Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Italian Sausage Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Italian Sausage Casserole

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on November 25, 2003

      We liked this very much. Used italian seasoning instead of the basil, added some chopped fresh garlic and used crushed tomatoes instead of diced- I think the diced would be better and I will try that next time. I used a combination of sweet and hot sausage and it was really good. Served with some stir fried broccoli. Thanks Fluffy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2003

      i'm always looking for easy cassaroles and let me tell you this is easy. my boyfriend who never likes any cassarole i make (hey im new at this cooking thing) told me to add this puppy to my cookbook. we are on a low glycemic index diet so i switched the white potatoes for sweet potatoes and it was da bomb. thanks fluffy (we call it the fluffy cassarole lol)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2013

      This was just delicious! We are eating low carb so I switched the potatoes to sweet potatoes. I thickened the sauce with 2 tbsp of tomato paste during the last half hour of cooking. Served with freshly grated parmesan on top....mmmmm! If we weren't watching our weight I would have soaked up the juices with some fresh crusty bread. Great recipe and definitely comfort food. I will certainly make this again. I have attached a photo for you. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2011

      Love this recipe . I made it with mild Italian chicken sausage. Really cuts back on the fat and calories. Took your suggestions and used Italian seasoning,and fresh mushrooms.Served with a salad and garlic bread. A great meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2010

      This was delicious! I added a variety of vegetables and a few extra seasonings... The only thing was it had to be cooked much longer otherwise the potatoes were still undercooked after 1.5 hrs. This will definitely be made often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2007

      I really liked this one. I used just one onion, and I threw in some chopped fresh mushrooms that I had in the fridge. Once I put it in the pan I sprinkled some Italian breadcrumbs and Parmesan cheese on top before baking it. That helped soak up some of the juice. I used two 15 oz cans of tomatoes, I drained one and put it the juice of the other. I think next time I'll use about half of the juice of one can. This recipe is great because it's adaptable to whatever veggies you have. I'll be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2007

      Really good! I left out the spuds for a lower carb option, used diced italian tomatoes. Even better the next day for lunch. Very easy too. Thanks for a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2007

      Simple & easy works for me. Flavor was outstanding. I used diced tomatoes with basil & garlic (all I had on hand). Tasted even better the next day for lunch. This will become a regular in our house. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2007

      What a tasty tasty meal. This was so quick and easy to throw together. Excellant comfort food, the sausage and potatoes and vegetables were tender and the sauce was rich, flavourful and delicious. I used hot italian sausages, next time I will try a blend of hot and sweet sausage. Thanks very much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2007

      This was delicious! I made a day ahead and refrigerated...removed any fat that hardened at the top and reheat individual servings in microwave....thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2007

      I thought this lacked flavour, however my company and my BF really liked it and thougth I was paranoid. It was very easy to make though

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2007

      I love how simple this is to put together! I will definitely make this again, although I will play around with the spices also, perhaps using Italian Seasoning next time and more pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2006

      I am now making this for the second time. I really enjoyed this recipe. I removed the cover for the last 1/2hr. to reduce the liquid. I am looking forward to trying this recipe with sweet potatoes. Plus I will try the italian seasoning for a change in the future. Thank you Fluffy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2006

      Wonderful recipe! The house smelled incredible while this was cooking!! I used a yellow pepper in place of the red pepper & some low-fat chicken/turkey/red pepper sausage I had on hand. I also uncovered for the last 1/2 hour to evaporate some of the liquid. We were very pleased with the result - consistency was similar to stew so I served with some whole wheat rolls. I already have visions of making this again without the potatoes & serving on pasta.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2005

      Sorry, Fluffy, but I made this last night and it was more like a soup then a casserole. I even uncovered this for the last 1/2 hour in order to get rid of some of the liquid but I still had to thicken it with a bit of flour and water. I followed the recipe exactly but just didn't like the consistency as I wanted a 1 meal dish....not a soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2005

      Very tasty casserole, I made it with 4 "HOT" Italian sausages, which made it a little too hot/spicy, if I used hot sausagae again I would leave them whole and cut them up after. Cutting them up before cooking caused them to release a lot of heat into the rest of the casserole, even the potatoes were hot! We love hot sausage but these made the whole casserole, especially the juice almost too hot to eat! I'll know better next time and there will be a next time, overall it is a good casserole. I also used stewed tomatoes, the same amount 14 ounce tin for half a recipe. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2005

      Very good! I added 1 Tbsp basil and 1 Tbsp Italian Seasoning. I wish I had added more potatoes (I used red-skinned) to make it more of a 1-dish meal. We are excited to have leftovers tonight! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2005

      We really liked this one. Prepared it just as stated and it was perfectly done in 1 1/2 hours with not an overabundance of liquid. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2003

      This was sooooo Good! This is a definate add to my recipe book. To make this a little more to my tast I added a little more spice. Instead of the simple diced tomatoes I used the same size can of seasoned tomatoes. I couldn't find it already diced so I used the whole ones and cut it up my self. I also added some seasoning salt and cut back on the table salt. To make it more of a meal I used four potatoes. Everything was cooked in 1 hour but it had a lot of liquid. Another 1/2 hour would have reduce the amount of liquid.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Italian Sausage Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (590 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 743.0
     
    Calories from Fat 425
    57%
    Total Fat 47.2 g
    72%
    Saturated Fat 16.5 g
    82%
    Cholesterol 97.0 mg
    32%
    Sodium 2076.3 mg
    86%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.4 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 7.3 g
    29%
    Sugars 11.8 g
    47%
    Protein 37.8 g
    75%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites