17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made a similar recipe last night. I halved the recipe for 2 chokes, and used fresh garlic. My husband says they are the best artichokes he's ever had. I will make them this way every time now!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Glutenfreecook April 20, 2009

I loved making these in the oven...they baked up beautifully! Next time I will shake off the excess stuffing like the directions say to do. I stuffed it all in there, and it was kind of like eating straight breadcrumb mixture. But I will definitely cook artichokes this way again...it was a lot easier than on the stovetop.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
the6-sranch October 01, 2007

Made them last night, they are really good but I think the stuffing needed a little more flavor, maybe some italian seasoning and garlic powder. JMHO

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Verelucky July 07, 2006

Baking these artichokes is a great idea. I've always made them stove-top (providing you with some nice crispy bottoms!) One nice change I made is using chicken broth in place of the water (gives it a nicer flavor).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Suzie-Q November 08, 2005

This is almost exactly the recipe that my very Italian family has made forever. It doesn't get any better than this!! Once you've had artichokes fixed this way, you'll always want them this way. We put a slice of lemon on top of each choke. This helps with the color issue.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pepina Rae July 07, 2005

Great recipe. This is one of those dishes you get a craving for every once in a while. I HIGHLY recommend that if you are reading this review, you take your earliest opportunity to try this recipe. This is the identical recipe and technique that my friend's Italian MIL (right off of the boat) gave me. DEEEEELICIOUS!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DeSouter December 07, 2004

I was disappointed in the way that the artichokes looked...I'm guessing that they should have been wiped down with some lemon juice because they came out of the oven looking black. The instructions didn't say to take the fuzzy part out but I did anyway. The flavor was good but they didn't look overly appetizing to us.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mysterygirl March 20, 2004

Loved stuffed artichokes - I preboil them for about15 minutes - then I sauté minced garlic and them add breadcrumbs to the pan and add some olive oil - the breadcrumbs are nicely flavored- I then stuff and bake them in oven covered.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bsefel April 12, 2014

My mother made these also and I have been looking for the recipe for many years. This is her recipe exactly. It was my job to cut the tips and stuff them and she always told me to turn them over and hit the stem with the heel of my hand as this would open the leaves some. She would also baste them with the water and oil as they cooked. Yum.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
craftybj October 14, 2013

My mother used to make these. They are the best. Always brings back good memories when I make them. She used to steam them in a big sauce pot on the stove.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jhanle3 May 19, 2013
Italian Stuffed Artichokes