20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have to agree with others who thought this was bland. I really did not like it at all. The rice was dry (although I did baste it, as others suggested) and had a somewhat unpleasant flavor. I also apparently don't like acorn squash (no fault of the recipe), so I won't be trying it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CongoGirl January 15, 2010

DEEEEE-LISH! I just made this last night and was at first skeptical that it would be bland. But wrong I was! The flavors meld nicely together for a satisfying meal. Not having time to use the crock-pot, I made the squash the usual way (cut side down in a water filled pan). I cooked the rice separately too and mixed together all the filling ingredients. I then put the filling in the squash, roasted them in a 350-degree oven for about 30 minutes. I added the goat cheese and a little shredded chedder at the end until melted. It's a great recipe and I'll be making it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wish I Could Cook November 09, 2008

I really liked the wild rice stuffing in this dish. I needed to cook it for 4 hours on high for the rice to be done. Unfortunately, however, the squash was overdone for my taste. I agree with previous reviewers that this would be good with butternut squash. I think that the addition of a sweet element such as raisins might be good, too. I'm going to try that with some leftovers tonight. Made for Kittencalskitchen Crock Pot and Rice Cooker Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario November 30, 2010

So, we really didn't like this much, although I was pretty distracted when making it at Thanksgiving and didn't really make it to directions, so I am not rating this lower since part of it may have been my fault. But the flavors just didn't work for me and the rice ended up very crisp.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandy in California January 23, 2010

I made this 2 times using butternut squash instead of the acorn - good sweet flavor and turned out well. I cut the butternut into 4 pieces and hollowed out an extra hole in the longer sections. However, don't leave this unattended for hours, "baste" the rice once in awhile to make sure it gets soft but also be careful not to over cook and get mush.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amlaphq December 20, 2009

Kind of bland as written. Could use some more seasoning of some kind. Okay, but not great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
curtandalana October 08, 2009

I can't believe I haven't reviewed this yet! I'm making this for the third or forth time today--it is so good!! I pretty much follow directions to the T, with the only change being that I serve this as the entree and I crumble whatever sausage I have hanging around on top. It's so delicious and it makes a FANTASTIC two-person meal--a complete dinner in the crockpot with no left overs? Absolutely perfect for me. Thanks!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dulcet Kitchen October 08, 2009

Love this! Use pine nuts. Usually have chicken broth on hand, so I use that rather than vegetable broth and low-fat feta. This is such an easy recipe, and the presentation is unique!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bzsoccermom January 19, 2009

Didn't really like it plus it seemed like A LOT of work just for two servings.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Willing To Try Anything November 26, 2008

I have tried 4 different variations of stuffed acorn (2 of which were crock pot) and I'd have to say this was by far the best rendition. On that note also, however, I would have to say I've decided I'm not a fan of stuffed acorn squash. I'm glad I tried it so many different ways, and if I am ever requested to make it, will definitely use this recipe. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zaar junkie November 20, 2008
Italian Stuffed Acorn Squash-Crock Pot