26 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

All enjoyed this tonight. It had a rich and full flavor. I used bulk It. sausage and 28 ounces of tomatoes. Thank you Art for this wonderful recipe. It's a winner.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J April 27, 2002

Tried this last night and my husband and I both enjoyed it very much. I was pleasantly surprised at the additional sweetness the caraway seeds seemed to make. One question, though: After stirring the microwaved sausages (after the first 5 minutes), the recipe just says "cook until done." How long is that supposed to be? I was concerned about microwaving them too long. I did about a minute, and that seemed to work, but could have used some specifics there!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pstar14 August 19, 2013

This made for a great meal. I used hot Italian sausages (stovetop cooked) over penne pasta. I doubled the recipe, using 2 cans of diced tomatoes (1 regular & the other fire roasted tomatoes with garlic), I felt as though the balsamic vinegar really helped create the depth of flavor this meal had. My daughter found it to be a little too spicy (guess I should have used regular Italian sausage). My family enjoyed this , but despite the fact that it was so easy to pull together, I don't think it is something we would have a "taste" for on a regular basis (if that makes any sense). Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jug O'Mud August 08, 2013

I loved this recipe. I modified the recipe a little bit since I accidentally put in about 8oz. of wine and I noticed that the sauce was going to be too watery. To compensate for the miss, I thickened the sauce with a couple of teaspoons of tomato sauce. I also used fresh basil and left out the caraway seeds. I threw in a couple dashes of tobasco sauce (since I love it) and to get more kick, I put in quite a bit of red pepper. I also didn't have fresh garlic so just put in some garlic salt to taste. I left the sausage with the casing on which went fine.<br/><br/>Then, I used rotini for the pasta. I tasted the sauce while it was simmering and it was so flavorful. I loved the dish and will definitely make it again. It was rich with flavor and very easy to make!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
burlingamefoodie April 21, 2013

We really liked this recipe! I didn't have the canned diced tomato, but was able to substitute canned whole tomatoes which I cut up. Added some red pepper flakes like some reviewers suggested which gave the recipe a little extra kick. As made, sauce is thicker, which I thought worked great, but I can see if someone wanted a thinner sauce, adding some tomato sauce would work well too. Husband said this would be a great recipe for having friends over (so apparently he liked it enough to share!) LOL

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just Him and Me February 06, 2013

Made it last night, came out very tasty. Just a few changes, first I used a stick blender on the canned tomatoes(28 oz) to make a less chunky sauce. Took sausage out of its casing and saute with onions, garlic and the add the spices. Added the wine and vinegar and allowed the alcohol to cook out 2-3 minutes. Then add the tomatoes and simmered.

Even with the changes it did not take too much time to cook, just a little extra prep. And my picky eater loved it enough to ask how I made it, so she came make herself when its her turn to cook. Great Recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
franklim22000 January 29, 2013

My 8 year old daughter and I loved this pasta dish. The sausage I used had been in my fridge a couple of weeks and I cooked it really well (way too well according to my husband).

In any case, I loved the flavor of the sauce and would love to make it again. I was so disappointed that my husband didn't like it (which may have been because I overcooked the sausage).

Thanks for a great recipe, I'll definitely give it another try and hope to convert my DH.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef TanyaW January 09, 2013

One of my favorite dishes! I cook the sausage in the pan and cut into bite size pieces. The sausage is so tender and full of flavor. My entire family (including my 3 year old) enjoys this dish. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gray's Mom March 02, 2012

FANTASTIC! Made as written but used leftover basil-artichoke chicken sausage so I didn't throw that in until the 1/2 hour simmer part. Also added an 8 oz. can of tomato sauce and served it over fettuccini pasta. My husband said it was "restaurant quality" and that he'd make it his birthday meal in a heartbeat. Even my picky 4 1/2 year old liked it well enough. I loved it too. Just a great pasta dish!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs.B14 August 13, 2011

This was really good! I think the balsamic vinegar made it stand out for me. I used garlic/cheese sausage and it was great. It could have used a little something else but that's easy to experiment with.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cruzzo July 05, 2011
Italian Sausage & Pasta