16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have made this twice and love it, only change I made was to add 1 can tomato paste instead of thicking. freezes well also. thanks for a great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carole Koehler April 08, 2004

I wanted to find a good recipe for sausage & peppers to make for New Year's Day. I found it in yours! I used both hot and sweet Italian sausage and mixed them. Instead of slicing the green pepper, I cut it in wide strips. The next time, I will use 2 green peppers instead of 1. This is definetly an old standby recipe that I was looking for. Thank you for posting it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pgserver6 January 02, 2004

This is nice dish, I had to reduce the chili significantly because of the kids and it still seemed a bit much. We did enjoy this dish, though it was really runny and I needed to let the extra liquid boil off... I didn't want to add any cornstarch to muck up the nice color. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TattooedMamaof2 January 22, 2011

All I can say is WOW. So good, so easy, a definite keeper. I followed other reviews and doubled the sauce, I was out of tomatoes, so I omitted the catsup and used a can of tomato paste and water instead. My husband even said how good the sauce was, and that rarely happens. Thank you so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jmommy209 December 03, 2009

OMG!! I made this recipe to try for my grandchildrens (twins) baptism, and am soooo glad I did! I tried it out on my family 1st which they all loved and doubled up to see how it went frozen in batches for my oamc cooking. I used one of the the frozen batches on an unexpected trip,,,and it went perfect! I fed 11 people and they said i mastered this recipe,,,not to look anywhere else. Only change I made was using 2 green peppers and omitted the lemon pepper( did'nt have) and the cornstarch and 2 tsp water.I pureed the tomatoes in food processor.I cut suasages in half,,,than half again. I also doubled the sauce recipe because it was so good, and I was freezing it so I was afraid of losing some of the taste. Thank you so much for posting!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Guerra December 02, 2009

Great recipe! I know some of our group dislikes it when we change recipes--but I didn't change it too much. :) Had a 19 oz pkg of italian sausage, 5 links. Used 2 red and 1 yellow pepper, made it sweeter. Instead of the catchup, water and thickener. I used 7 oz of tomato paste & 7 oz of water. Fantastic!! I served part of it over toasted hoagie rolls with melted mozzarella. The rest I mixed with pasta. We preferred the sandwiches, yummy! Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms. Mother Earth August 05, 2009

Fantastic! I used 1 can of Fire Roasted Diced Tomatoes instead of the stewed tomatoes and it was great. It really made this sauce rich. Thank you for posting a great recipe. This is defiantly a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sexymommalucas March 03, 2009

I made this for my daughter's baptism party. I grilled the sausage and did everything else on the stove. I did placed everything in aluminum tray and covered with tin foil. All this was done the day before and put in the frige. I put in the oven before we went to mass to reheat. It was awsome!! Everyone said that it was the best tasting sausage and peppers they ever had. Thanks for a great recipe. This is now my go to recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tooltime February 07, 2009

OMG this was so good! Made exactly as posted and it was superb. Thank you for such a wonderful recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ty'sCook December 17, 2007

I've been looking for a Sausage and Peppers recipe I found the perfect one. The family loves it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
margieeastwood March 29, 2007
Italian Sausage and Peppers