Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Italian Sausage Vegetable Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Italian Sausage Vegetable Soup

    Average Rating:

    120 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 120

    Sort by:

    • on May 03, 2009

      Delicious! I didn't use white wine, but added a dash of champaign viniger.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2009

      Absolute marvel, and a very versatile, too. I did have wine and did not add orzo (avoiding carbohydrates), but increased sausage and added mushrooms and celery, and it was absolutely delicious. But you do need a real Italian sausage and preferably Italian tomatoes, I think the authentic ingredients make quite a difference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2009

      Nice! We skipped the orzo and added extra sausage. It is easy to make. My husband made it and he struggles to cook. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2009

      This soup was fantastic! I added about 1 1/2 lbs of sausage and only 1 can of tomatoes because that was what I had on hand. And I also used mini bow-tie pasta instead of orzo for more substance. My whole family loved it - I will make it again & again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2009

      This is a wonderful soup Dorothy. I doubled the recipe right from the get go and was sure glad that I did. The only addition that I made to it was to add some mushrooms as well. Will be making this again and again. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2009

      Made this soup yesterday and it smelled intoxicating...delicious! I, too, added red wine because it was what I had on hand. I also substituted a 1/2 cup of pearled wheat for the orzo and 3 ribs of celery for the zucchini. All substitutions yielded terrific results and I woudn't hesitate to make them again. Tonight we had the leftover soup and it was even tastier! Definitely worth a try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2009

      Best soup I've ever made! Usually I have a hard time getting enough flavor out of the soups I make, but no this one. The kids loved it and so did I. My 10 year old went back for more 2 times before going to sleep that night. I slightly altered the recipe by adding 2 golden potatoes and Red wine instead of white to make it a little more hearty, plus I left cooked the orzo separately as suggested by one as suggested by several reviewers and it worked out great. Definitely a weekly favorite during the chillier months!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2009

      This soup is fantastic!!!! I also cooked the pasta separately...didn't want to lose any of my broth...I also added a little sugar about a tablesppon to set off the acidic taste of the tomatoes(it's someting I always do) and I also added some red pepper flakes for a little heat... I've made this a bunch of times...If you dont have any wine don't worry it tastes great without it as well...Great recipe... Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2008

      This is awesome soup! I had 3 bowls and wished I had room for more! I used ground sausage, fresh basil & macaroni, as that is what I had on hand. It turned out great! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2008

      My boyfriend picked this recipe out to try one week and I didn't think I was going to like it. In my mind sausage had no place floating around in soup. Was I ever wrong! I love this soup, it's one of my favourites now.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2008

      Love this soup! I doubled the recipe hoping it would be good enough to freeze any extra or share with friends. It's so good...that I want to eat it all! lol I omitted the wine and used only chicken broth. I used/added baby carrots, half a head of cabbage, fresh green beans, frozen sweet corn, celery, season salt, garlic & onion powder. A wonderful soup. Thanks so much for adding it to Recipezaar. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2008

      Yummy, easy and packed with veggies! This is a great hearty soup that is a snap to customize to your liking. I used mild italian sausage and added 2 stalks of diced celery, 2 cups frozen green beans and 2 extra cups of chicken broth since I added so many veggies and omitted the wine. Thanks for sharing this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2008

      This soup is delicious and easy to make. Perfect for a cold, damp day in New England. To save prep time, I used a 10 ounce jones sausage roll instead of italian sausage so I did not have to remove skins....it worked fine and did not taste like breafast sausage. Also, I successfully substitued italian seasoning instead of oregano. Will make this again.....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2008

      Best vegetable soup I've ever had! Since I'm restricted to the house because of a broken leg, I substituted canned vegetable mix and canned corn for the vegetables, beef boullion for the chicken broth, and macaroni for the orzo pasta. Didn't add any extra salt. Will definitely be using this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2008

      Very simple recipe, made this several times already. Used vegatables that I had on hand and not the ones listed. Still came out great! Very hearty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2008

      I made this today and even though I'd read it would probably taste better the next day, and even though I didn't plan on having it until lunch time tomorrow, it smelled so good that I had to taste it and I ended up having it for lunch today: it was d.e.l.i.c.i.o.u.s.! After I browned the sausage I squeezed it out in paper towel to eliminate some of the fat. The only change I'll make the next time I make it is to use low sodium chicken broth, and perhaps I'll use lean seasoned ground beef to make it a healthier choice. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2008

      This recipe is AMAZING. I didn't have white wine, so I used marsala instead. I also used a little bit of cayenne because we like things spicy. Aside from that, I followed it exactly and it was the best soup I've ever had. My husband already asked me to make it for dinner again tomorrow. Even my 4 year old gobbled it up, and I can't remember the last time I didn't have to fight with her at dinnertime. Thank you, eboyd!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2008

      Really EXCELLENT soup! Didn't have orzo, substituted rotini, skipped the wine and zucchini, added frozen peas, frozen green beans and sliced celery. Very nice with some parmesan cheese sprinkled on top! Thanks for sharing a very yummy dish with us, eboyd!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2008

      OMG, I really think this deserves more than 5 stars. It's absolutely wonderful!!! Since there was no Italian sausage to be found in town, I made my own, using Italian Sausage. Other changes I made were: apple juice in place of the wine, water and 5 bullion cubes replaced the broth. I also added 1 cup chopped celery, a small can of undrained mushrooms and 1 tsp sugar. I cooked it all (except the orzo) for a good 30 min. then added the orzo and cooked for a couple of hours. Had 3 bowls of it and loved it. And yes, it was even better the next day. Definitely want to serve a good dunking bread with this. Thanks so much, eboyd!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2008

      fabulous!! wish I'd made more!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Italian Sausage Vegetable Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (416 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 460.5
     
    Calories from Fat 231
    50%
    Total Fat 25.7 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 9.7 g
    48%
    Cholesterol 52.9 mg
    17%
    Sodium 1733.4 mg
    72%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.6 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 8.6 g
    34%
    Protein 26.9 g
    53%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes