14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I took this great recipe and made some modifications. I used 2 lbs hot pork sausage, an 8 oz. container of sliced white mushrooms, 4 T flour, doubled the chicken stock and cream and used 2 cans of Italian-style diced tomatoes. This is one of my most requested recipes! Edit to add: I first made this recipe four years ago and definitely need to up the stars. I often make food as presents. When I ask my friends what they want for Christmas, they say Italian Mac N Cheese. When I ask them what they want for their birthday, they say Italian Mac N Cheese. It goes on and on! Thanks for sharing this GREAT recipe, Pebbles!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rickoholic83 December 18, 2011

Yummy! My husband who dislikes pasta even said it was good. I used mini penne pasta, omitted the sausage, and used water instead of chicken broth. Based on other reviews, I also added 1 tsp each of dried oregano and basil. I also added 1/2 tsp each of red chili powder and crushed red pepper flakes in lieu of the Tabasco. Next time I may increase the cream by 1/2 cup so it's more creamy, but other than that this was perfect. Thanks for a great recipe I'll be making again and again :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MoreSpicePlease January 17, 2015

(Update: Just wanted to add that I use fat-free half and half instead of heavy cream.) Really great recipe! Delicious and easy to make. My husband asked me if it took long to make, because it was really good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sydsmama November 02, 2010

This recipe was a hit. I made it without mushrooms for relatives who don't care for them and they loved it. It really does serve 12---does anyone know if you can freeze mac n' cheese successfully? Thanks, Kathy

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kcbruen July 06, 2009

Yummy! I will do it again but maybe will try to used half heavy cream and half whole milk. And omit the sausages. Cause the sauce by itself is very yummy. I used more than 12 mushrooms. I didn't have Italian Cheese blend, so used a mix of cheddar and mozzarella cheese. I didn't use hot sauce. And forgot to add the parmesan. But we all loved it. Even DS. Thanks Pebbles. Made for Cookbook tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette September 28, 2008

This was really good except I did need to add some extra spices during step 12. I found that it really didn't have an Italian taste, so I added in 1-2 tsp of basil and 1-2 tsp of oregano. (dried) It seemed a bit on the bland side when I test tasted it. After that it was "yummy". DH and I both like lots of spice in our food. This was easy to prepare, I did cut it in half and used an 9X11 baking dish. It does make a lot. Made a great meal just served it with a salad and some cheese/garlic toast. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresas August 24, 2008

My family LOVED it! Great combination of flavors. I didn't have all the cheeses and improvised with just mozzerella and Parmesan. Also had some leftover jarred Alfredo sauce + half n half that took the place of heavy cream. This would be a great downhome company meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookieGirl23 June 01, 2008

This is a family favorite!! I got it from Rachael's Comfort Foods book. I'm always giving this recipe out and bringing it to people. Very easy and yummy!! Try it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KristaH January 31, 2008
Italian - Style Mac 'n Cheese