18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Simple and fantastic. I am a Chicago transplant living in Asia for many years. Italian sausage is impossible to get here. I was already impressed by the aroma while browning. The taste was even better. Thanks a million for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ed December 18, 2010

I tried this recipe after realizing that Italian Sausage should not cost $6 a lb! I searched for a recipe with good reviews adn found this one! What a great recipe, so very easy to make, and I can attest that it is the best Italian Sausage I have ever eaten. I brown this up, drain it, and then freeze it in a plastic bag and then crumble it on my homemade pizza's! Fantastic, it really deserves 10 stars, and it is so simple to make. I do mix it like a meatloaf, wrap in plastic wrap and let sit in the fridge overnight to marry all the flavors together really well, and then brown and drain! Wonderful, Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DJBiker December 06, 2010

The store ran out of Italian sausage for our pizza topping. I was thrilled when I came across this recipe. It's very easy and tastes just as good as the store bought Italian sausage. It's cheaper too. I'll never go back to store bought now that I have this recipe. Thanks Bec.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hunkle October 20, 2008

I substituted ground turkey for the pork and it was excellent. I used it to make sausage calzones and it fit the bill perfectly. Keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary Lockwood January 23, 2008

I loved this recipe and shared it with my yuppy daughter-who changed it to use ground turkey. She said it was fabulous and she and her husband loved it. I would think ground turkey would be too lean, but she said it was great.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marydaddy September 22, 2007

Excellent! And SO easy. I too added more fennel and found the paprika a little heavy--but the spice mix is great. Will be playing with it to get it just right for us. And now the pork is so lean, no more guilt with pork sausage. Thanks, Bec!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kate January 25, 2007

I have made this recipe twice now. It is a great recipe. I doubled the recipe, but only added 2 tsp. of salt as I try to keep to a low sodium diet. It still had plenty of salt. I used the stir-fried sausage to make red sauce. I separated and froze it. I will keep making this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brenda in Winnipeg October 27, 2005

Oh, this is so good! We like to add bulk italian sausage to our pasta sauce. I used very lean ground beef and after tasting, doubled the amount of fennel the second time I made it. The rest of the spices are dead on. I'll be using this to make italian sausage beef burgers on the grill soon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deb Wolf August 03, 2010

This was really good; just the right mixture of seasonings for a perfect Italian sausage. I used this to make topping for pizza.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginny Sue June 06, 2010
Italian Sausage