16 Reviews

Another winner, Inez! This stew is outstanding and we loved the flavors of the wine, tomatoes and herbs. I added just a bit more red pepper flakes, as we like it spicy and it was just wonderful. Thanks for the great recipes, keep 'em coming!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise! October 10, 2002

This recipe is fantastic. My family really enjoyed this one. I added some green pepper and spinach greens to it and also used hot italian sausage. This will be listed as one of our family's favorites. Thanks Inez.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
donna in niagara falls February 23, 2003

This is a great stew to make during the week. It's quick, easy, tasty, and has ingredients readily available in most pantries. I used Zesty Italian Sausage links and sliced them on the bias instead of crumbling and browning, but that's just a personal preference thing. The diced and stewed tomatoes I bought were already seasoned Italian style, and I think they really complimented the stew. There were no leftovers at all.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Missyb33 October 17, 2002

This is a great, simple recipe for a cold evening. I loved the potatoes; a can of white beans would have made a nice addition, too. I used my own homemade Italian sausage which has lots of wine and cheese and very little fat. With commercial sausage, I would have been careful to thoroughly drain the sausage after browning. A bit of freshly grated Parmesan was a nice finishing touch.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
miss gracie October 15, 2002

The recipe was very tasty, but I expected more of a stew, and, made as directed,it was more like a wonderful spaghetti sauce (lose the potatoes, and it is!). The next time we make it, we plan to add beef broth and just the one can of diced tomatoes. Don't get me wrong - the flavor was very nice, it just wasn't quite what we expected. And I love the idea of a sausage stew - it'd never occurred to me to make a stew with sausage, so we'll be tinkering around with the basics - thanks for the very good basic recipe.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lizzie-Babette October 14, 2002

I read the other reviews and added extra potatoes, but didn't have any other veggie on hand, so I stuck with the ones mentioned in the recipe. There wasn't much depth of flavor, even after I added chicken stock when I added the potatoes, but this IS a fantastic base. This is definitely something you want to build into your own dish - add veggies or whatever you usually add to other stews. Beans would be a good addition, but my bet would be kidney, not white. Also, serve it with crusty bread and it'll be much more satisfying

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'm cookin', good lookin! December 15, 2009

Not bad but it could of used a few more vegetables, onions & green peppers maybe some beans, just seemed to much tomato. I should of read the previous reviews first and maybe I would of thought to add more. Overall, perfectly edible food.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angela P. November 02, 2009

Very tasty and flavourful, yet seemed like watered down spaghetti sauce. Like it was missing something...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wugfun October 15, 2009

YUMMY! Super easy and so comforting! I added in some fresh tomatoes along with the diced and a small can of tomato soup since I didn't have stewed tomatoes. Also, I quickly cooked stelle (small star shaped pasta) in a cup of chicken broth and added that into the mix. It was hearty and moist. Thank you MizzNizz!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TatianaBanana July 08, 2009

I added some cubed zucchini and 16 oz of garbanzo beans. Hit it with some grated parmesian. Great comfort food.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
R. Warren Meddoff March 19, 2009
Italian Sausage Stew