9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Loved this. I thickened the juices with some cornstarch though so that they would cling to the meat better. This is a definite keeper. I served it on sandwich rolls with provolone cheese. Next time I will add sliced tomatos, lettuce and thin slices of bermuda onion as well.

25 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mysterygirl November 09, 2001

Tried this recipe this past weekend -- it is very good & very easy to make. I think I might add a little crushed red pepper next time for a little extra "zing" & maybe some extra garlic. I too thickened the juice with some cornstarch & served the meat on steak rolls with thin sliced onion & mild pepperoncini. Cheese would be yummy too! Added a tossed salad & the meal was complete. I highly recommend this recipe! -Mary

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary Scheffert January 28, 2002

Delicious! I was searching for something to make in my new crockpot, and decided to give this a try. I'm really glad I did! I followed the directions exactly as given and served the sandwiches with Inez Willenborg's Tomatoes in Marinade. What a perfect pair! My husband gave it 5 stars as well! Thanks!!!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim D. June 06, 2002

Delicious! I also added extra garlic. a little beef soup base, and some cayenne pepper. This is a winner! What an esay meal to have ready when you come home from work. Thanks for sharing.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie Young April 12, 2002

I followed the recipe EXACTLY as written and I am very disappointed. The meat has very little flavor! It was still simple and good enough for dinner, just wondering where the flavor went. I served on sub buns with optional slices of onion.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Momma21 February 12, 2010

I used 4 cloves of garlic in this and then followed the recipe otherwise, and I did follow Snuffy's lead and used Zesty Italian dressing instead of the dried (I find the dry very salty), and cutting the water in 1/2. This made great sandwiches for me and my neighbor, who was over for lunch! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MichelleOnTheLake October 09, 2008

Excellent! I used this recipe for a catering event on chicken breasts instead of beef, cutting the water in half and using a bottle of fat-free Italian Dressing instead of the powder. Also added Mrs. Dash Extra Spicy for some zing -- had EVERYONE asking for the recipe! Will be added to my favorites!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Snuffy64 September 06, 2008

This was delicious and easy to make. I used a 3-pound chuck roast. The meat came out very tender and with a wonderful Italian flavor. I had no leftovers! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 May 14, 2008

I used a 3 lb venison roast instead of chuck, used 1/2 the water but full seasonings, and it came out tasting great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sakadoo January 10, 2007
Italian Shredded Beef Sandwiches