195 Reviews

SO simple...so wonderful! Absolutely the best homemade Italian dressing and definitely better than store bought. I would give this many more stars if I could. It makes your salad take center stage with the perfect amount of spice and vinegar.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Szatkowski Family Chef September 17, 2010

This was super! Made it for a salad I took for potluck (prewashed greens, apple chunks, avocado, tomato, toasted walnuts), let people dress it themselves, there was hardly any left. 1 teaspoon garlic = 1 small clove garlic. My modifications to the salad dressing: Used olive oil, balsamic vinegar, only 1/2 tea of salt, no pepper, parmesan cheese from the green container (Kraft). It was very tasty! Thanks for my new go-to salad dressing recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hannahptl April 11, 2010

Excellent and so easy! Based on reading the reviews, I made some slight changes. Took this to a dinner party to go with the salad I made and got rave reviews from everyone. I used 1/4 cup canola oil and 1/2 cup olive oil, 2 tsp. Splenda, 1/2 tsp. salt, 2 tsp. Italian cheese blend, 1/2 tsp. Italian seasoning. Other ingredients were the same. I found this to be right on for us, light and refreshing but nice flavor. Dressing allows the flavor of the salad to shine through. Will be making this a lot and it would be so easy to put differnt twists on this recipe. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amazing Grace March 22, 2010

Great salad dressing. This definately beats that packaged stuff. I used extra virgin olive oil and I cut the salt down to 1 tsp., and the sugar down to 1 1/2 tsp. We loved this and will be making it again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LZAK January 02, 2008

Will make again. Decreased salt to 1 teaspoon and substituted white wine vinegar for the cider vinegar but otherwise followed as written. Lovely complement to a simple summer salad. Muchas gracias !

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maryjane in spain August 13, 2006

Very good, I also will reduce the salt next time and I also added a little oregano, parsley and dry mustard. The measurements were spot on and the taste delicious. Threw everything in the blender and blended it up,let sit in my fridge for a couple hours then dressed the salad, excellent. Thank you for the great dressing recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Take a Letter Maria August 05, 2006

Add me to the list of satisfied customers. Made it just as directed but will reduce the salt next time. Used this for Super Easy Summer Spinach Pasta Salad #169135. Delicious.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpea July 03, 2006

Great dressing! It tasted so much better than bottled - we will never buy bottled again! Thank you!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blisstir February 10, 2004

Excellent. Nice to finally have someting similar to 'Good Seasons' Italian except without the extra cost and additives. Thanks for sharing

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LizAnn December 30, 2003

I love this!!!! I've been experimenting for so long on the exact measurements for a good Italian flavored salad dressing and THIS IS FINALLY IT!!!!!! I wouldn't change a thing. Thank You Bev

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boca Pat October 20, 2003
Italian Salad Dressing