sandwiches up the night before and wrapped them tightly in saran wrap, then put them in a ziplock baggie. Took them in the saddlebags for our horseback ride and they were so good, thank you Lazyme!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
puppitypup May 19, 2012

Teddy's daddy thought this was fantastic "best I've ever had" so.. I gave him mine. He would give it 5 stars and I wouldn't eat it again. BUT perhaps I just don't like Italian Subs, he does. I didn't care for the dijon mustard in it. He really wants one again so I might use ranch dressing or something on mine. Thank you for the recipe! Teddy's Daddy LOVED it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teddy's Mommy May 02, 2009

Now you're talking! That's a sandwich!!! Excellent! Hugs, Jelly :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HotPepperRosemaryJelly April 25, 2009

Delicious!! We really enjoyed these quick, easy, and very flavorful subs. I made as written except that I only made half of the dressing. Also, I sprinkled the sub liberally with fresh, ground black pepper. I got 3 large sandwiches out of the loaf of Italian bread and they were very filling. My family devoured these sandwiches and gave them 2-thumbs up. Thank you for sharing. I will be making this often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bayhill April 25, 2009

Yesterday, Sunday afternoon, before Christmas day was a day we needed to eat exactly this submarine sandwich. The wind was whipping the around the shudders were slamming, but we were toasty inside with these wonderful sandwiches. The only change I made was using hot pepper relish instead of the roasted red peppers as this is what we had in my Dad's pantry at the time. Very easy and very tasty served with some crisp UTZ potato chips and was totally awesome! Thanks, lazyme! Made for your football win, *Week* 15. Winter 2008

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm December 22, 2008

I left off the mustard and used just the salad dressing along with a sprinkling of oregano over the top. I did add crushed pickled hot peppers too, which gives an awesome flavor. We enjoyed this sandwich very much and will have it again and again when we feel like having subs. Such a good sandwich!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Let's Cook Lisa! December 22, 2008

I thought this one turned out a little sweet-tasting but Dh loved it so we split the difference on stars. Used fresh=picked lettuce instead of shredded and pepperoni for the salami. An easy one to put together on a no-cook lunchday. Made for ZWt4 Daffy Daffodils.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ma Field June 30, 2008
Italian Subs