Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Italian Sausage and Tortellini Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Italian Sausage and Tortellini Soup

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on January 03, 2014

      What a wonderful and comforting soup! I used sweet Italian turkey sausage and wheat tortellini. Loved the rich flavorful broth and all those veggies. Hearty and delicious - thanks for sharing the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2013

      The broth in this is amazing. I added a red pepper and cooked it in the crockpot. I was gonna take the suggestion of another review and just put regular small pasta shells in it. I wish I had! My daughter and I didn't enjoy the tortellini in it. Everything else was good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2012

      A.M.A.Z.I.N.G simply A.M.A.Z.I.N.G !!!! This soup turned my "I don't like soup" eaters asking me when was I going to make this soup again. Thank you for sharing this very simple, yet extremely tastey meal !!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2010

      Very tasty soup - especially on a cold and windy evening. I didn't have the zucchini so I skipped it. I used organic 3-cheese mini-ravioli which was just right. Quick and easy to make anytime. Thanks for posting Bayhill :) Made for your FOOTBALL POOL Week #13 win, December 2010!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2010

      Really good!! I make this soup all the time. Modify it a bit (add beans and small shell pasta) and it makes a great minestrone

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2008

      Pretty good. I made this last night and made some minor modifications. I'm training for a marathon so i wanted it to be healthier because i'm in marathon training so i made it with turkey italian sausage, add red pepper flakes to the sausage, and added a couple of bay leaves other than that it. The only minor thing i would change is add a little more water. The pasta soaked up a lot of water and it was just a tad dry otherwise a very satisfying soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2008

      Another fabulous recipe from Paula Deen Magazine (Quick and Easy Meals Special Collector's Issue 2008) To cut the fat a little I substituted smoked turkey kielbasa for the italian sausage. Did everything else as directed and it was wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2008

      Wow,what a great soup!So tasty and very filling.I went exactly by the recipe,no need to add or remove anything,except next time I make it I would not add any salt.There is enough saltiness in the sausages and beef stock.This will be a great soup for the winter,after I come in from shoveling...oh,dreading that!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2008

      This was so delicious and hearty. Just perfect on a cold winter night. We enjoyed this so much, and will be making it often.Thanks so much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2008

      This was hearty and delicious. I had just had dental surgery and wanted somthing substantial but soft enough to chew. This satisifed me and my family. I also exchanged italian sausages for smokies as that's what I had on hand. Next time I'll try the Italian's!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2008

      What a treat this was on a bone- chilling January day! I took one major liberty with your wonderful recipe, Bayhill. Since none of us really like Italian sausage (it's the fennel, I think) and I was out of the regular bulk type, I sliced some smoked sausage links and browned them really well. Turned out great! A couple of notes in case anyone else does that. I added about 1 tsp. olive oil to the pot to brown them. Then since there was virtually no grease left, I added a T. of oil to saute the onion. Deglazing after adding some broth added a lot of flavor, and the red pepper flakes gave it a great kick. I used a 28-oz. can of petite diced tomatoes, and it seemed like the perfect amount to us. I also chopped up 3 or 4 large leaves of basil and would highly recommend using fresh if you can! This recipe is well worth the little bit of extra effort. Thanks for sharing a real keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      This was fantastic! I used spicy Italian sausage and it turned out great. I will be making this often. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2008

      Outstanding soup! We followed the recipe EXACTLY and it turned out awesome. Tonight we will make it for the second time in a week. Thanks Bayhill Cat & Dave

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2007

      Great tasting and filling soup! Instead of fresh tomatoes I used a can of diced and also added an extra cup of broth. The tortellinis I found were four cheese and they were perfect with the sausage. Loved it topped with the parmesan cheese. Congrats on winning the football pool Bayhill!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2007

      This is a delicious and flavorful soup. I made it with hot sausage and added some red pepper flakes and it was just spicy enough for us. I added 2 cans of diced tomatoes instead of the fresh tomatoes and it worked out great. I didn't have any zucchini so I used up some sliced mushrooms I had on hand. Delicious! Congrats on another football win!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2007

      Both DH and I gave this 10-stars!! This is wonderful! I used Jimmy Dean hot sausage, 5-cheese tortellini, added a little extra basil, and added a little bit of red pepper flakes. We loved the combination of herbs and the fresh veggies. Thanks Bayhill for an awesome and easy soup recipe. Congrats on yet another win in football!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2007

      This was a delicious soup! I used turkey Italian sausage to cut down on the fat, and only used about 3/4 lb. of that. Because I used the turkey sausage, I subbed chicken broth for the beef, I left out the green peppers and used a 14-oz. can of fire-roasted tomatoes with garlic instead of the two tomatoes. I left everything else the same and my husband and daughter both had seconds (unusual for the daughter). I'll definitely be making this again, it was easy, it filled my kitchen with wonderful aromas and it was comfort food on a chilly day. Thanks for posting this recipe Bayhill!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2007

      Another gem from Bayhill! The soup is so good that I couldn't stop eating it yesterday! It makes a nice size batch which is good for me to use for lunches. This was the first time I added sausage to tortellini soup and I don't think I'll be able to make it again without the sausage! Congrats for your first week win and this recipe is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2007

      Loved this soup! I couldnt find the basil and cheese so I used regular cheese tortelliini and roma tomatoes. Added a pinch of red pepper flakes and enjoyed! (Made and reviewed for Pick A Chef 2007)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2007

      Bayhill has done it again! This is a great soup. I left out the zucchini - didn't happen to have it on hand. Yum! I will do this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Italian Sausage and Tortellini Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (3407 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 300.3
     
    Calories from Fat 145
    48%
    Total Fat 16.2 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 6.3 g
    31%
    Cholesterol 41.0 mg
    13%
    Sodium 1370.8 mg
    57%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.2 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    11%
    Sugars 5.2 g
    21%
    Protein 16.8 g
    33%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites