Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Italian Sausage Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Italian Sausage Stew

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on October 10, 2002

      Another winner, Inez! This stew is outstanding and we loved the flavors of the wine, tomatoes and herbs. I added just a bit more red pepper flakes, as we like it spicy and it was just wonderful. Thanks for the great recipes, keep 'em coming!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2003

      This recipe is fantastic. My family really enjoyed this one. I added some green pepper and spinach greens to it and also used hot italian sausage. This will be listed as one of our family's favorites. Thanks Inez.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2002

      This is a great stew to make during the week. It's quick, easy, tasty, and has ingredients readily available in most pantries. I used Zesty Italian Sausage links and sliced them on the bias instead of crumbling and browning, but that's just a personal preference thing. The diced and stewed tomatoes I bought were already seasoned Italian style, and I think they really complimented the stew. There were no leftovers at all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2002

      This is a great, simple recipe for a cold evening. I loved the potatoes; a can of white beans would have made a nice addition, too. I used my own homemade Italian sausage which has lots of wine and cheese and very little fat. With commercial sausage, I would have been careful to thoroughly drain the sausage after browning. A bit of freshly grated Parmesan was a nice finishing touch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2002

      The recipe was very tasty, but I expected more of a stew, and, made as directed,it was more like a wonderful spaghetti sauce (lose the potatoes, and it is!). The next time we make it, we plan to add beef broth and just the one can of diced tomatoes. Don't get me wrong - the flavor was very nice, it just wasn't quite what we expected. And I love the idea of a sausage stew - it'd never occurred to me to make a stew with sausage, so we'll be tinkering around with the basics - thanks for the very good basic recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2009

      I read the other reviews and added extra potatoes, but didn't have any other veggie on hand, so I stuck with the ones mentioned in the recipe. There wasn't much depth of flavor, even after I added chicken stock when I added the potatoes, but this IS a fantastic base. This is definitely something you want to build into your own dish - add veggies or whatever you usually add to other stews. Beans would be a good addition, but my bet would be kidney, not white. Also, serve it with crusty bread and it'll be much more satisfying

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2009

      Not bad but it could of used a few more vegetables, onions & green peppers maybe some beans, just seemed to much tomato. I should of read the previous reviews first and maybe I would of thought to add more. Overall, perfectly edible food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2009

      Very tasty and flavourful, yet seemed like watered down spaghetti sauce. Like it was missing something...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2009

      YUMMY! Super easy and so comforting! I added in some fresh tomatoes along with the diced and a small can of tomato soup since I didn't have stewed tomatoes. Also, I quickly cooked stelle (small star shaped pasta) in a cup of chicken broth and added that into the mix. It was hearty and moist. Thank you MizzNizz!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2009

      I added some cubed zucchini and 16 oz of garbanzo beans. Hit it with some grated parmesian. Great comfort food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2009

      It seemed like this recipe needed some broth, because it cooked off so much that it seemed more like stewed veggies. We ended up adding extra tomatoes and a few cups of broth, a can of beans and some ditalini.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2007

      Yum! This is easy and the flavors are fantastic. I took a couple suggestions from others and used a 28 oz. can of crushed tomatoes and a can of beef broth. Next time I will add carrots and green peppers to it to get more veggies. This will be made again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2006

      Great flavor and easy to make. I used one 32 oz. can of crushed tomatoes in tomato puree because my family doesn't like too many chunks of tomatoes. I prepared this the night before I served it, and added a couple of handfuls of ditalini pasta just before serving. Everyone loved the flavor of this stew, which really is outstanding. Next time, I will double the recipe and freeze half for a quick meal on a winter day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2006

      We really liked this. Husband said "its a keeper!" I added 1 can of northern beans, 1 can of beef broth, 1 can chicken broth. I used a potato masher at the end to give it a smoother consistency.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2005

      Was a hit with the family. I did drain the sausage and added the onion, added celery and carrots.Then got the call that the in-laws were stopping for dinner. Panicked so I pureed the can of stewed tomatoes, and added a cup of beef broth, I was worried we wouldn't have enough. It was delicious, I did pair it with a salad and some really good crusty french bread. Small bowl of leftovers which I'm eating for lunch :).Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2004

      Quick and easy to make. The combination of seasonings was good and made for a satisfying dinner. Even though I used a potato masher to break up the tomatoes, my family balked at the chunks of tomatoes--there ends up being a lot of tomato per bite. Next time, I would use one can of diced tomatoes and a can of tomato puree.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Italian Sausage Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (425 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 356.3
     
    Calories from Fat 154
    43%
    Total Fat 17.1 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 5.6 g
    28%
    Cholesterol 32.3 mg
    10%
    Sodium 1498.8 mg
    62%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.3 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 5.1 g
    20%
    Sugars 12.4 g
    49%
    Protein 14.9 g
    29%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites