121 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have made this two times now~ It is very good on a rainy Seattle day :) When I went to store to pick up Orzo they were out. I substituted Cannelini beans and it was wonderful :) Thanks for the recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chez Michelle May 16, 2009

Delicious! I didn't use white wine, but added a dash of champaign viniger.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
liliya_99 May 03, 2009

Absolute marvel, and a very versatile, too. I did have wine and did not add orzo (avoiding carbohydrates), but increased sausage and added mushrooms and celery, and it was absolutely delicious. But you do need a real Italian sausage and preferably Italian tomatoes, I think the authentic ingredients make quite a difference.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vlada March 14, 2009

Nice! We skipped the orzo and added extra sausage. It is easy to make. My husband made it and he struggles to cook. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aronsinvest March 03, 2009

This soup was fantastic! I added about 1 1/2 lbs of sausage and only 1 can of tomatoes because that was what I had on hand. And I also used mini bow-tie pasta instead of orzo for more substance. My whole family loved it - I will make it again & again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zanne February 18, 2009

This is a wonderful soup Dorothy. I doubled the recipe right from the get go and was sure glad that I did. The only addition that I made to it was to add some mushrooms as well. Will be making this again and again. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tweeky February 03, 2009

Made this soup yesterday and it smelled intoxicating...delicious! I, too, added red wine because it was what I had on hand. I also substituted a 1/2 cup of pearled wheat for the orzo and 3 ribs of celery for the zucchini. All substitutions yielded terrific results and I woudn't hesitate to make them again. Tonight we had the leftover soup and it was even tastier! Definitely worth a try.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ekachadurian January 20, 2009

Best soup I've ever made! Usually I have a hard time getting enough flavor out of the soups I make, but no this one. The kids loved it and so did I. My 10 year old went back for more 2 times before going to sleep that night. I slightly altered the recipe by adding 2 golden potatoes and Red wine instead of white to make it a little more hearty, plus I left cooked the orzo separately as suggested by one as suggested by several reviewers and it worked out great. Definitely a weekly favorite during the chillier months!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ontargetg January 14, 2009

This soup is fantastic!!!! I also cooked the pasta separately...didn't want to lose any of my broth...I also added a little sugar about a tablesppon to set off the acidic taste of the tomatoes(it's someting I always do) and I also added some red pepper flakes for a little heat... I've made this a bunch of times...If you dont have any wine don't worry it tastes great without it as well...Great recipe... Thanks!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Szakacs January 09, 2009

This is awesome soup! I had 3 bowls and wished I had room for more! I used ground sausage, fresh basil & macaroni, as that is what I had on hand. It turned out great! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*****Sandy November 18, 2008
Italian Sausage Vegetable Soup