Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Italian Sausage Stromboli (Aka Sausage Bread) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Italian Sausage Stromboli (Aka Sausage Bread)

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on June 23, 2010

      Yum! I used a pound of italian sausage, a can of drained mushrooms, and the pillsbury thin crust pizza dough for a quick after work dinner for the fam. I don't care for green peppers so I left them out. Big Hit! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2012

      This is a great recipe. I have made it more than 10 times and everyone who tries it loves it. Try it you will love it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2010

      I used my favorite pizza dough recipe and it seemed a little too bready (maybe frozen dough is flatter?) and dh felt it needed a little salt or something, but other than that, pretty good! I've made it twice now (the first time I had trouble with the dough, but second time much better). Both times I added canned tomatoes b/c I love them (my form of the pizza sauce), and the second time I added mushrooms, too. My son kept asking for more "meat" though, so add extra meat if you are a meat lover! Since I didn't follow the recipe to the letter, I didn't rate it, but I would give it 4 stars, and if I could fix the "breadiness" of it, I would give it 5 stars. I will definitely make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2009

      This was delicious. I made one with & one without sauce. They both were gone in minutes. The only thing different I did was to saute the peppers & onions (in evoo/butter) before adding the sausage. My family & friends are cheese hogs so I did add extra. All came out beautifully. Thanks so much for putting this in print.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2009

      This was excellent tasting; however, I think you need at least a pound of Italian sausage to really fill the bread. I will make this again and try that. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      What a tasty appie for Christmas Eve. We sat in front of the television and munched out and had a great time eating this! I used about 1/2 tsp. Italian seasoning in with the sausage and we loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2008

      SUDDENLY I'M A SUPPER SUPERHERO! If I could give this more stars I would. I used my own pizza dough recipe, added some red peppers too. My family was amazed, so was I - this is a favorite for everyone. Thanks a million!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • This was such a good meal! We all loved it right out of the oven. I substituted frozen bread dough for the pizza dough, but it didn't make a difference other than it was thicker. This will be repeated again, as we all agreed it's darn good! Thanks Karen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2008

      I had some deer sausage I was wondering what to do with and this worked out great. All I had was pie crust dough and it was a little tricky keeping it together--I ended up using the 2nd pie crust dough to cover up the torn areas. I also spread the Marinara sauce on the dough before the other ingredients (which I didn't use all of.) The crust took longer to brown so I brushed on some melted butter. I didn't cover it with the towel afterwards. Served it with warmed Mariara sauce and a salad. My husband loved it. Also, I like to use the non-stick ovenware liner paper on the baking sheet which makes clean-up a BREEZE!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2008

      I've made this myself and it is quite good! The only thing is, my grocery store doesn't sell frozen dough but they do have the already prepared roll out dough from pillsbury and it works just as well and you don't even need a rolling pin.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2007

      DH loved this different way to use sausage!! Me Too!! I couldn't find any frozen pizza dough but did find some frozen herbed foccacia bread dough, wonderful for this recipe. I did use hot & spicy pizza sauce but I spread it on the rolled out dough before adding the filling. Had no green pepper in so subed with chopped mushrooms and added about a quarter cup of chopped canned jalepeno; for the cheese I used up some herbed feta, sharp cheddar and the parmesan. I also used turkey/dried tomato sausage with the onion. The only tiny problem I had was that I must have had a thin spot in the dough, I blew a leak!! Not really a problem though, it was about in the middle and so I just cut it in half; would have had to cut it in half anyway it was huge and wouldn't fit on the platter!! Love being able to use up what I have around, this turned out quite delicious with lots of zip and I will make it again ! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2007

      Thanks for the recipe! I made a couple as appetizers for a party and just sliced them up so they were finger food sized. I also made some with just veggies, and they were both huge hits!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2007

      Delicious! At first I was hesitant about not putting sauce in with the filling, but it really didn't need any. I made this for my DH, and he ate half in one sitting! I used some store-bought garlic and basil pizza dough for extra zip. A great recipe to add to the list! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2007

      We all really liked this. My 9 year old son doesn't like vegetables if he can tell they're there but he still liked it. If I made it again I'd put lots of sauce inside and garlic salt on the outside.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2007

      it was tastey delicous from stephanie tanner

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2006

      Future Sis in law makes this,and always a big hit!! Happy to have found the recipe!! Thank you soo much:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2006

      Wow, what a delicious dinner we had last night; thanks to you! :) I made this exactly according to recipe, but I used 2 green peppers, because they looked kind of small. For the italian sausage, I used the ground variety and not links. I will make this again for sure! It's a keeper and went in my "Weekend Comfort" cookbook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Italian Sausage Stromboli (Aka Sausage Bread)

    Serving Size: 1 (641 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 76.7
     
    Calories from Fat 50
    66%
    Total Fat 5.6 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 2.4 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 14.1 mg
    4%
    Sodium 225.1 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.7 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 4.6 g
    9%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    pizza dough

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites