Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Italian Spaghetti Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Italian Spaghetti Sauce

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on April 17, 2014

      I followed the recipe using one pound of mild sausage and a pound if ground beef. I did not put mushrooms in it either. My wife and I thought it was incredible. We have plenty of sauce left over and will use it for dipping and possibly as a base sauce for pizza.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2011

      Excellent spaghetti sauce. I used 1 1/2 lb ground beef and 1/2 pound Italian sausage. Cooked 6 hours in my slow cooker. Wonderful aroma and flavor. Love the mushrooms. Thanks for sharing this. Will make again, for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2011

      Wonderful spaghetti sauce. I chopped the veggies the night earlier. Then in the morning, browned the beef and veggies and poured everything in the crock-pot. When we came back it was smelling great. Thanks nennny :) Made for cookbook tag game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2011

      Yummy, this was soooo good, I made mine with a bit of a mixture. First I cut the recipe by half and to make up the amount of meat I used some sausage, minced pork and minced beef, everything else was as the recipe required and I cooked it on low in my slow cooker for 8 hours, so when I got in from work I just had to cook my pasta we had linguine. My herbs were grown in my garden in the summer and dried. The balance was just right with all the flavours and you could taste them all I think it's the long slow cooking that does it. Thank you for posting. Made for PAC Spring 2011.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2009

      BEST HOMEMADE SAUCE! My family loved this sauce! Super healthy! My kids thought it was a little too spicy. Will omit the red pepper flakes next time. THANK YOU for sharing such a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2008

      This was fantastic! This was my 2nd attempt to make a delicious italian spagetti sauce. My 1st attempt was a complete disaster. I was reluctant to try a slow cooker recipe, but I am so glad I did. The sauce came out wonderful and it was so easy! I varied slightly on a few things. I sauteed the onions alone in butter first and cooked them until they were a light brown color. Then I added my sausage and browned for ten minutes. I didn't add the garlic until the last few minutes. I did this at the suggestion of my grandmother who said that it's very easy to burn and doesn't need a full ten minutes. I served some to my mother and grandmother, who are italian and are used to an "authentic" sauce. They both loved it. It does have a little bit of a kick, my kids thought it was too spicy. My only suggestion on change would be that if you plan on feeding this sauce to kids, you cut out the crused red pepper flakes. Thanks so much for this recipe. It is defenitely one I will make again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2007

      This is my favorite spaghetti sauce recipe! Just put everything in the crockpot and let sauce slow cook all day. Makes enough for two meals. We have spaghetti the first week; freeze half of the sauce and make mostaccioli later. This is very good with a salad and garlic bread! We really like "Rich and Charlie's Salad".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2006

      Wonderful! This is definitely going into my family's "favorites" file. I left out the garlic for my garlic-hating husband (I did add in a little garlic powder), only used one pound of ground beef, and only used one 6oz can of tomato paste since that's all I had on hand. Even with those changes, this was a great sauce. It smelled so good that we kept tasting it during the day as it cooked. At supper time, I boiled half a box of macaroni & then stirred it into the crockpot with the sauce for a wonderful "goulash". I'll be making this again, probably soon. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2006

      simple to make, tastes great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Italian Spaghetti Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (341 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 473.8
     
    Calories from Fat 300
    63%
    Total Fat 33.3 g
    51%
    Saturated Fat 11.2 g
    56%
    Cholesterol 65.8 mg
    21%
    Sodium 2214.5 mg
    92%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.7 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 5.8 g
    23%
    Sugars 16.0 g
    64%
    Protein 19.0 g
    38%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites