Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Italian Stuffed Artichokes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Italian Stuffed Artichokes

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on April 20, 2009

      Made a similar recipe last night. I halved the recipe for 2 chokes, and used fresh garlic. My husband says they are the best artichokes he's ever had. I will make them this way every time now!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2006

      Made them last night, they are really good but I think the stuffing needed a little more flavor, maybe some italian seasoning and garlic powder. JMHO

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2005

      Baking these artichokes is a great idea. I've always made them stove-top (providing you with some nice crispy bottoms!) One nice change I made is using chicken broth in place of the water (gives it a nicer flavor).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2005

      This is almost exactly the recipe that my very Italian family has made forever. It doesn't get any better than this!! Once you've had artichokes fixed this way, you'll always want them this way. We put a slice of lemon on top of each choke. This helps with the color issue.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2004

      I was disappointed in the way that the artichokes looked...I'm guessing that they should have been wiped down with some lemon juice because they came out of the oven looking black. The instructions didn't say to take the fuzzy part out but I did anyway. The flavor was good but they didn't look overly appetizing to us.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2014

      Loved stuffed artichokes - I preboil them for about15 minutes - then I sauté minced garlic and them add breadcrumbs to the pan and add some olive oil - the breadcrumbs are nicely flavored- I then stuff and bake them in oven covered.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2013

      My mother made these also and I have been looking for the recipe for many years. This is her recipe exactly. It was my job to cut the tips and stuff them and she always told me to turn them over and hit the stem with the heel of my hand as this would open the leaves some. She would also baste them with the water and oil as they cooked. Yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2013

      My mother used to make these. They are the best. Always brings back good memories when I make them. She used to steam them in a big sauce pot on the stove.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2013

      This was just ok. I prefer steamed with fresh garlic and fresh parsley and celery stalks to flavor the steaming liquid.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2013

      This is one of my FAVORITE recipes! My family is Italian as well and we have passed down this receipe as well. My girls LOVE IT! I have made this with crackers and garlic salt instead of breadcrumbs and in the steamer also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2009

      I was in Whole Foods today and found these wonderful artichokes and my thoughts went to my childhood. My Mum made these all the time and your recipe was right-on.....they taste exactly as I remember. I cut the recipe in half and there was plenty of stuffing for both. After 1 hour in the oven the leaves still didn't come off easily so I put them back in for another 20 minutes......althought I think 10 minutes would have been enough. They were wonderful and I served them alongside Spaghetti in Olive Oil and Garlic......making a perfect pair. Thank you so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2009

      I really enjoyed this recipe. My grandpa used to make these when I was a kid--these lived up to the memory. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2007

      I loved making these in the oven...they baked up beautifully! Next time I will shake off the excess stuffing like the directions say to do. I stuffed it all in there, and it was kind of like eating straight breadcrumb mixture. But I will definitely cook artichokes this way again...it was a lot easier than on the stovetop.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2006

      this is the rscipe I grew up with, it's one of the best for flavor & easy for shareing it with us to make , thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2006

      forgot to add the stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2004

      Great recipe. This is one of those dishes you get a craving for every once in a while. I HIGHLY recommend that if you are reading this review, you take your earliest opportunity to try this recipe. This is the identical recipe and technique that my friend's Italian MIL (right off of the boat) gave me. DEEEEELICIOUS!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2003

      This was great,have had in restaurants before,this reipe was the best,great instructions.True Italian food,a recipe I have been looking quite a while for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Italian Stuffed Artichokes

    Serving Size: 1 (203 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 437.8
     
    Calories from Fat 186
    42%
    Total Fat 20.6 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 3.4 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 2.2 mg
    0%
    Sodium 556.4 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.3 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 9.5 g
    38%
    Sugars 4.6 g
    18%
    Protein 12.6 g
    25%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites