Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Italian Style Stewed Tomatoes -Good for Canning Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Italian Style Stewed Tomatoes -Good for Canning

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on September 04, 2006

      This is a really tasty receipe. I did use dried oregano and some dried Italian spice, and I also added 1 tbs. of salt, and it is really delicous. I have put it over steamed zucchini, in spaghetti sauce, and used it to make a rice and hamburger dish. YUMMY!!!!! Since I am at a high altitude I processed my pint jars for 45 minutes and I added 1 tbs. of lemon juice to each jar for safety. It was time consuming, but worth every minute.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2013

      love this recipe, first thing I ever canned by myself and have been using it for a long time now. I add fresh basil, just at the very end, couple minutes before it goes in jars. I usually do pints, so I add 1 teaspoon of bottled lemon juice to each jar to add a little acid. I water bath and have never had a problem. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2012

      I can't believe I've never rated this wonderful recipe. I've used it many, many times and have always been very happy with it. I don't follow the amounts exactly as I'm sure Lois doesn't either when making a huge pot of them but it was this easy recipe that started me canning 4 years ago and it worked out so well it took away my fear of canning. I grow bushels and bushels every year now without worry. Thanks so much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2011

      With a ton of garden tomatoes I wanted to try canning to save them, so tried this out. The house smelled so nice while it was cooking, I tasted prior to canning and the flavor was great with wonderful blend of spices. I followed your recipe to the letter including the hot water bath and all my jars sealed fine. I've never canned tomatoes before and must say I'm still a little nervous about it but will be anxious to see how these turn out.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2007

      They are almost done as I'm writing my review. The tomatoes, peppers, and onions smell wonderful. I prefer basil, so I split the amount of oregano with basil. Makes a nice flavour.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2004

      Adding citric acid in the amount of one teaspoon per quart should allow hot water bath method of canning without problems. Addition of sugar or salt does not aid in preservation. Only acid or high temperatures of pressure cooker will ensure safe canning of low acid veggies. Tomatoes are normally fairly high in acid but new, sweeter varieties often are marginal for acidity. The citric acid crystals (often called "sour salt")is insurance and will not effect the taste to any great degree.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2004

      This is a lovely recipe. I reduced the ingredients to make 1 quart(actually 2 pint jars). I did add a little bit more sugar and some salt and used dried oregano. I used miniature orange and red peppers, mixed with green. It looks so pretty. I used the hot water bath and feel the addition of a little more sugar and salt made this more safe. Thanks for a great recipe I will use again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2013

      While this delicious recipe is written in an old-fashioned way, it is perfectly safe if processed using modern methods, which require additional acid to be added to modern tomato varieties (they lack the acid o the older varieties). If you are unfamiliar with these techniques, please go to http://www.uga.edu/nchfp/how/can_home.html for the current information."

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2010

      I made this and it smelled heavenly . I used regular tomatoes and just let them drain for a while. before adding them .I have 1 had a jar left over and used it with pasta , very nice. Now I am opening another for my vegetable soup that is cooking now.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2007

      I was very excitted to see a recipe for Italien style Stewed Tomatoes! And the aroma was nice, I did add more garlic and Basil as a personal preference, however I was a little bit dissapointed with the overall appereance and consistancy of the tomatoes verses the vegetables. I like more tomatoes with it so next time I think I will double the tomatoes. Overall I liked it though and will attempt it again, thank you so much for sharing your recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2007

      Lois M....this is a great recipe! I made 10 quarts today using the Roma tomatoes, peppers, onions, and garlic from my garden. Yummo! Next year, I think I will add zucchini to the mix as well. Thanks for an awesome recipe! Krsi Sue

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2005

      Made this with no changes. The only time I add mover oregano or other spices is when I open a jar. Also depends on what I'm cooking for other spices. This turned out great. Now I have a base for any Italian type foods I want to fix. Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Italian Style Stewed Tomatoes -Good for Canning

    Serving Size: 1 (4914 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 287.5
     
    Calories from Fat 66
    23%
    Total Fat 7.3 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 47.3 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 52.4 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 13.8 g
    55%
    Sugars 31.9 g
    127%
    Protein 9.4 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites