17 Reviews

Yum! I used a pound of italian sausage, a can of drained mushrooms, and the pillsbury thin crust pizza dough for a quick after work dinner for the fam. I don't care for green peppers so I left them out. Big Hit! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MemphisMama June 23, 2010

This is a great recipe. I have made it more than 10 times and everyone who tries it loves it. Try it you will love it!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
skn1234 May 08, 2012

I used my favorite pizza dough recipe and it seemed a little too bready (maybe frozen dough is flatter?) and dh felt it needed a little salt or something, but other than that, pretty good! I've made it twice now (the first time I had trouble with the dough, but second time much better). Both times I added canned tomatoes b/c I love them (my form of the pizza sauce), and the second time I added mushrooms, too. My son kept asking for more "meat" though, so add extra meat if you are a meat lover! Since I didn't follow the recipe to the letter, I didn't rate it, but I would give it 4 stars, and if I could fix the "breadiness" of it, I would give it 5 stars. I will definitely make it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nourishing My Life March 28, 2010

This was delicious. I made one with & one without sauce. They both were gone in minutes. The only thing different I did was to saute the peppers & onions (in evoo/butter) before adding the sausage. My family & friends are cheese hogs so I did add extra. All came out beautifully. Thanks so much for putting this in print.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shadowgirl... November 06, 2009

This was excellent tasting; however, I think you need at least a pound of Italian sausage to really fill the bread. I will make this again and try that. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie September 22, 2009

What a tasty appie for Christmas Eve. We sat in front of the television and munched out and had a great time eating this! I used about 1/2 tsp. Italian seasoning in with the sausage and we loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ImACookingDiva January 04, 2009

SUDDENLY I'M A SUPPER SUPERHERO! If I could give this more stars I would. I used my own pizza dough recipe, added some red peppers too. My family was amazed, so was I - this is a favorite for everyone. Thanks a million!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
countrylife October 14, 2008

This was such a good meal! We all loved it right out of the oven. I substituted frozen bread dough for the pizza dough, but it didn't make a difference other than it was thicker. This will be repeated again, as we all agreed it's darn good! Thanks Karen!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tony Rules The Kitchen... Sally Watches! August 21, 2008

I had some deer sausage I was wondering what to do with and this worked out great. All I had was pie crust dough and it was a little tricky keeping it together--I ended up using the 2nd pie crust dough to cover up the torn areas. I also spread the Marinara sauce on the dough before the other ingredients (which I didn't use all of.) The crust took longer to brown so I brushed on some melted butter. I didn't cover it with the towel afterwards. Served it with warmed Mariara sauce and a salad. My husband loved it. Also, I like to use the non-stick ovenware liner paper on the baking sheet which makes clean-up a BREEZE!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Puffy Taco March 14, 2008

I've made this myself and it is quite good! The only thing is, my grocery store doesn't sell frozen dough but they do have the already prepared roll out dough from pillsbury and it works just as well and you don't even need a rolling pin.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kari_is_a_mama January 07, 2008
Italian Sausage Stromboli (Aka Sausage Bread)