22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very versitile. I add mustard to everything and it works here too. I now seem to have a jar of "dressing" in my fridge at all times.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tebo September 23, 2001

Added to the dry mix, 1T. Splenda, 1T Oregeno, 1T dry mustard, 1t salt. After making an oil and vinigar added 1T of Tart cherry preserves, no sugar added. Actually my friend made this dressing for a Spring Greens salad with dried cherries, nuts and a variety of other things thrown in. It was delicious!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amazing Grace November 02, 2008

A good dressing and went well over spinach, but is not Italian dressing. It tasted more along the lines of French dressing, mainly I think because of the paprika. I liked the celery seed on the salad, but didn't think it really matched Italian dressing either. We couldn't taste the sesame seeds. I used less oil for our tastes. There is no time listed on the recipe (it took me about 8 minutes start to finish).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito January 08, 2013

Who needs the commercial stuff when you've got this? I tossed in some dried basil and oregano just for the heckuvit. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chocolatl October 03, 2011

I made this for a salad dressing with the vinegar and oil. I made it as written, but chose to leave out the sesame seeds as I don't normally use them in my salad dressing. I used the 1/4 cup cider vinegar and a little less then 2/3 cup oil and just skipped the water. This is very good, but our taste it needed a good deal of salt and pepper, which will be easy enough to add into the remaining mixture. Thanks for sharing your recipe. Made for I recommend Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 April 22, 2010

Super easy and looking forward to using this in all the ways mentioned. Thanks for posting! Made for I Recommend Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Color Guard Mom March 02, 2010

I used this mixed into o & v for dressing on tonite's salad. No more bottled Italian dressing for me..not when I know the "secret". I can see this versatile mixture being put to many uses in my kitchen! Made for I Recommend Tag-Feb'10.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet PQ? February 23, 2010

I found myself with a recipe calling for a packet of italian salad dressing mix, and didn't have one on hand, and your recipe saved the day. I did find this mix less salty, and thats great. I also threw in a little oregano. Thanks for sharing your recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom February 07, 2010

Hi Sean, I made this to put in Cucumber Sandwiches as I couldn't find it in my shop here in Scotland. It was a very nice addition to the sandwich mix. I see that the other reviews have lots of other uses for it I just used 2/3 of an once so I have a lot leftover for something else. Thank's for a very versatile recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tea Jenny January 29, 2010

Great mix to keep on hand for dips! I also used it in breading for chicken fingers, smash hit!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Ellis January 16, 2010
Italian Salad Dressing Mix