Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Italian Sausage and Tortellini Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Italian Sausage and Tortellini Soup

    Average Rating:

    111 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-111 of 111

    Sort by:

    • on November 13, 2005

      This soup was very good. we used hot Italian sausage and it made it very spicy. Easy to make. Thanks NurseDi. Bullwinkle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2005

      I really enjoyed this soup, NurseDi. It made for a tasty dinner, and I look forward to eating the leftovers for lunch this week. I used additional broth, a 28-oz can of crushed tomatoes rather than the fresh ones and the tomato sauce, plus I added mushrooms and fresh herbs, including some parsley. I forgot to sprinkle with parmesan at the end! However, since we ate it with cheese puffs, it worked out. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2005

      Delicious! I followed the recipe to a tee and tried it for the first time with guests--they raved about it. Definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2005

      Wonderful! Rave reviews all around the table for this fantastic soup this evening. I used canned diced tomatoes, but I do think fresh is always better (none on hand). Everything else remained as the recipe called for. I served with a fresh tossed green salad with my Italian Salad Dressing #43522 and a little bruchetta which proved to be just the right touch! Thanks so much for this wonderful recipe which I know I will serve time and time again :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2005

      Well NurseDi, you have done it again. This was amazing. I made this for dinner last night and I am still thinking about it today. It will be our dinner for tonight also. I cannot thank you enought for this fantastic recipe. I did make a couple of chages, but nothing too drastic to change the true taste of this wonderful dish. I used link sweet italian sausage. I first panfried the sausage whole, with a bit of water, lid covered, then removed lid and let water evaporate and browned the sausage. After it was browned, I set aside on a paper towel lined plate. Cooled it a bit and sliced into 1 inch pieces. Browned my veggies with a little olive oil. Added 2 additional cups beef broth, 1 can of diced tomatoes with garlic (instead of the 2 cups fresh) and garlic tomato sauce (can you tell that we like garlic?),the red wine, the sliced sausage and simmered for about an hour. I used used fresh three cheese tortellini, put in at the end of the hour and let simmer for another 5 minutes. And there was my fantastic dinner!! Served with a really good crusty french bread. My husband was inhaling this. And it really didn't take any time to prepare other than the hour for simmering. Thank you again NurseDi. What a hit!! Hugs, Susie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2005

      This recipe is slamming. The only change I make is to use fresh herbs when I have them on hand as opposed to the dried. Served with crusty Italian bread and freshly grated parmesan (Reggiano,) this is a hit every time. Even the pickiest eaters love it. Thanks Nurse Di!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2004

      I actually used pre-made turkey meatballs instead of sausage. It turned out great! Just too much herbs in this for me. I scooped out most of it after simmering for a while. Next time I'll use only 1/2 Tbsp each of the basil and oregano. Otherwise, we loved this soup! DH raved about it--he wanted leftovers, and that is rare!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2004

      Delicious,Yummy full bodied soup! My DH couldn't stop eating it and kept saying what a wonderful soup.I made it just like the recipe said, except I cut down the size of the recipe for the 2 of us. Though I did saute the zucchini, carrot and bell pepper for a few minutes that way It didn't take as long to cook. Also used Turkey Sausage, YUM, worked great. Love the combination of spices. That you for the delicious soup recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2004

      Made this for my book group last night and it was a huge hit. Followed the recipe exactly. At first I was a bit worried that the amounts of basil and oregano were correct but didn't seem to overpower the other flavors at all. My kids were patiently waiting for my group to leave so they could have at it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2003

      Very tasty. My soup was more the consistency of chili-a hearty meal in itself. I added one additional cup of chopped tomatoes (to use them up)and added 2 shakes of hot red pepper flakes which blended nicely with the sausage and other spices. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2002

      I loved this! I added more veggies: diced portabellos, celery, and some sliced pimento stuffed olives, and substituted frozen broccoli flowerettes for the zucchini as I do not like zucchini. I also sustituted a small can of pizza sauce for the tomatoes and added a bay leaf. I made it for snack day at work and it was gone almost before lunch started, and was told the next time it's my turn I am to make this again. Thanks NurseDi for a great recipe, I enjoyed it thoroughly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 4 5 6 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Italian Sausage and Tortellini Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (555 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 487.6
     
    Calories from Fat 224
    46%
    Total Fat 24.9 g
    38%
    Saturated Fat 9.3 g
    46%
    Cholesterol 62.9 mg
    20%
    Sodium 2166.4 mg
    90%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.3 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 4.0 g
    16%
    Sugars 7.9 g
    31%
    Protein 25.5 g
    51%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites