16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My favorite style of recipe, one that I can play with! I added 2 huge, panfried (leftover) chicken breasts, cut into cubes, 4 small fresh sweet peppers, chicken broth, a can of italian stewed tomatoes, tomato juice (it was in the fridge, what's a girl to do?) and a teaspoon of minced garlic from the jar. Sweated the onion with the keilbasa and deglazed the pan with with a split (glass) of brut champagne. Tossed everything in the crock pot for about 3 hours. Just enough broth to almost cover. Awesome... I have a very happy roommate.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bay Haven Inn February 14, 2013

This soup was quick and easy to put together. I was looking for something flavorful and quick to warm us up since our temps have gotten very chilly in the past few days. I gave my hubby a sample to check the seasoning and he said it was very tasty. I used what I had on hand, so the only changes were crushed tomatoes instead of chopped and a combo of a mild and a hot link smoked sausage. Just what I was looking for;))) Thanks for sharing this one Shelly S.!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
goldenbrown in md March 02, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed this recipe. I was amazed at how flavorful it was considering the relatively few ingredients. Thanks for sharing this, I will absolutely be making this again in the future. Highly recommend it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tom.beitel@gmail.com July 31, 2011

This soup was so EASY and very good too. Thanks for sharing the recipe! I added a little garlic powder and Italian seasoning, but other than that followed the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mcgeeka1976 April 16, 2010

I wanted a soup that was quick, tasty, and lower-carb so used this as a guide. Threw together some sliced and browned smoked sausage (didn't bother to drain the little bit of fat), a sprinkle of onion powder, a can of diced tomatoes, a can of white kidney beans (not drained), and some chicken broth. Brought it to a boil and let it cook for just a few minutes to heat through. Served it with a sprinkle of parmesan cheese on top. Nothing fancy or scientific (no measurements), but it worked for me! Now I need to drink lots of water to dilute all that sodium! Come to think of it, maybe that's why it was so tasty to me -- I usually eat low-sodium!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef cmpinco December 08, 2009

enjoyed it. I doubled the amount of beans and also added a can of corn.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jane49423 November 16, 2008

This was really yummy! I made as instructed, except I added in about a cup up sliced fresh mushrooms and a small spoonful of minced garlic when I was sauteeing the sausage and onion. It was an easy recipe and I had everything on hand. This will go into the soup rotation for sure!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
College Gal February 26, 2015

This was great on a cold winter's night. No changes but next time I make it I think I'll try a different bean. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CareyLee January 08, 2014

The way the recipe is I give it 3 stars only....1 cup of noodles is wayyyyyyy too much, I used a half cup of elbows. Now I made it according to the recipe and something was throwing me off on the taste and I figured it out that it was the kidney beans. It is so "chili" to me when using kidney beans. And I don't know why this is called "Italian" bean soup as there was nothing Italian about it. So as it was cooking I LIGHTLY added garlic powder, basil, chili powder and red pepper. And ooooo was it delicious. I give it 5 stars the way I made it. So thank you for this recipe. With my additions, it totally rocked.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gail the Chef January 08, 2014

This soup was unbelievable good. I read the reviews and agreed to add a few ingredients. I added garlic, Italian seasoning, jalapeno's, and most importantly I used fresh Johnson's sausage. There were no left-overs. With the cold weather upon us, this soup will keep you warm and your tummy happy! Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beckie.gramatikakis November 13, 2013
Italian Smoked Sausage Bean Soup