122 Reviews

Great soup! I added some celery and a 1/2 cup of frozen peas. The sausage and green pepper gives it great flavor. I will definitely make this again, Thanks!

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MizzNezz August 02, 2002

Delicious soup recipe! I only used 1/2 a green pepper, and had no zucchini so used celery instead. A real tummy warmer with great flavours, thanks for posting. =)

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* June 22, 2002

We just got 6 inches of snow and it was nice coming home from work to such a flavorable soup. I prepared it the night before and placed it in my crockpot liner so that in the morning all I had to do is pop it in the heating element. I placed all the ingredients except orzo pasta and Parmesan cheese in the crockpot. I added the orzo pasta an hour before serving. It was full of flavor. The only complaint I got from my children is that wanted more sausage in it so next time I will add 2 pounds. No leftovers to take to work. LOL

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Audrey M December 05, 2002

I tried this for a weekend lunch with family and it was a big success. I also used turkey sausage and no one knew until I told them. Delicious!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Craigievar October 24, 2002

The soup was very hearty and my husband loved it. I used Italian turkey sausage (about a 1/2 a pound) to cut down on the fat and substituted a smaller can (14.5 size) of italian style diced tomatoes.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caroline Chou August 05, 2002

Wonderful soup! Seasonings were just right! I didn't have any orzo on hand, so I used whole grain elbow macaroni. I took a tip from another reviewer: I cooked the macaroni separately, and rinsed it thoroughly with cold water to remove excess starch. This kept the macaroni from sticking together after the water was drained. We then made our bowls of soup and added the amount of pasta we wanted to each bowl. This way, when the soup was left over, the pasta didn't absorb all of the soup's liquid, and become mushy. Perfect! Thanks eboyd!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KansasChef January 07, 2009

Love it! I put in Rigatoni noodles instead of the orzo. The noodles absorbed so much of the broth and expanded so much that we have nicknamed this soup "Lasagne Soup". It's delicious. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Petalpages February 13, 2011

My entire family loved this soup...even my daughter who doesn't like vegetables! I had added 2 stalks of celery in the step that adds that onion and garlic. I also substituted acini de pepe for the orzo since I had it on hand. I prepared the soup (except for adding the pasta) yesterday and refrigerated overnight. Although I thought I had drained the sausage well, this allowed me to skim off any grease that was remaining. I would definitely make this soup again. The only change I would make would be to double the amount of sausage.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brenda_69 February 17, 2008

Very tasty. If you're new to cooking, this recipe is pretty much foolproof. Don't be afraid to experiment by using red peppers(instead of green)or red wine (instead of white). For a more hearty meal, double the sausage and leave the chunks spoon size. Great recipe. Thanks so much eboyd. I'm gonna check out your other recipes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucy Zoe September 26, 2003

Wonderful dinner soup with nice fresh bread or rolls. This was a hit and really quite easy to make the night before. This is a keeper in my house. Highly recommended!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cher Jewhurst March 28, 2003
Italian Sausage Vegetable Soup