Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Italian Sausage Melt Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Italian Sausage Melt

    Average Rating:

    38 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 38

    Sort by:

    • on August 11, 2013

      This was good and easy to make. I used a pound and a half of sweet sausage. I then used a 14 ounce bag of frozen red and green peppers with onions. I cooked this all up and the added the sauce. I then put the mixture in the crockpot. I used mozzarella cheese. We all enjoyed these.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2013

      Got rave reviews from all members of the family. I made a mistake and added the 1/2 cup of cheese at the same time as the pasta sauce. Seemed to work ok, just made the stirring a bit sticky. I used hot italian sausage and french rolls. Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2012

      Easy, peazy, lemon squeezy! I used a ciabatta roll, as I had it on hand, and I skipped the peppers out of personal preference. That said, this was yummy and so easy; I did use hot italian sausage, for a little bit of heat. Thanks so much for sharing a fab recipe, Lori Mama!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2012

      This was a really good recipe. It didn't take long to prepare and everyone liked it. Instead of panini bread, I used garlic bread that I baked before adding the sausage mixture. I also misread the ingredients and added shredded cheddar during the first cheese addition. I then read the ingredients and topped the sandwiches with provolone before I broiled them. Thanks for the great recipe! I will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2010

      My husband loves my homemade turkey sausage (Turkey Breakfast Sausage Patties) & even tho it's a "breakfast" recipe, I love to try to use it in other ways. I used 4oz lean ground turkey (for 1 sandwich), didn't use any peppers & loved the idea of mixing some cheese into the meat itself. I didn't broil the sandwich (used whole wheat hoagie buns) but just let the cheese melt right on the meat. The longer the meat can simmer with the sauce, I think the better it tastes--so I simmered for about 10 minutes. He enjoyed the different, spicy flavor & it was so easy!! I hope to make this again for him for a quick supper! thank u for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2010

      Brilliant flavour and pretty quick too! I saved time by cooking the peppers with the sausage. Thanks for a lovely lunch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2009

      Loved this, but can't have too often because it is not too healthy! It tasted great, maybe as an appetizer instead of a meal! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2009

      I make a similar recipe using hamburg. Using JimmyDean sausage was a nice switch-up. I chose to omit the greenpeppers and also used hamburg buns. Broiled with the mozza on top and they made a nice easy supper. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2009

      Sooooo yummy! I made a melt for breakfast this morning and absolutely loved it! I used a hot sausage, spicy tomato and basil pasta sauce and mozzarella cheese. I subbed diced onions and sliced mushrooms for the green pepper since I don't like them cooked. Perfection! Thanks for sharing another great recipe, Lori! **Made for Fall PAC 2009**

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2009

      Better than I thought it would be. Made without the peppers for DS, and with for everyone else. Both were excellent. Thanks for posting. Made for Holiday Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2009

      Yummy! Didn't change a thing & it was better than i expected. DH couldn't get enough either.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

      This was our dinner tonite on my BF's night to cook. In his words, this was "easy, simple, quick". We didn't use any peppers, but used a sliced onion instead. Didn't have any shredded cheese to mix in, so we just melted a slice over the top. We had a cucumber and onion salad with this, but also think pasta salad would be good. Made for a very satisfying but very fast meal. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2009

      Lori, Lori, shouldeth anyone sayeth you can't cooketh, they would sayeth quite a bigeth one. The added peppers were divine! Made for PRMR

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2009

      Oh, Lori Mama! These sandwiches were delicious! I chose these to make for my little girl's 6th birthday party because she loves sausage. I thought these would be perfect for her and I was right. She LOVED her sandwich. Everyone else liked them too and commented on how good they were. Thanks so much for making me look like Super-Mommy :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2009

      Very good recipe! I used hot italian turkey sausage and added some onion and garlic. I cooked the sausage, peppers, onion and garlic together to skip a step and it came out wonderfully. I served the sausage mixture on crusty italian hoagie rolls and topped with shredded italian four cheese. Yum! Thanks for a great and easy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2009

      Oh my these were great! We loved these. I made a few little changes to help it fit into our calorie range. So simple, but so yummy. I used turkey italian sausgae and arnolds light wheat rolls. I also use low fat mozzerella. Yum! Made for holiday tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      This was so easy to make and tasted wonderful. Will make again and again. Could even take and use the same idea for appetizers. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2008

      Easy & delicious. Fast, too, because I cooked the peppers in the same skillet with the sausage - I also added some diced onion because it seemed to go with it. Served on french rolls.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2008

      I REALLY enjoyed this. It was both delicious and simple. I made it exactly as indicated, but served it on focaccia bread instead. I will definitely make this again. Made for Everyday is a Holiday Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2008

      This was so tasty. I did it only for me. I got frozen (cooked) hot italian sausages. I warmed them in the microwave. Then I sliced them. I saved some time with that. I used red bell pepper (my favorite). Then I decided to add in sliced mushrooms. Great idea! I had homemade pasta sauce. Even better. And I used mozzarella. Very yummy. Thanks Lori Mama. I'll have to do it again soon :) Made for Holiday tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Italian Sausage Melt

    Serving Size: 1 (333 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1344.3
     
    Calories from Fat 792
    58%
    Total Fat 88.0 g
    135%
    Saturated Fat 34.8 g
    174%
    Cholesterol 199.6 mg
    66%
    Sodium 4266.3 mg
    177%
    Total Carbohydrate 64.8 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 8.1 g
    32%
    Sugars 25.4 g
    101%
    Protein 70.5 g
    141%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes