Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Italian Sausage Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Italian Sausage Casserole

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on July 13, 2012

      We really enjoyed this easy -to-make casserole. I made it exactly as directed and it turned out great! However, I used fresh pork sausage which I had in the refrigerator; it was good but I think using the Italian sausage as listed in the recipe will taste even better, so that's the way I'll be making it next time. Thanks for sharing your recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2010

      This is awesome! I, too, had to cook it longer for the sake of the potatoes -- 1 hr. 20 min. It's great just the way it is, but I'm envisioning adding mushrooms, hot peppers and perhaps sauteed chicken when I have a crowd for dinner. Thanks Marie!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2011

      A great dish and all of the ingredients are something that I always have on hand. The flavor blends well and no changes was needed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2010

      Great dish and so easy to make! I knew my hubby would love this when I read the ingredients. I accidently bought a red and a green bell pepper at the store because I thought this recipe called for both when I read it earlier in the week. Thus, I went ahead and used them both. The only other change was using a 15 oz. can diced tomatoes instead of the larger can because that is all I had on hand. The flavors were great and my hubby told me to make sure I leave 5 stars for this review, and I agree. I'll definitely make this again. Thanks Marie for another winning recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

      5 stars for the ease of prep, and nice flavour. I served this with some parmesan cheese on top, used a red pepper instead of green, and a can of diced tomatoes. Also used 1 tsp italian seasoning with the basil. I had to cook this for closer to 1 hour to get my potatoes tender enough. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2007

      Nice comfort casserole. Little on the juicy side but next time I'll drain a litte of the juice first, not a big deal. I used hot sausage and fresh basil. Still, will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2007

      My family loved the taste of this casserole and I loved how easy it was to throw together! AND anytime my super picky son will eat two helpings (besides dessert)--it gets five stars for sure! I lowered the fat by substituting hot turkey italian sausage (20 oz). I also only had 14 oz tomatoes, so I added 14 oz of marinara sauce. Like other reviewers, I also added zucchini and mushrooms (anything to sneak in extra veggies). Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2007

      Sorry I have to be the lone dissenter here, but my family did not care for this too much. It tasted too tomato-saucy for us. I guess I was hoping more for spaghetti sauce flavor, where the spices are infused into the sauce. I should have realized that a longer cooking time would be required for this. I actually think this would work better for us by just leaving the tomato out altogether.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2007

      WOW! Added 2 stalks of celery a little ex. garlic & used mild sausage. Cut my celery, onion & gr. pepper chunky & my potatoes a little smaller. Needed a deep casserole dish to prevent overflow of the liquid & for circulation. Had enough to feed an army, so guess what's for lunch. Delicious, thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2007

      I thought this was wonderful! I didn't have any leftovers at all. Even my fussy-eater son ate it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2006

      THOUGHT this would make dinner for 2 nights, for 2 !! HA !! I had 5 large sweet Italian links, which I cut into 4 chunks each. After browning them in a tad of olive oil (they were VERY lean), i removed them and added potatoes, onion, and green pepper - just long enough to soak uo the juices, then popped that with the garlic, salt, pepper, and Adobo seasoning, on top of the sausage. I no longer had room for the large can of crushed tomatoes -- but DID have 1/2 jar of marinara to cover, and add basil. Baked as directed. After all that, DH so enjoyed it, (along with FRESH SWISS CHARD from the garden), that there is just enough for a side left --unless I add more "stuff". Thanks, Marie, for something a little different and certainly easy !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2006

      Excellent one-dish meal, Marie. I made it with no changes or additions and DS and I really enjoyed it. If you like Italian sausage you can't go wrong with this one! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2006

      This was great exactly what I had in mind for dinner. I made 2 adjusments from the original. First I cut it in half, because there are only 2 of us. Second I added a can of french styly green beans. It came out perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2006

      This was very good. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2006

      This was very tasty and didn't require much work. I added one extra garlic clove because we LOVE garlic! Also, next time I will cut the potatoes a little smaller so they cook faster.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2006

      This recipe is definately a keeper!!! I used German Sausage because that is what we had on hand, and prepared exactly as stated.I used red potatoes, and sliced them with the skins on. We were concerned about the amount of liquid in the recipe, because other than the crushed tomatoes, there is none, but this turned out delicious!!!! Thank You!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2005

      Loved the recipe and the ease of preparation. I basically made the way it was written, but had to use a red bell pepper as I already had them in the crisper. Used fresh basil instead of the dried as I have it growing in my garden. My choice was the sweet Italian sausage this time.....dinner was excellent, thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2005

      Marie, this was really good. I also added an 8 oz. pkg. of mushrooms and a zucchini that needed to be used up. This is an easy one dish meal that I will use again and again. Thanks Rita

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2004

      Super easy recipe. I didn't even brown the sausages first but pulled them out, placed them on top of the veggies after removing the foil and put them under the broiler for 5 minutes. I only show two sausages in the picture I removed the others so you can see the lovely veggies. I used 4 fresh tomatoes and a 1/2 cup of tomato juice instead of the canned, (they are ripe in the garden now and need using). Parmesan cheese on the table goes well to sprinkle over all. The sausages were Hot Italian and really shot flavor throught the veggies. Thanks marie great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Italian Sausage Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (687 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1023.9
     
    Calories from Fat 565
    55%
    Total Fat 62.8 g
    96%
    Saturated Fat 22.0 g
    110%
    Cholesterol 129.3 mg
    43%
    Sodium 3016.6 mg
    125%
    Total Carbohydrate 64.9 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 9.5 g
    38%
    Sugars 5.0 g
    20%
    Protein 51.5 g
    103%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites