Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Italian Sausage Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Italian Sausage

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on December 18, 2010

      Simple and fantastic. I am a Chicago transplant living in Asia for many years. Italian sausage is impossible to get here. I was already impressed by the aroma while browning. The taste was even better. Thanks a million for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2010

      I tried this recipe after realizing that Italian Sausage should not cost $6 a lb! I searched for a recipe with good reviews adn found this one! What a great recipe, so very easy to make, and I can attest that it is the best Italian Sausage I have ever eaten. I brown this up, drain it, and then freeze it in a plastic bag and then crumble it on my homemade pizza's! Fantastic, it really deserves 10 stars, and it is so simple to make. I do mix it like a meatloaf, wrap in plastic wrap and let sit in the fridge overnight to marry all the flavors together really well, and then brown and drain! Wonderful, Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2008

      The store ran out of Italian sausage for our pizza topping. I was thrilled when I came across this recipe. It's very easy and tastes just as good as the store bought Italian sausage. It's cheaper too. I'll never go back to store bought now that I have this recipe. Thanks Bec.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2008

      I substituted ground turkey for the pork and it was excellent. I used it to make sausage calzones and it fit the bill perfectly. Keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2007

      I loved this recipe and shared it with my yuppy daughter-who changed it to use ground turkey. She said it was fabulous and she and her husband loved it. I would think ground turkey would be too lean, but she said it was great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2007

      Excellent! And SO easy. I too added more fennel and found the paprika a little heavy--but the spice mix is great. Will be playing with it to get it just right for us. And now the pork is so lean, no more guilt with pork sausage. Thanks, Bec!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2005

      I have made this recipe twice now. It is a great recipe. I doubled the recipe, but only added 2 tsp. of salt as I try to keep to a low sodium diet. It still had plenty of salt. I used the stir-fried sausage to make red sauce. I separated and froze it. I will keep making this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2013

      Love this and use it often. I recently used it for Sausage Stuffed Banana Peppers and it turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2010

      Oh, this is so good! We like to add bulk italian sausage to our pasta sauce. I used very lean ground beef and after tasting, doubled the amount of fennel the second time I made it. The rest of the spices are dead on. I'll be using this to make italian sausage beef burgers on the grill soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2010

      This was really good; just the right mixture of seasonings for a perfect Italian sausage. I used this to make topping for pizza.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2008

      When I couldn't find any Italian sausage in town I used this recipe to make my own. Used it to make Italian Sausage Vegetable Soup and it was wonderful! So happy to have found this "keeper"!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2008

      I made this tonight to use in Penne With Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce and it worked out great! Thanks:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2007

    • on April 03, 2007

      Excellent!! I was afraid of the paprika but followed it anyway and was pleasantly surprised. What a great recipe! I have been looking for a good italian sausage recipe and I am keeping this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2007

      Awesome!! This is an excellent recipe that is SO GOOD. I did use a little extra fennel seed and about half the paprika. My children kept reaching into the pan to taste it after it was cooked, so I had to guard it with my life. I'll increase the paprika each time I make this until I get it up to the 3 1/2 teaspoons. I made this to use in Zucchini Sausage Bake which is in the oven right now. I will not look for another It. Sausage recipe as this one is perfect for our taste. Thank you so much for posting this recipe! I will be making this for years to come!! Say I think I'll vacuum seal 2 extra packets of just the spices so I have it on hand. I know I have some recipes that call for It. sausage on the menu for this week.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2006

      I like this better than many commercially available sausages. I didn't add the red pepper but did add a bit more fennel. The flavor was perfect. Added it to some tomato sauce (Fresh Tomato Spaghetti Sauce). Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2006

      Excellent recipe. I had a 4lb pork butt that I put in the food processor and added all the seasoning except the fennel (not a fan). I also added a couple of dashes of worchestershire(?)sauce. I fried it in crumbles and served it with mashed potatoes and peas. Thank you for the lovely recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2006

      Great Italian sausage recipe! There´s all the right spices and about in the right ratio. I like my sausages quite savory and this is just fine. The spices I would play around with, more fennel or red pepper sometimes and sometimes plenty very coarsely ground black pepper. And sometimes maybe a sprinkle of oregano thrown in.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Pork Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Italian Sausage

    Serving Size: 1 (119 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 305.8
     
    Calories from Fat 218
    71%
    Total Fat 24.3 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 8.9 g
    44%
    Cholesterol 81.6 mg
    27%
    Sodium 936.5 mg
    39%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.4 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 19.5 g
    39%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites