114 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wonderful full bodied soup! I followed recipe exactly except substituted 2 stalks of celery for the zucchini(family preference). Very similar to my version Kate's Spicy Sausage Tortellini Soup except I use chicken broth and spicy clamato juice instead of the beef broth and wine.. I used extra lean Itaian spicy turkey sausage to keep the fat content down. My sons gave it 5 1/2 stars. Will be enjoying this recipe many more times. Thanks NurseDi for another great recipe!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kate in Ontario October 14, 2002

***Editing to Add: First off, let me say I've been making this soup for years, and my family loves it. But the last time I made it, I came to this copy instead of the one in my book, and the 2 TBSP on the basil and oregano can be very overwhelming. I thought it seemed like a lot, but I went ahead and threw it all in in a hurry. I had to scoop most of it off the top of the soup (thankfully, it all floated to the top). In my original copy, it's 1/2 TSP of each. Just wanted to add this for anyone that may be interested.*** Di, I love this soup! Made it last night... I made no substitutions, but I added 2 extra cups of beef broth,as this is a loaded(with good stuff) soup, and we like good broth. And I used canned chopped tomatoes. The flavor of this soup is just incredible, and anyone that tries it falls immediately in love with it! Great served with green salad and crusty bread, for dipping, of course! Very easy to make, and smells so good while simmering, too. Anyone that likes soup should definitely give this one a go! And it deserves way more than 5 stars. too. Thanks for posting!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ciao November 30, 2004

I don't think words can describe how wonderful this soap is. I served it to my hubby and my mom in law and they could not stop raving about it. I did have to make a few substitutes: I did not have onions or red wine on hand, so I ommited them, but they were not missed. Instead of 2 tomatoes I used 1 can of crushed tomatoes, and I also threw in some mushrooms. I garnished it with parsley. YU-UM! Mom in law said it was one of the best things she ever tasted. Thanks, NurseDi!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pansori November 17, 2002

I made this earlier today for dinner tonight-without the tortellini which I will add right before serving. I used a can of organic diced tomatoes over the "fresh" ones at the store. Due to the amount of fluid I only added 4 oz of tomato sauce. I did cut the basil and oregano to 1 teaspoon each. I used a yellow pepper over a green pepper. What a lovely soup. So easy to prepare, a delight to sample-I can only imagine the tortellini will send this soup over the top. Thank you so much for posting-it really fit the bill on this snowy winters day! Serving with salad and bread sticks-so sorry Olive Garden, Di is doing it better at home with ratherbeswimmin's recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dib's February 09, 2010

I made per instructions, except for adding extra garlic (we love the stuff...:) and using canned tomatoes, zucchini & carrots. I also made in the slow cooker (after browning sausage) & let simmer all day, but waited until the last few minutes to add the tortellini. It was wonderful soup, full of flavor.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GaylaJ October 11, 2004

made this last night for my family...we all absolutely LOVED it....and actually, I put it in the slow cooker after cooking the sausage, and sauteeing the garlic and onion. I think it made it even better, cause it all cooked together longer, so the tastes had more time to mix. yummmmmy...thank you, love this recipe!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PamperedChefAngie March 18, 2004

This is good soup. After the tortellini were cooked to the al dente stage, I scooped them out of the soup and stored them separately from the broth. If you don't do that, the tortellini will absorb much of the broth. They'll get huge and you won't have enough broth.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie Nixon March 24, 2013

My home recipe rating system is 5 stars for the best. Hubby said "I rate this 10+ stars!" I guess he liked it. So did I! I'm editing my previous review, as I made this a second time and followed the recipe exactly with the exception of adding a little butter, as my sausage was too lean to leave fat for frying the onions and added some mushrooms. The 1 Tbsp. of dried basil and oregano is excessive. It doesn't taste bad, but neither is it necessary. I think that much is just wasteful, as you get an excellent flavor with only 1 tsp. of each (which I used the first time I made this.) The recipe isn't clear about whether the tortellini is dried, refrigerated, or cooked. I used dried, but didn't weigh it. I just put in as much as I thought would work well for the amount of soup. The quantity of tortellini doesn't really affect the flavor of the soup, just the overall enjoyment. This recipe is certainly a keeper! I'll be making it again and again. However, I'm changing the dried herbs in my notebook to 1 tsp. each.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook In Southwest February 22, 2010

My family inhaled this soup, it has so much flavor and is a real hearty soup. I left out the wine and used chicken broth instead of beef broth and also added fresh baby spinach to the soup. I will be making this soup often this winter for my family. This soup deserves more than 5 Stars.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mainely Debbie November 15, 2006

I've made this twice now. It is truly as good as all the reviewers claim it is. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KingJackQueen January 21, 2015
Italian Sausage and Tortellini Soup