Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Italian Sausage & Pasta Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Italian Sausage & Pasta

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on April 27, 2002

      All enjoyed this tonight. It had a rich and full flavor. I used bulk It. sausage and 28 ounces of tomatoes. Thank you Art for this wonderful recipe. It's a winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2013

      Tried this last night and my husband and I both enjoyed it very much. I was pleasantly surprised at the additional sweetness the caraway seeds seemed to make. One question, though: After stirring the microwaved sausages (after the first 5 minutes), the recipe just says "cook until done." How long is that supposed to be? I was concerned about microwaving them too long. I did about a minute, and that seemed to work, but could have used some specifics there!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2013

      This made for a great meal. I used hot Italian sausages (stovetop cooked) over penne pasta. I doubled the recipe, using 2 cans of diced tomatoes (1 regular & the other fire roasted tomatoes with garlic), I felt as though the balsamic vinegar really helped create the depth of flavor this meal had. My daughter found it to be a little too spicy (guess I should have used regular Italian sausage). My family enjoyed this , but despite the fact that it was so easy to pull together, I don't think it is something we would have a "taste" for on a regular basis (if that makes any sense). Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2013

      I loved this recipe. I modified the recipe a little bit since I accidentally put in about 8oz. of wine and I noticed that the sauce was going to be too watery. To compensate for the miss, I thickened the sauce with a couple of teaspoons of tomato sauce. I also used fresh basil and left out the caraway seeds. I threw in a couple dashes of tobasco sauce (since I love it) and to get more kick, I put in quite a bit of red pepper. I also didn't have fresh garlic so just put in some garlic salt to taste. I left the sausage with the casing on which went fine.<br/><br/>Then, I used rotini for the pasta. I tasted the sauce while it was simmering and it was so flavorful. I loved the dish and will definitely make it again. It was rich with flavor and very easy to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2013

      We really liked this recipe! I didn't have the canned diced tomato, but was able to substitute canned whole tomatoes which I cut up. Added some red pepper flakes like some reviewers suggested which gave the recipe a little extra kick. As made, sauce is thicker, which I thought worked great, but I can see if someone wanted a thinner sauce, adding some tomato sauce would work well too. Husband said this would be a great recipe for having friends over (so apparently he liked it enough to share!) LOL

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2013

      Made it last night, came out very tasty. Just a few changes, first I used a stick blender on the canned tomatoes(28 oz) to make a less chunky sauce. Took sausage out of its casing and saute with onions, garlic and the add the spices. Added the wine and vinegar and allowed the alcohol to cook out 2-3 minutes. Then add the tomatoes and simmered.

      Even with the changes it did not take too much time to cook, just a little extra prep. And my picky eater loved it enough to ask how I made it, so she came make herself when its her turn to cook. Great Recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2013

      My 8 year old daughter and I loved this pasta dish. The sausage I used had been in my fridge a couple of weeks and I cooked it really well (way too well according to my husband).

      In any case, I loved the flavor of the sauce and would love to make it again. I was so disappointed that my husband didn't like it (which may have been because I overcooked the sausage).

      Thanks for a great recipe, I'll definitely give it another try and hope to convert my DH.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2012

      One of my favorite dishes! I cook the sausage in the pan and cut into bite size pieces. The sausage is so tender and full of flavor. My entire family (including my 3 year old) enjoys this dish. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2011

      FANTASTIC! Made as written but used leftover basil-artichoke chicken sausage so I didn't throw that in until the 1/2 hour simmer part. Also added an 8 oz. can of tomato sauce and served it over fettuccini pasta. My husband said it was "restaurant quality" and that he'd make it his birthday meal in a heartbeat. Even my picky 4 1/2 year old liked it well enough. I loved it too. Just a great pasta dish!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2011

      This was really good! I think the balsamic vinegar made it stand out for me. I used garlic/cheese sausage and it was great. It could have used a little something else but that's easy to experiment with.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2011

      Wow! Sooo yummy! I chopped my sausage into 1 inch pieces and browned them in my dutch oven. Proceeded with the recipe in the same pot and got all of the wonderful flavour off the bottom from the sausages. For us, this made 3 large size portions. Would not hesitate to serve this to company, it was that good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2010

      This dish was quick and yummy. Like others I just cooked the meat in a pan and then proceeded to toss in the onions and garlic from there. I thought the dish was yummy as written for adults, but at the last minute I put in a can of tomato sauce to make more of a sauce and less of a broth for the kids. My husband thought it was glorified spaghetti, so next time I make this dish I will serve it over a different shaped pasta.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2009

      Quick & delicious - what more could you want from a recipe. I just made this dish and had to write a review. I did make a few minor adaptations ( sauteeing the sausage in a pan rather than nuking) but the basics were still there. This one is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2008

      This is by far one of my favorite recipes ever and it's the 1st one to make it into my recipe box! Extremely easy to make as there aren't many items to prep, extremely easy cleanup...and the taste is elegant and superb. I like to use spicy Italian sausage cut into bite size pieces (instead of cutting it into 4's) with a handful of red pepper flakes thrown into the sauce. Other that that, I follow this recipe exactly as is, served with a side of garlic bread and the rest of the red wine. It's my fiance's favorite meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2008

      I don't know if I did something wrong but I only put in 2oz of red wine vinegar and 1 tablespoon of balsamic vinegar and it was really acidic (eyes watered as I leant over it on the stove). I added 1 tsp of sugar but just couldn't shake the acidity. My kids (aged 4 & 6) wouldn't eat it. WHOOPS! I just worked out where I went wrong - it is red wine NOT red wine vinegar. Will try again and this time try to make it to the recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2008

      A very nice sauce. I browned Italian turkey sausage in a seperate pan. I then followed the rest of the recipe but only used 1/2 c. wine because there seemed to be quite a bit of liquid in the sauce already. I agree with the other posts that it needed just a touch of something else... so I added a pinch each of sugar and red pepper flakes. It turned out to be so delicious. Thanks for a great recipe. What a treat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2008

      MMMM! Loved this. Very easy to make, thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2007

      I did modify this a bit for what I had on hand (might post the recipe later), but the addition of the balsamic vinegar just absolutely made the whole sauce! Incredible! Thanks, Maine-iac for sharing a really great recipe! I'm going to add Balsamic vinegar to my pasta sauce creations more often as the color and deep, delicious flavor turn an already delicious sauce into something astounding!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2007

      Wow! This was YUMMY!! I used ground sausage that I browned in a skillet with the onions and garlic. Then added the herbs before adding the wine (a Cab-Sav) vinegar and tomatoes. I also added a pinch of red pepper flakes and about 1/2 tsp of sugar. I served it over shell pasta. DH scarfed this down! And DD had seconds. I'm having the leftovers for lunch today. Thanks for the great recipe! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2006

      Loved this dish, Maine-iac. I was about 4 oz short of a pound of italian sausage, so I also added some chicken breast chunks. Used a 15-oz can of tomatoes, and actually used white rather than red wine because I discovered I didn't have an open bottle of red. Tasty meal over thick spaghetti with garlic bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Italian Sausage & Pasta

    Serving Size: 1 (205 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 513.9
     
    Calories from Fat 340
    66%
    Total Fat 37.8 g
    58%
    Saturated Fat 11.9 g
    59%
    Cholesterol 64.6 mg
    21%
    Sodium 1376.1 mg
    57%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.6 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 3.6 g
    14%
    Protein 22.5 g
    45%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chopped tomatoes

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes