Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Italian Stuffed Acorn Squash-Crock Pot Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Italian Stuffed Acorn Squash-Crock Pot

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on January 15, 2010

      I have to agree with others who thought this was bland. I really did not like it at all. The rice was dry (although I did baste it, as others suggested) and had a somewhat unpleasant flavor. I also apparently don't like acorn squash (no fault of the recipe), so I won't be trying it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2008

      DEEEEE-LISH! I just made this last night and was at first skeptical that it would be bland. But wrong I was! The flavors meld nicely together for a satisfying meal. Not having time to use the crock-pot, I made the squash the usual way (cut side down in a water filled pan). I cooked the rice separately too and mixed together all the filling ingredients. I then put the filling in the squash, roasted them in a 350-degree oven for about 30 minutes. I added the goat cheese and a little shredded chedder at the end until melted. It's a great recipe and I'll be making it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2010

      I really liked the wild rice stuffing in this dish. I needed to cook it for 4 hours on high for the rice to be done. Unfortunately, however, the squash was overdone for my taste. I agree with previous reviewers that this would be good with butternut squash. I think that the addition of a sweet element such as raisins might be good, too. I'm going to try that with some leftovers tonight. Made for Kittencalskitchen Crock Pot and Rice Cooker Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2010

      So, we really didn't like this much, although I was pretty distracted when making it at Thanksgiving and didn't really make it to directions, so I am not rating this lower since part of it may have been my fault. But the flavors just didn't work for me and the rice ended up very crisp.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      I made this 2 times using butternut squash instead of the acorn - good sweet flavor and turned out well. I cut the butternut into 4 pieces and hollowed out an extra hole in the longer sections. However, don't leave this unattended for hours, "baste" the rice once in awhile to make sure it gets soft but also be careful not to over cook and get mush.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2009

      Kind of bland as written. Could use some more seasoning of some kind. Okay, but not great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2009

      I can't believe I haven't reviewed this yet! I'm making this for the third or forth time today--it is so good!! I pretty much follow directions to the T, with the only change being that I serve this as the entree and I crumble whatever sausage I have hanging around on top. It's so delicious and it makes a FANTASTIC two-person meal--a complete dinner in the crockpot with no left overs? Absolutely perfect for me. Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      Love this! Use pine nuts. Usually have chicken broth on hand, so I use that rather than vegetable broth and low-fat feta. This is such an easy recipe, and the presentation is unique!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2008

      Didn't really like it plus it seemed like A LOT of work just for two servings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2008

      I have tried 4 different variations of stuffed acorn (2 of which were crock pot) and I'd have to say this was by far the best rendition. On that note also, however, I would have to say I've decided I'm not a fan of stuffed acorn squash. I'm glad I tried it so many different ways, and if I am ever requested to make it, will definitely use this recipe. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2008

      What a yummy satisfying vegetarian meal this made! I couldn't find acorn squash, so I used a baby butternut. I also used long grain rice, fresh basil and pine nuts. Served with a salad, this was plenty of food for a main dish. Very tasty and hearty. Thanks Sharon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      Quite tasty, and looks impressive on the table. I'll definitely be making this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2007

      I was looking for a recipe to use a lovely squash I was given, with not much in the house. This recipe inspired some cool changes that were yummy. I used a box of rice a roni long grain and wild rice mix, chunky spaghetti sauce and water instead of broth as well as mozzarella cheese. YUMMY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2007

      I think the best part was the cheese. It was excellent. I don't have a slow cooker so I put this in the oven at 350 for about an hour. It could have stood to be in there a little more. I also used one acorn squash and one carnival squash. They tasted pretty much the same. Great recipe - thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2006

      Yum! Made it the first time in the crockpot. The second time I wanted to make a larger quantity so I covered it and baked it in the oven, covered. Just as good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2006

      This turned out really well. I wondered whether the wild rice would be sufficiently cooked, and it came out great. Flavorful and healthy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2006

      Love it! This is one of the best things to have come out of my crockpot in a long time! It is so easy to make, too. I was able to put it all together quickly when I stopped home at lunch time and it was perfect for a fast dinner when I had less than a half hour in between work and school a few hours later. It tastes great, and the squash and wild rice were cooked just right. The flavors were right on and it did not turn out mushy, which seems to happen with quite a bit of veggies from the crockpot. Thanks, Sharon123 for posting this and for suggesting it to me! This is a keeper for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2004

      This is a nice change of pace. I used the pumpkin seeds and a wild rice blend. The dish was cooked in the time specified. Thanks Sharon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2004

      This is a lovely recipe--it made my house smell wonderful! I also used pine nuts. The crockpot makes this so easy. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2004

      I made this using the pine nuts rather than pumpkin seeds & substituted fresh for dried basil. I also omitted the salt & used no-salt-added tomato paste. Sprinkled liberally with some great goat's cheese we get at the farmer's market here. It was great! I know I'll make it often because I love squash and I love goat's cheese and I love crockpot cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Italian Stuffed Acorn Squash-Crock Pot

    Serving Size: 1 (202 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 336.0
     
    Calories from Fat 77
    23%
    Total Fat 8.6 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 660.3 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 58.6 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 6.9 g
    27%
    Sugars 2.2 g
    8%
    Protein 12.5 g
    25%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable broth

    goat cheese

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites